Home / Product Round-ups / Laptops / Best Laptop 2016: 13 of the best laptops right now

Best Laptop 2016: 13 of the best laptops right now

by

Asus ZenBook UX310UA

4 / 13

Reviewed by Tom Honeyands

04 November 2016

Asus ZenBook UX310UA – Mid-range Ultrabook

Read full Asus ZenBook UX310UA – Mid-range Ultrabook review

Today's best deals

  • amazon
  • ebay

Key Features:

  • Intel Core i3, i5 or i7
  • SSD and hard disk combination
  • 1.45kg

Asus has a habit of undercutting the competition with its Ultrabooks, and the UX310UA is no different.

While it's not as thin or light as its competition and perhaps doesn't manage the top-notch build quality seen in the over-£1,000 crowd, the raw specifications are what make this machine so attractive.

You can get a very cheap, £500 model with a dual-core Core i3 chip, but we'd recommend stepping up to a Core i5 or i7 model if you fancy doing video and photo editing. The 128GB SSD and 500GB hard disk combination is pretty old-school, but it means you get decent performance and high capacity for a bit less cash than a single high-capacity SSD.

It doesn't have the Thunderbolt 3 ports of the MacBook Pro and Dell XPS 13 and its screen, while high resolution, isn't stunning, but as an overall package it's hard to beat it for value.

Our Score:

8

Best Deals for Asus ZenBook UX310UA

  • amazon
  • ebay

danielfrisbee

January 27, 2015, 12:33 am

what is the model in the image on the first page of this article?

sonisoe

January 27, 2015, 1:49 pm

what about samsung ativ (pro?) 12-inch ? a killer ultrabook am waiting for...

Javed

January 27, 2015, 11:22 pm

I think it's the LG Tab-Book Z160

Paul

February 9, 2015, 5:07 pm

no macbook air lol

Falcomomo

February 9, 2015, 5:19 pm

"Best Laptop for Video Editing" -- was this category just an excuse to get an Apple laptop in the winners?

fast_call

February 10, 2015, 9:58 am

They did say they did not recommend the Macbook Air because it's due to be replaced soon. And I agree it's probably worth waiting for the new one.

fast_call

February 10, 2015, 10:07 am

I think the newly updated Dell Precision M3800 is also worth a spot here, either in the best 15-inch laptop or the best laptop for video editing category (or both). It can be configured with a 4K screen, an mSATA SSD + 2.5" magnetic drive (so you have a fast ssd + lots of space), comes with Nvidia Quadro graphics and some benchmarks show it to be even faster than the Macbook Pro in video editing tasks. The downside of course is that it's quite expensive. Still well worth a look if you're in the market for such a machine.

fast_call

February 10, 2015, 10:09 am

The retina Macbook Pro is widely used by video editing professionals (perhaps more than any other laptop). And video editing is a clear laptop category (though maybe a bit niche, not mainstream). So no, I don't think it's "just an excuse"

andyvan

February 10, 2015, 2:26 pm

Fair point as we liked the previous version. Will make a note to add it on the next update. :)

Our current review for reference: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

foxesse

February 13, 2015, 9:32 am

Thank you, fast_call, I shall investigate the Precision (but I bet it's a far from ideal LAP-top, it's probably a tank ;-) ). The omission of "Best Windows Laptop" from the Video Editing category makes me distrust TR - unless they can show me how to integrate a Mac into a Windows network so's to edit recordings made on Windows hard drives?

fast_call

February 13, 2015, 10:01 am

You're welcome :)

It's not the tank you might think it to be. Here's a recent overview:

http://www.pcworld.com/article...

and here's the official dell announcement:

http://www.dell.com/learn/us/e...

from the press release: "the world’s thinnest and lightest true 15-inch mobile workstation"... not sure about thinnest and lightest, but it's definitely not a tank. :)

Personally, I'm waiting for one with the yet-unreleased quad-core Intel Broadwell 5th gen Core i7, and I'll buy one

Joakim Larsen

March 13, 2015, 8:57 pm

I loved my MBP 15" 2013 Retina laptop for 10 months. I loved the performance, the software, the looks.

THEN... to my horror the screen started loosing its anti glare coating. And it continued. Today it has a big blank patch, around 20% of the screen size without coating right in the middle of the screen. It looks terrible and it is not covered by Apples one year warranty.

Many other users are having the same problem. Apple refuses to acknowledge the problem and calls it "cosmetic", explains that it is caused by finger grease and oils being transferred from the keyboard to the screen due to wrong handling and caused by wrong cleaning (even for people using Apples own microfiber cloth) and finally caused by carrying it in a bag - Apples top notch portable $3000 laptop.

Today members of the Apple Support Forums discussion thread and the Facebook group are gathering to prepare a lawsuit against Apple. Should you have the same problem, do not hesitate to join the discussions. You can contribute to the discussion thread on: https://discussions.apple.com/... and join the Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/group...

Kullman_

April 1, 2015, 5:46 pm

You are wrong, the M3800 is 2 Kg.

Kullman_

April 1, 2015, 5:47 pm

There are a lot of better options for video editing than the MBP...

sonisoe

May 12, 2015, 11:52 am

any thought of the new hp spectra x360...is that out already ? stunning design, prime quality build, 360-degree foldable and touch screen, and great battery life too...forget apple laptops be it pro, macbook or air... this year is a battle between dell xps13 and spectra x360

AMCD

September 22, 2015, 10:25 pm

I would stay away from hp. Bought an expensive top of the range hp laptop some years back. The screen kept going black in middle of using it. Spoke with customer service re this during the warranty period and, unlike my experience with previous computer company Dell, hp did not help me with the issue. I was just told to try this and that. When I contacted them with same and unresolved problem after the warranty period, I was told they would no longer help me unless I paid for service. I subsequently found out that hp were having issues with graphics chip - hp never once mentioned possible issue. I will never buy hp again!

TCS

September 25, 2015, 9:07 pm

I'd stay away from any of the Dell XPS's - way overpriced, and lack polish. I purchased the 2014 version. Camera is the worst - high def, but too bright and very washed out. Not way to fix it other to run special software in background. A real pain. Also disk drive is really slow, and though it has a 32GB SSD cache, it's only configured to use 16GB. The hardrive and SSD combination is super slow, seriously slow. (do a search to the issues surrounding this)

And Dell support - IS THE WORST!. I was on the phone for 45 minutes - just to get a windows disk (that, for this price, should be included). Another time, I was one over 45 minutes - and then simply hung up. Both times, the support rep. said "they were dealing with issues with their system". (and when I say 45 minutes, I'm talking a true - and timed - 45+ minutes)

Dom Reidman

October 12, 2015, 7:11 am

If I am reading the comments correctly...stay away from Apple, stay away from Dell and stay away from HP. Basically give up on using computers.

Dom Reidman

October 12, 2015, 7:15 am

that is a frightening story although it appears Apple is now replacing some of these screens under warranty. I was just starting to do my research on buying new MBP '15" but this is definitely giving me pause.

Update: Joakim it appears you need to email tcook@apple.com and send pictures of your screen. Most are getting their screens replaced now.

Kseniak

December 28, 2015, 12:37 pm

I love my thin and lightweight ultrabook Dell xps 13. It has a great classical design that will love every person, good battery (15 hours of autonomous operation) and 13.3-inch WLED-backlit display. Now my sister wants to buy it. Recently, I saw also good reviews about this model at the amazon and http://www.topreviews.best/mai... I agree with their opinion that it's one of the best.

Dead Words

January 14, 2016, 12:44 pm

There's a mistake on page 6. The Surface Pro 4 runs a Core M3 not a Core i3.

WHO AM I

February 5, 2016, 6:17 pm

Why did you say for the MacBook Pro with Retina display 15-inch:

"Powerful 15-inch laptop that's great for video editing".
It only has a R9 M370X, which is similar to 950m. 950m is not video editing.
950m is just for mainstream and basic gaming on low resolutions.

Pradip J. Patil

February 17, 2016, 3:56 am

I found the laptop with the latest specification here, thank you

Pradip J. Patil

February 17, 2016, 3:57 am

I agree with you, I found the laptop with the latest specification here, thank you

Travis Matthews

February 28, 2016, 9:23 pm

Now grab an amazing discount on laptops only on BestTopRatedLaptops .com

comments powered by Disqus