Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / Best Cheap Mobile Phones and Budget Smartphones 2016

Best Cheap Mobile Phones and Budget Smartphones 2016

by

sony xperia m4 aqua 45

6 / 10

Reviewed by Sean Keach

28 August 2015

Sony Xperia M4 Aqua

Read full Sony Xperia M4 Aqua review

Today's best deals

  • ebay

Key Features:

  • 5-inch, 1,280 x 720 display
  • 13-megapixel camera, built-in 4G and NFC
  • Waterproof

The Sony Xperia M4 Aqua is one of the more attractive affordable phones around. It has a classy, glass exterior and a nice slim appearance. It also has all the key features a modern smartphone needs, including 4G and NFC.

It's also waterproof, which is a rarity among cheaper phones. Only Motorola's latest Moto G offers that feature. In every other respect, it delivers exactly what you want. A decent screen, camera and battery life at a price that's easy to stomach.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £173 | Amazon.com from $196

At time of review the Sony Xperia M4 Aqua was available for £229.


Our Score:

8

Best Deals for Sony Xperia M4 Aqua

  • ebay

xtvst

May 16, 2015, 5:27 pm

Moto G has an incredibly fragile display. Mine fell off of my pockey while I was sitting for dinner. The lcd display inside cracked. I had never dropped the phone before. Although there are tons of users facing the same problem, Motorola wont take responsibility by their faulty project and warranty won't cover it.
Wont fix it because 1. it will still be fragile and will obviously crack again at any smaller impact, 2. Theres a big chance I will get a chinese quality lcd display/touchscreen replacement while paying half of the phone's price for the fix up.
Is it a good device? Absolutely. But only buy it if you're Neil Armstrong (RIP) planning to use it in mission. Otherwise the budget you invested for the lots-of-benefits provided by MotoG turns to nothing.

leadpb

May 18, 2015, 3:20 pm

Got my Moto G last September. Thought it was excellent until charging problems occurred. had to go through a process of holding power and volume buttons to resume charging. This kept on happening over a couplle of weeks. Customer services were good but told to run phone down to zero power which I did. Phone died completely. Online comments reveal that others have suffered similar problems so maybe mine is not an isolated problem and a fault with the phone which others had complained about. Maybe updated models wouldn't have this flaw but shame as its ruined what I thought was an excellent and good value phone.

ElectricSheep

May 27, 2015, 2:43 pm

I think that at £200, the Nokia 830 should be considered. I've been using one after my Nexus packed up. Whilst I still dislike the WP8.1 tiles look (vastly improved with active tiles and folders), the OS is excellent these days and the hardware and build quality are second to none. The camera is superb. I thought i'd hate it and go back to Android in days, but I actually like it!

Phil_C

May 29, 2015, 11:44 am

Seriously, you guys need to check out the Prestigio 8500 duo. We have 3 of them in my household. They are £100 each, battery lasts 2 days plus and down slow down or break down in our experience. I had never heard of them before a Windows Server offer from ebuyer, but now they are a firm favourite.

ichuck7

June 1, 2015, 5:17 am

Where would the Sharp Aquous Crystal fit on this list? It's one of the only budget smartphones that looks really cool.

Amy

June 21, 2015, 5:40 pm

My daughter got that phone she said it was crap and took it back

ichuck7

June 21, 2015, 6:21 pm

Why did she say it was crap? I'm genuinely curious. Were her expectations too high? Did she compare it to a $700 iPhone?

Robert Daniels

June 24, 2015, 3:20 pm

My general advice for budget devices is to buy last year's flagship on the secondhand market. You can pick up something like the DROID Turbo or HTC M8 for ~$200. Much better values, in my opinion.

EDIT: and maybe even a two year old flagship for the ultra budget conscious, but only if the battery is replaceable.

Jared Jeanquart

September 9, 2015, 5:06 pm

It runs well and holds a huge sd card, and has more ram than usual for stuff in its class. Earpiece Phone calls sound slightly tinny, and you have to mash the phone to your ear; a problem for old people. I know someone who has one, and I've sold a few. One was returned.

Battery's unexceptional.

It's a very serviceable phone for the budget-conscious. The huge SD card potential is a big deal; you could fit a huge music/video library on it.

It's intended for the Asian market. The components are very reliable; needs a screen protector, but will last for a LONG time.

iFrank

March 19, 2016, 1:04 pm

May be referenced in the full review but the Honor 5X has a rare attribute, that is a Micro SD slot as well as dual sim provision.
I didn't find the overlaying skin a problem but an asset, just like Touchwiz is on some older Samsung's despite reviewers, who mostly do not live with these phones constantly declaring their love for naked android.

I returned mine because of not having NFC and the bother of two sizes of sim card being needed. One micro, one nano.

I hate nano even more than C type plug leads.
Apart from being smaller (a probable DIS advantage) there are no discernable advantages for the existence of nano sim cards. Unless you think the blessings by Apple is a Pro.
Cat- pidgeons.

Islam

April 18, 2016, 4:25 pm

Best budget phone is Huwaei Honor 5X from amazon £160.

fcabanski

May 8, 2016, 10:32 pm

These are expensive. Oh well, what can be expected from RT euros?

H Baker

May 31, 2016, 1:55 pm

Personally I would recommend a Ulefone Paris.

Cosmin Dinu

June 21, 2016, 3:38 pm

Cubot, Xiaomi, Umi those phones are cheaper and better. Where are they?
Moto G phones are awesome indeed, but a bit too expensive imo.

Awesome Bryner

July 11, 2016, 3:35 am

People do not know what cheap is. Cheap is not expensive. Some people like me can't pay more than $50. How stupid.

Dorothy Skoland

August 1, 2016, 6:29 pm

I had the same type of problems Only had phone 3 months

apuk101

August 8, 2016, 9:28 pm

The Moto G4 Plus is a lovely phone, but the battery life is unbelievably poor. I've returned mine because of this. Staring with a full charge, all background activity off and it being left for 24 hours (i.e. not used for ANYTHING), it had only10% battery left after the 24 hours. My old iPhone 5s - and no, I'm not an Apple fan - will do the same for 8 days,, and my iPhone SE - which I actually use as my main phone - lasts 2 days between charges.

So the Moto G4 Plus is fatally flawed, in my opinion, which came as a real disappointment to me.

Kent Bayley

September 9, 2016, 12:51 am

This presenter cannot speak properly and rushes his words so he is almost incomprehensible. I strongly suggest he gets some on camera tyraing.

GravitySucks

October 21, 2016, 9:52 am

Try yourself first before criticizing atleast he trying to provide some useful information that too free. Common this is not fair to be critique always.

GravitySucks

October 21, 2016, 9:54 am

Two year old is way too bad choice bec software upgrades will kill them that's a new mantra of these google and apple of the world.. :)

Dennis Durkop

October 23, 2016, 8:06 pm

ZTE ZMAX Pro is a killer phone for the price!

Loganberry

October 31, 2016, 1:29 am

I hear you -- it's so frustrating when you're looking to see what you can get for £50 (I'm in the UK) and 90% of roundups say something like "going for the [whatever] at £150 really is worth it". Well, yeah, I'm sure -- but that's precisely zero use if you need a phone quickly and don't have £150! If a site did a "What's the best phone for £50?" roundup that didn't repeatedly hammer you with how you need to spend more to get anything usable, I'd be all over it.

I mean, I bought a ZTE Blade Q Mini back in 2014 for £50 from Argos, largely because it was the only phone I could find at that price that had an IPS display. For my needs (simple browsing, Google Maps, Twitter, MP3s, the odd video or casual game) it was absolutely fine once unlocked. I want a roundup comparing the 2016 equivalents of that phone, not one telling me I should be spending three times as much!

rastech

November 10, 2016, 3:00 pm

I lost my BlackBerry phones when my boat went down (along with everything else) and needed to get two usable phones fast (one in America, an LG flip from K-Mart, another as soon as back in the UK) and ALMOST in your price range, I managed to get a SIM free Moto E 2nd gen from Tesco on offer. It was £79.99 if I had it with a Tesco sim (and locked to Tesco), and £57 SIM free (grins).
This has turned out to be a cracking phone, well built, great battery life if you turn off unnecessary power hogs, and I easily get 2 days with wifi constantly on. It's also small enough to be good in the pocket, and has an excellent screen with gorilla glass. It auto updated to Android 6.0.1 as soon as I got it, and runs it smoothly. Batteries are removable (I later bought a spare, but have never run out of power and needed to use it), and it has a microSD card slot.
Good cheap phones ARE out there, around the £50 mark, and it would be really nice to not have to stumble over them by accident. I think at the time, the Moto E 2nd gen list price was £109 though, so having guide prices may be a really tough challenge on being able to find what we need. Audio with it is very good too (I am almost completely deaf, so this is important), and, it has REAL GPS (also very important to me for Sailsafe anchor watch software and backup Navigation software).
My only actual real dislike with the Moto E 2nd gen, applies to all Android and Apple phones though - their touchscreen keyboards really suck big time,especially if you have finger joint problems. So when I am back in a position to get a much better spec phone again, I'll be getting a BlackBerry DTEK 60, to get that fantastic touchscreen keyboard again. With luck, it'll perhaps be a Christmas present.
Good luck finding a good phone.

Loganberry

November 10, 2016, 4:40 pm

Thanks! That Moto E is one I've considered -- annoyingly, I missed a very brief window in which a local Asda had it for £59. Sadly, I haven't seen it for anything like that price since.

Richard Lloyd

December 2, 2016, 12:36 pm

If you bought it between Black Friday and Cyber Monday from Amazon UK, then the best sub-200 quid phone in 2016 was the Blu Vivo 6 at 184.99 (since gone back up to 239.99). Mostly better specs than the Moto G4 Plus and a cheaper price too.

comments powered by Disqus