Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / 12 Best Android Phones in 2016

12 Best Android Phones in 2016

by

Nexus 5X review 27

3 / 12

Reviewed by Alastair Stevenson

12 May 2016

Nexus 5X

Read full Nexus 5X review

Best Deals for Google Nexus 5X

  • Compare tariffs
  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

LG and Google spruce up the beloved Nexus 5

Key features:
  • 5.2-inch, 1080p display
  • 12-megapixel camera
  • 16GB/32GB storage
  • Android 6.0 Marshmallow
  • USB-C
We loved the original Nexus 5, but after the lack of an update last year we thought it was gone forever. Thankfully, it's back and better than ever. Teaming up once again with LG, Google has kitted the Nexus 5X out with a sharp, yet fairly compact, 5.2-inch FHD display, impressive 12MP camera and a clean build of Android Marshmallow.

Plastic is the material of choice, rather than the metal of the Nexus 6P, but it feels rigid and durable. It's also small enough to be used in one hand, something we don't say very often. MicroUSB has also been ditched in favour of the reversible USB-C, which is great for the future, but not so much for that drawer of now useless cables.

The 12MP sensor captures nice photos in varying conditions, while the 2,700mAh cell should get you through the day. Performance is mostly impressive, though the odd stutter isn't completely out of the question.

Buy Now at Amazon.com from $240

At time of review the Nexus 5X was available for £339.

Our Score:

8

Best Deals for Google Nexus 5X

  • Compare tariffs
  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

Pete Thompson

May 22, 2015, 8:39 am

Some more budget choices - The Samsung Galaxy CORE - and the Sony Xperia M2 - both fantastic premium feel phones for around £120 notes. Less ugly than the Motorola G

Ukfe Uye

May 23, 2015, 10:30 am

Galaxy S6 is the best looking and well performing phone, but lettuce be reality, it is a toy. My friends are always telling me they have to charge the phone when my battery is at 50% on my xperia z3.

fcdis

June 27, 2015, 3:15 pm

You need to remove the Oneplusone from your list. The number of complaints practically exceed the number of satisfied users. The phone is a tech nightmare! Please don't encourage people to spend their money on such a broken device with no warranty. Yes, you heard me -- NO WARRANTY; the company won't honor warranty.

Ashley Crookes

July 2, 2015, 8:11 pm

Can't believe Sony didn't feature at all? I'm hoping to get one of their phones, like the slight dust and waterproofing which they have. Guess I'll have to look for reviews elsewhere!

Ti74Raven

July 6, 2015, 1:30 am

Care to provide some links? I've only really seen positive reviews around saying the phone is a great phone.

One_owner

July 7, 2015, 1:37 pm

If you go to the support forum on the oneplusone site you will see for yourself. I believe you have to be registered to see the support forum which is not shown on the main page, you have to select view all.
Also when I was active there in 2014 it was heavily 'moderated' in that lots (1000's) of posts being removed and threads being closed.
ex 1+1 owner

Tony

July 12, 2015, 3:54 pm

I like the Galaxy S6 Active as the best phone.Battery is much better!

fcdis

July 12, 2015, 10:41 pm

I also am an ex 1+1 owner. I sold mine as parts once the Oneplusone team refused to honor their warranty. There are plenty of complaints, and one_owner is correct that such forum sections for the 1+1 require you to be registered. It's a great phone until your screen stops working because the grounding is poorly insulated. LOTS of users affected, and no warranty honored.

Otherwise the list is fairly accurate. Surprised you didn't include the Moto X 2014 though. But then again, I think only recently the price went down to $299.

Keichwoud

July 18, 2015, 5:55 pm

2007: Back when mobile phones were actually mobile.

Edward Hammond

August 18, 2015, 10:16 pm

Great looking, true, but once you get used to that, you have to live with that stripped down personality called Touchwiz.

Imagine your partner suddenly decided not to open doors ever under any circumstances and the family won't listen - I find it that annoying.

David Wilson

August 20, 2015, 9:25 pm

Battery life is the sole determinant of quality? Um OK

News Reporter

August 24, 2015, 8:08 pm

OnePlus removes all technical complaint issues in their forums. They are limiting the ability to purchase by using "invites". Similar to what Google did with Gmail when that first rolled out. It's been months since anyone in the forums have been able to buy even with an "invite" code. You are still on a waiting list that does not exist. They are having major complications. That's why they have not been available to mainstream consumers. The recall would have been massive for the One and the Two version.

Joonar

September 13, 2015, 3:46 pm

Xiaomi series will be on your list when this affordable smartphone release in US and Europe.

msni

September 22, 2015, 2:55 am

I am still in Singapore .I want to buy moto G3 . PLS shop which shop buy in Singapore
Thanks

Jan Carter

October 8, 2015, 6:21 pm

I don't find any surprise about Sony. Their customer service might as well be non existent,; they've totally ignored my e mails and calls about a phone that died less than four months old. I will NEVER buy Sony again.

Ashley Crookes

October 8, 2015, 6:29 pm

Ouch! Can you not return it to the store where you got? Otherwise: Hellopeter.com - make a complaint! I go there pretty often and fairly often I do get a call back from whichever company I've bitched too...good luck!

Eno

November 12, 2015, 12:35 pm

You omitted probably the best Android phone of the year, the Sony Z5, I wander way?

Wambli Padilla

November 28, 2015, 7:39 pm

Wander through the forest no more, son. I am here to lead you into the light

Mike

December 11, 2015, 8:14 pm

Lmao

Mike

December 11, 2015, 8:16 pm

Nobody is taking about the m9+ and I wanna buy it tomorrow.

Sim Ao

December 16, 2015, 6:35 pm

What about OnePlus One?

John081

January 1, 2016, 4:11 am

Minimum 5 inch screen is best for playing games like candy crush saga, shadow fight 2 and others! (find out more about the shadow fight 2 cheats)

Bogdan Florin

January 15, 2016, 12:28 pm

No Note 5? Lol.

JAYz

January 17, 2016, 5:51 am

samsung s6 edge is the most beautiful, powerful and sexy phone I have ever used,as trustedreviews stated, "this is close to perfection".

Black on white crime

January 22, 2016, 12:11 am

You should take that one +/- junk off of the list and put the LG V10 right at the top.

comments powered by Disqus