Home » Round-ups » Mobile Phones » Android Phone Round Up

Android Phone Round Up

by | Go to comments

Share:
Android phones

Android phones could one day dominate the phone market - they're already on the way to doing so. When loads of new Android mobile phones are released every month though, it's difficult to keep up with the best of them. That's why we've rounded up all the latest and best Android phones from HTC, Google, Motorola and more.

 

Round-up Items

Orange San Francisco (ZTE Blade)

26 January 2011

The Orange San Francisco is a staggeringly well featured handset which simply has no peer when it comes to value for money. Orange has done its very best to make a mess of the user experience by riddling the phone with bloatware, but it is nothing some enthusiastic uninstalling can't fix. If you have been reluctant to spend the money to join the smartphone revolution, you'd be dummer than your dumb phone to miss out on this.

Our rating:
9/10

Google Nexus S

31 December 2010

Some people have been a bit disappointed with the Google Nexus S, pointing out that with dual core, high resolution smartphones around the corner, it doesn't really push the boat out far enough for what is supposed to be a flagship device, especially given its high launch price. And, this is certainly true to an extent: it is basically just a souped-up Samsung Galaxy S and lacks basics like a microSD slot. The software improvements that come with the latest version of Android are also lacking in some areas, like the archaic music player and bizarre picture viewer. Also, the curved screen and inclusion of NFC are for the most part just gimmicks right now.

Our rating:
9/10

Motorola Defy

16 December 2010

This Android-based smartphone has a neat, uncluttered design, a 3.7in LCD panel with a sharp resolution of 480 x 854 pixels and a decent battery life. With its responsive touchscreen and decent internal specs, the Motorola Defy is an easy to use phone with a modest price.

Our rating:
9/10
HTC Desire Z front

HTC Desire Z

05 November 2010

The HTC Desire Z combines classy hardware and exceptional quality screen with a very good keyboard. The the slightly slower processor and optical trackpad may prove annoying, but the physical keyboard makes typing a breeze.

Our rating:
9/10

HTC Desire S

25 March 2011

The HTC Desire S certainly isn't the flag bearer for a new era in super fast smartphones, with it lacking the headline dual-core processor. However, it is a well crafted, elegant, easy to use, fast and very capable smartphone that thanks to HTC's tweaks stands it apart from the Android crowd. Where it actually falls down is on a couple of mundane extras, namely the lack of a physical button for the camera, the quality of said camera and the lack of an HDMI output. Thankfully, these omissions are made up for in its price, which while not bargain basement is very competitive.

Our rating:
8/10

HTC Incredible S

23 March 2011

The Incredible S is one of the better Android handsets on the market right now. It has a great screen, is speedy to use and has a good camera. However, we think the design is a tad ugly and it doesn't offer much that's new, especially compared to the dual core Android phones that are starting to appear.

Our rating:
8/10

HTC Gratia

11 March 2011

It lacks some top-end features, but slick performance, a lovable design and great touchscreen make the Gratia an Android winner.

Our rating:
8/10

Motorola Flipout

02 March 2011

On paper, the Motorola Flipout shouldn't work. Its rotating slideout keyboard design results in a small screen but not a particularly small phone, while its processor is a bit slow. Overall it smacks of a concept taken too far. However, Motorola has done the best it can with the idea, producing a phone that's very well made, has a great keyboard and wants for little in the way of features. It's also available for a great price. However, when push comes to shove, it doesn't do enough well enough to standout from the crowd.

Our rating:
7/10
HTC Evo 3D mobile phone

HTC Evo 3D

31 August 2011

The phone for the person who truly wants it all. 3D camera, 3D screen, dual-core processor - the Evo 3D has the lot.

Our rating:
8/10
 

Related News & Features

comments powered by Disqus