Home / Product Round-ups / GPS & Sat Nav / Best Dash Cams 2017: 6 of the best dashboard cameras

Best Dash Cams 2017: 6 of the best dashboard cameras

by

Garmin Dash Cam 35

1 / 7

Reviewed by James Morris

11 December 2015

Garmin Dash Cam 35

Read full Garmin Dash Cam 35 review

Key Features:

  • Full HD camera
  • 3-inch widescreen
  • Built-in GPS
Garmin's flagship dash cam really is one of the best you can buy. Although the video quality isn't as high as other offerings from RAC, you can still record in 1080p Full HD at 30fps.

Footage is recorded direct to a MicroSD card, with a 4GB card supplied as standard, allowing you to record just over an hour of footage. If you want to increase the storage capabilities, the Dash Cam 35 supports up to a 64GB MicroSD card, which you might seriously consider buying as once the card is full, Garmin's device will automatically begin recording over the oldest video files.

Helpfully, if the built-in G sensor detects an incident, the files associated with that incident will end up in another folder where they won't be deleted. Plus, you can also manually mark specific files to be saved.

In terms of extra features, the Dash Cam 35 comes with collision detection and speed camera warnings, but you'll need to pay a subscription if you want regular updates to the speed camera detection, and remember this feature is illegal to use in some countries, such as France.

With decent picture quality, a built-in GPS receiver to record your coordinates, and a 3-inch screen, the Garmin Dash Cam isn't a feature packed as some of its rivals but it does just work, making it one of the more reliable and easiest to use offerings on the market.



At time of review the Garmin Dash Cam 35 was available for £149.99

Our Score:

8

pablouk

April 27, 2016, 12:57 pm

I just want one with a decent batter life, so I don't need to mess about with wires.

Ralph

July 4, 2016, 4:22 pm

I want one without a screen - why do I need a screen, when I'm going to take the SD card out and put it into my PC to watch the video in the comfort of my study on a decent screen. Having a screen on these things is a complete waste of time and money.
Does anyone know a decent dashcam without the waste of a screen?

0helmet0

July 11, 2016, 9:44 am

so you could view the event, when it happens, while you're at the police station, away from your computer?

Jay

August 8, 2016, 12:22 pm

You're going to align the camera to point the correct direction how exactly?

Will Hollands

August 16, 2016, 5:52 pm

I agree, the screen is pointless! Why not just have a app for the phone so you can view it if you need to? Most of the time its just clutter on the dashboard.

Sean Koppie

September 1, 2016, 12:05 am

view the camera through the smart phone app. If it's a decent cam it has one.

Ralph

September 2, 2016, 3:28 pm

I can link it to my phone to do that - as you do with a Go-Pro.........

Ralph

September 2, 2016, 3:29 pm

I can do that on my phone........or laptop or other device with a screen size more appropriate for viewing this sort of video

Gray Fox

September 11, 2016, 4:39 am

I agree LCDs only get used pretty much once which is during set up, other than that they are bad.
They made the dashcam larger than it really needs to be, and a small dashcam is a good dashcam.

Blackvue might have video quality issues but the Blackvue DR650 is a good example of how to do it
Connect it to a phone and use live view.

Brad ブラッド

November 1, 2016, 10:19 pm

Obviously the folks reviewing these dash cams are not lawyers. You absolutely DO NOT WANT GPS recorded with your video files. At a minimum the GPS must be able to be switched off. GPS will get you into all sorts of trouble if upon discovery at any time you were exceeding the speed limit or committing some other infraction like failing to come to a complete STOP at a STOP sign (yes that GPS data can tell).

David Boaz

December 10, 2016, 10:56 am

So don't break the law. Simples.

Arnold Rimmer

February 18, 2017, 3:52 pm

Transcend DP50, their basic no-screen camera with both an ios and android app. I've fitted loads [hard-wired in] of their DP100s and DP200s in the past and not had a single one fail. They even come with a 16GB Transcend micro SD card as standard. I have no connection with Transcend. I am a user of their dashcams [a DP100 in my vehicle] and having fitted some for others in the past

comments powered by Disqus