Home / Product Round-ups / Games Accessories / Best Gaming Headset for PS4, PC, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360

Best Gaming Headset for PS4, PC, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360

Sam Loveridge


SteelSeries H Wireless

1 / 12

Reviewed by Edward Chester

01 May 2014

SteelSeries H Wireless

Read full SteelSeries H Wireless review

Best Wireless Gaming Headset

Key features:
  • Wireless and come with spare battery and charger
  • 20-20,000Hz frequency response
  • USB hub with display, volume and menu controls
Compatible with: PC, Mac, Android, iOS, PlayStation and Xbox
Although the SteelSeries H Wireless are pretty pricey, they come scarily close to being the ultimate gaming headset. They are crammed full of features and even come with a superb USB desktop controller that has a built-in battery charger as a spare for the main that comes bundled with it.
They might not be the comfiest gaming headset we’ve tried or even offer the best sound quality for watching movies or listening to music thanks to rather over-zealous bass. However, they are perfectly balanced for gaming. There’s clarity in gunfire, footsteps and other subtler gaming effects even when you don’t engage the Dolby Headphone virtual surround sound mode.
Plus, you can mix the levels of chat and game sound, making sure you always hear what you need to. Of course, you can also create your own EQ settings too.
Effortless to use, excellent game audio quality and a host of great features make the SteelSeries H Wireless a top notch choice.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £219.99 | Amazon.com from $308

At time of review the SteelSeries H Wireless was available for £250.

Our Score:



May 2, 2014, 3:03 pm

Great article, I've been using a bluetooth standard for cell-phones and it is awful. I can always barely hear anything.

James Day

May 3, 2014, 6:24 pm

No Astros?

Astro A40's are easily better than 3 of the headsets on this list?


May 15, 2014, 8:52 am

We'll look into getting them in for review.

Dmitry Stogov

August 20, 2014, 11:03 am

Is the Sennheiser PC 363D really compatible with ps4? https://answers.yahoo.com/ques... - here's the guys say: "there is no adapter you can use , that headset it in no way compatible with the ps4 console". So who's right? I'm thinking to buy it, but will it work?

Gavin Martin

October 15, 2014, 11:36 am

I'm actually using a pair of V-Moda M100's with a BoomPro mic with my PS4 (wired, but connected to the DS4 controller) - works a treat.

Not exactly a bargain though.


October 15, 2014, 2:15 pm

Been looking for a headset for my XB1 and 360 for sometime. Has anyone any suggestion for one without purchase of the separate XB1 adapter? The only one that I can find is the Titanfall headset but at £119 in Game (instore) or £79 at amazon but didn't want to spend so much


October 18, 2014, 11:46 pm

Steelseries h wireless isn't nearly the Best headset.
I had had it for 3,5 months and I was very hyped about them until my headset made this weird high pitch sound and a spazzy Steelseries logo on the receiver lcd screen while playing cs:go (I had plaid only about an hour in that gaming session).
After that I just kept playing normally for about 2 weeks until the same happened again but this time they just shut down, so I swithed the power input from the normal to usb but still no effect.
They worked fine with wires but not at all with the receiver.
I submitted a ticket to steelseries's help page but they just closed the case.


November 4, 2014, 2:33 pm

Does anybody know if or how I can use my triton warhead set with my xb1? Ive managed to get sound but no chat?

Brandon Williams

November 9, 2014, 9:36 pm

You can't it is on the list of incompatible headsets for use with the adapter.

Brandon Williams

November 9, 2014, 9:37 pm

I have the X07 by turtle beach, this model comes with the adapter and have nice sound and quality construction. I have had them for about 7 months with no problems thus far.

Erik Bailey

November 21, 2014, 12:00 am

I just scored a ps3 wireless headset(blue box. Not Pulse. But 7.1 surround) on clearance for $25 from wal - mart so a friend can enjoy a headset when playing on my other ps4. Can be on sep. Teams and not spy was the idea. I have the Ps4 gold headset for myself...along with the p 22 mlg headset I bought for my gf(not a great headset) and the difference between the ps3 and ps4 is negligible... if not psychosomatic. I urge you to go out and find a PS3 wireless headset for yer ps4.

Erik Bailey

November 21, 2014, 12:01 am

Side note, you can buy a digital to analog Co verger to use any analog Headset on ps4.


November 22, 2014, 12:41 am

Does anybody know a good wireless gaming headset I can buy that is compatible with both the PS4 and the XB1?

Matheus Bica

November 23, 2014, 2:30 am

What about the mmx300?


November 25, 2014, 2:55 pm

The Sony Gold's work wireless with the PS4 and you can use wired on the X1. But, on the X1 you need the chat adapter and plug the headset into the controller. I've seen the Sony Gold's go for $79.99. They work wireless on PS3 and PC too.


November 25, 2014, 8:18 pm

Thanks, I'll look into them.

Ryan Kaufman

November 30, 2014, 11:46 am

That isn't the reason they blocked off people. Not incorporating the plug so you can't use headsets at all is not planning for people to use personal headsets. Making it so there's a paywall to use personal headsets is just that - a paywall to make more money on people wanting to do something and not having any option but to do it.


January 14, 2015, 3:39 pm

Astros are pretty much the best headset you can get...I'm surprised it wasn't included on the list.

I need time

January 15, 2015, 6:36 pm

Isn't the turtle px22 compatible with both xb1 and ps4?


January 29, 2015, 3:14 pm

Kingston HyperX Cloud gaming headphones for PC!


February 13, 2015, 2:52 pm

I bought some of these 6 months or so ago. It may be the single best value purchase I have ever made. They are simply amazing for the price paid.


February 13, 2015, 2:53 pm

What I'm looking for is a single muff style headset w/ mic for the PS4...any suggestions? I'd like to stay under $200.


February 13, 2015, 5:51 pm

Totally agree. Glad you enjoy them as much as I do.


February 27, 2015, 6:10 pm

My astro A50s are awesome except for the shit mic.


March 4, 2015, 2:30 pm

I have been using AS50 (Astro) for a couple of years now. By FAR, the best gaming headsets. Light weight. Chargeable and COMPLETLY wireless. Adjust Audio and game play sound on the fly with a touch control. Volume easily adjustable while gaming as well. Surround sound is AWESOME!!

comments powered by Disqus