Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / Best Cheap Mobile Phones and Budget Smartphones 2016

Best Cheap Mobile Phones and Budget Smartphones 2016

by

Lumia 650

8 / 8

Reviewed by Alastair Stevenson

02 April 2016

Microsoft Lumia 650

Read full Microsoft Lumia 650 review

Key features:

  • Windows 10 mobile OS
  • Snapdragon 212 CPU
  • 5-inch, 720p, OLED screen

Windows smartphones aren’t the most common sight on most high streets. But since Nokia released its first Lumia many moons ago, the OS has carved an admittedly small, but very loyal following.

Since the launch of Windows 10, an OS that’s meant to bridge the gap between mobile and desktop, Microsoft fans on a budget have been left in the lurch. Though some old Lumias can be upgraded to Windows 10 mobile, their performance has  generally deteriorated.

Which leaves the Lumia 650 as the only sensible option for Windows 10 mobile fans who don’t want to splash loads of cash on their next handset.

We here at Trusted reviews still aren’t convinced about Windows 10 mobile, which is still a little understocked on apps and buggy.

But with pricing starting at £160, the Lumia 650 is great value for money, if you’re a Windows diehard. For your pennies you’ll get a great looking smartphone with a wonderfully bright OLED screen, robust and removable 2,000mAh battery plus all the productivity perks of Outlook and Office 365.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £144

At time of review the Lumia 650 was available for £160.

Our Score:

6

xtvst

May 16, 2015, 5:27 pm

Moto G has an incredibly fragile display. Mine fell off of my pockey while I was sitting for dinner. The lcd display inside cracked. I had never dropped the phone before. Although there are tons of users facing the same problem, Motorola wont take responsibility by their faulty project and warranty won't cover it.
Wont fix it because 1. it will still be fragile and will obviously crack again at any smaller impact, 2. Theres a big chance I will get a chinese quality lcd display/touchscreen replacement while paying half of the phone's price for the fix up.
Is it a good device? Absolutely. But only buy it if you're Neil Armstrong (RIP) planning to use it in mission. Otherwise the budget you invested for the lots-of-benefits provided by MotoG turns to nothing.

leadpb

May 18, 2015, 3:20 pm

Got my Moto G last September. Thought it was excellent until charging problems occurred. had to go through a process of holding power and volume buttons to resume charging. This kept on happening over a couplle of weeks. Customer services were good but told to run phone down to zero power which I did. Phone died completely. Online comments reveal that others have suffered similar problems so maybe mine is not an isolated problem and a fault with the phone which others had complained about. Maybe updated models wouldn't have this flaw but shame as its ruined what I thought was an excellent and good value phone.

ElectricSheep

May 27, 2015, 2:43 pm

I think that at £200, the Nokia 830 should be considered. I've been using one after my Nexus packed up. Whilst I still dislike the WP8.1 tiles look (vastly improved with active tiles and folders), the OS is excellent these days and the hardware and build quality are second to none. The camera is superb. I thought i'd hate it and go back to Android in days, but I actually like it!

Phil_C

May 29, 2015, 11:44 am

Seriously, you guys need to check out the Prestigio 8500 duo. We have 3 of them in my household. They are £100 each, battery lasts 2 days plus and down slow down or break down in our experience. I had never heard of them before a Windows Server offer from ebuyer, but now they are a firm favourite.

ichuck7

June 1, 2015, 5:17 am

Where would the Sharp Aquous Crystal fit on this list? It's one of the only budget smartphones that looks really cool.

Amy

June 21, 2015, 5:40 pm

My daughter got that phone she said it was crap and took it back

ichuck7

June 21, 2015, 6:21 pm

Why did she say it was crap? I'm genuinely curious. Were her expectations too high? Did she compare it to a $700 iPhone?

Robert Daniels

June 24, 2015, 3:20 pm

My general advice for budget devices is to buy last year's flagship on the secondhand market. You can pick up something like the DROID Turbo or HTC M8 for ~$200. Much better values, in my opinion.

EDIT: and maybe even a two year old flagship for the ultra budget conscious, but only if the battery is replaceable.

Jared Jeanquart

September 9, 2015, 5:06 pm

It runs well and holds a huge sd card, and has more ram than usual for stuff in its class. Earpiece Phone calls sound slightly tinny, and you have to mash the phone to your ear; a problem for old people. I know someone who has one, and I've sold a few. One was returned.

Battery's unexceptional.

It's a very serviceable phone for the budget-conscious. The huge SD card potential is a big deal; you could fit a huge music/video library on it.

It's intended for the Asian market. The components are very reliable; needs a screen protector, but will last for a LONG time.

iFrank

March 19, 2016, 1:04 pm

May be referenced in the full review but the Honor 5X has a rare attribute, that is a Micro SD slot as well as dual sim provision.
I didn't find the overlaying skin a problem but an asset, just like Touchwiz is on some older Samsung's despite reviewers, who mostly do not live with these phones constantly declaring their love for naked android.

I returned mine because of not having NFC and the bother of two sizes of sim card being needed. One micro, one nano.

I hate nano even more than C type plug leads.
Apart from being smaller (a probable DIS advantage) there are no discernable advantages for the existence of nano sim cards. Unless you think the blessings by Apple is a Pro.
Cat- pidgeons.

Islam

April 18, 2016, 4:25 pm

Best budget phone is Huwaei Honor 5X from amazon £160.

fcabanski

May 8, 2016, 10:32 pm

These are expensive. Oh well, what can be expected from RT euros?

H Baker

May 31, 2016, 1:55 pm

Personally I would recommend a Ulefone Paris.

Cosmin Dinu

June 21, 2016, 3:38 pm

Cubot, Xiaomi, Umi those phones are cheaper and better. Where are they?
Moto G phones are awesome indeed, but a bit too expensive imo.

comments powered by Disqus