Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Phones / 12 Best Android Phones in 2016

12 Best Android Phones in 2016

by

g5 35

2 / 12

Reviewed by Max Parker

19 April 2016

LG G5

Read full LG G5 review

Today's best deals

  • Compare tariffs
  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

A great phone, but the modules need work

Key features:
  • 5.3-inch, quad-HD screen
  • Dual cameras on the back
  • USB-C
  • Modular design

LG tried something different with the G5. Its modular design, which lets you pull off the bottom and replace it with a bunch of add-ons, is unique. But it's far from perfect. Having a phone that you can pull-apart leads to some issues with the build quality and even though the phone is made from metal, it feels like plastic. The modules themselves aren't overly interesting either. There's a B&O DAC that pumps out 32-bit audio and a camera grip that adds a physical shutter button and a hit more battery. We're hoping to see some more soon, but there's been none as of yet.

The rest of the phone though is much more impressive. The 5.3-inch display is lovely, the Snapdragon 820 CPU chews through tasks with ease and there's 4GB RAM for smooth multitasking. On the back is a fantastic 16MP sensor paired with a wide-angle 8MP sensor that captures impressive landscape shots. LG's Android 6.0 skin is rather heavy, but it's still better than it has been before.

Buy Now at Amazon.com from $444.99

At time of review the LG G5 was available for £499.

Our Score:

8

Best Deals for LG G5

  • Compare tariffs
  • Compare prices
  • amazon
  • ebay

Pete Thompson

May 22, 2015, 8:39 am

Some more budget choices - The Samsung Galaxy CORE - and the Sony Xperia M2 - both fantastic premium feel phones for around £120 notes. Less ugly than the Motorola G

Ukfe Uye

May 23, 2015, 10:30 am

Galaxy S6 is the best looking and well performing phone, but lettuce be reality, it is a toy. My friends are always telling me they have to charge the phone when my battery is at 50% on my xperia z3.

fcdis

June 27, 2015, 3:15 pm

You need to remove the Oneplusone from your list. The number of complaints practically exceed the number of satisfied users. The phone is a tech nightmare! Please don't encourage people to spend their money on such a broken device with no warranty. Yes, you heard me -- NO WARRANTY; the company won't honor warranty.

Ashley Crookes

July 2, 2015, 8:11 pm

Can't believe Sony didn't feature at all? I'm hoping to get one of their phones, like the slight dust and waterproofing which they have. Guess I'll have to look for reviews elsewhere!

Ti74Raven

July 6, 2015, 1:30 am

Care to provide some links? I've only really seen positive reviews around saying the phone is a great phone.

One_owner

July 7, 2015, 1:37 pm

If you go to the support forum on the oneplusone site you will see for yourself. I believe you have to be registered to see the support forum which is not shown on the main page, you have to select view all.
Also when I was active there in 2014 it was heavily 'moderated' in that lots (1000's) of posts being removed and threads being closed.
ex 1+1 owner

Tony

July 12, 2015, 3:54 pm

I like the Galaxy S6 Active as the best phone.Battery is much better!

fcdis

July 12, 2015, 10:41 pm

I also am an ex 1+1 owner. I sold mine as parts once the Oneplusone team refused to honor their warranty. There are plenty of complaints, and one_owner is correct that such forum sections for the 1+1 require you to be registered. It's a great phone until your screen stops working because the grounding is poorly insulated. LOTS of users affected, and no warranty honored.

Otherwise the list is fairly accurate. Surprised you didn't include the Moto X 2014 though. But then again, I think only recently the price went down to $299.

Keichwoud

July 18, 2015, 5:55 pm

2007: Back when mobile phones were actually mobile.

Edward Hammond

August 18, 2015, 10:16 pm

Great looking, true, but once you get used to that, you have to live with that stripped down personality called Touchwiz.

Imagine your partner suddenly decided not to open doors ever under any circumstances and the family won't listen - I find it that annoying.

David Wilson

August 20, 2015, 9:25 pm

Battery life is the sole determinant of quality? Um OK

News Reporter

August 24, 2015, 8:08 pm

OnePlus removes all technical complaint issues in their forums. They are limiting the ability to purchase by using "invites". Similar to what Google did with Gmail when that first rolled out. It's been months since anyone in the forums have been able to buy even with an "invite" code. You are still on a waiting list that does not exist. They are having major complications. That's why they have not been available to mainstream consumers. The recall would have been massive for the One and the Two version.

Joonar

September 13, 2015, 3:46 pm

Xiaomi series will be on your list when this affordable smartphone release in US and Europe.

msni

September 22, 2015, 2:55 am

I am still in Singapore .I want to buy moto G3 . PLS shop which shop buy in Singapore
Thanks

Jan Carter

October 8, 2015, 6:21 pm

I don't find any surprise about Sony. Their customer service might as well be non existent,; they've totally ignored my e mails and calls about a phone that died less than four months old. I will NEVER buy Sony again.

Ashley Crookes

October 8, 2015, 6:29 pm

Ouch! Can you not return it to the store where you got? Otherwise: Hellopeter.com - make a complaint! I go there pretty often and fairly often I do get a call back from whichever company I've bitched too...good luck!

Eno

November 12, 2015, 12:35 pm

You omitted probably the best Android phone of the year, the Sony Z5, I wander way?

Wambli Padilla

November 28, 2015, 7:39 pm

Wander through the forest no more, son. I am here to lead you into the light

Mike

December 11, 2015, 8:14 pm

Lmao

Mike

December 11, 2015, 8:16 pm

Nobody is taking about the m9+ and I wanna buy it tomorrow.

Sim Ao

December 16, 2015, 6:35 pm

What about OnePlus One?

John081

January 1, 2016, 4:11 am

Minimum 5 inch screen is best for playing games like candy crush saga, shadow fight 2 and others! (find out more about the shadow fight 2 cheats)

Bogdan Florin

January 15, 2016, 12:28 pm

No Note 5? Lol.

JAYz

January 17, 2016, 5:51 am

samsung s6 edge is the most beautiful, powerful and sexy phone I have ever used,as trustedreviews stated, "this is close to perfection".

Black on white crime

January 22, 2016, 12:11 am

You should take that one +/- junk off of the list and put the LG V10 right at the top.

comments powered by Disqus