Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Apps / Best Android Apps: 46 best apps for Android

Best Android Apps: 46 best apps for Android

by

UCBrowser

8 / 45

Reviewed by Joe Roberts

24 June 2016

UC Browser

What is it?

With Over 100 million downloads on the Google Play Store alone, UC Browser is a solid alternative to Chrome, Safari or Opera, offering a fast and feature-packed web browsing experience.

VIDEO REVIEW: UC Browser


What’s Good?

There are loads of competing browsers, from Chrome and Safari to Firefox and Edge, but UC Browser stands out for using less mobile data and offering loads of features including themes and add-ons.

Another reason you might want to switch to UC Browser is for its speed – especially if your phone or tablet isn’t the most powerful or has limited storage space. The browser has been designed with mobile in mind, so it runs well even on older hardware. In fact, there’s a separate UC Browser Mini app specifically designed for low-powered or older devices.

That’s not all though. The browser offers a number of useful modes including Incognito and Night Mode. There’s also a handy AdBlock feature which most other mobile browsers lack.

If you use a range of devices, the good news is UC Browser is available on virtually all platforms. Whether you’re browsing on Android, iOS, Windows Phone, or on your desktop PC, you can take advantage of the cloud sync feature to share bookmarks and settings between devices.

What’s Not So Good?

As fast as UC Browser claims to be, in my experience it doesn’t feel quite as snappy as the chrome browser that I usually use on my Android phone.

It also suffers a bit from over-crowding. There are so many options, menus and features that you can quickly start to feel lost and a bit frustrated.

Verdict

It takes a lot to convince people to change their browser, but while UC Browser may not be perfect, or in my opinion even the fastest, it’s packed with features and is ideal if you don’t have the latest or most powerful devices.

Score:
7/10 | Price: Free | In-app purchases? No | Download: UC Browser

Reviewed by Tom Honeyands

Our Score:

7

John

March 22, 2015, 7:43 pm

Ivona would get my vote. You haven't heard TTS until you've heard this incredibly realistic sounding human voice. I absolutely love it for Pocket, Google Books etc

And how is Kindle on there and not Google Play Books? Kindle as an app is ridiculously basic and simply leverages Amazon's bookstore coverage. Play Books is more flexible eg. TTS.

Amer Zaveri

April 2, 2015, 9:30 am

I would like to add one cool Android app for file transfer - Mesh It Up which transfers file at a very fast speed among Android devices within minutes. You can even transfer heavy files of video among the devices.

Alphajoe

April 2, 2015, 1:50 pm

You haven't covered one of the most important features of MailWise: The option to have the emails displayed as simple and easy to read conversations without any clutter.

But I agree on the lack of IMAP push support.

navigator

April 3, 2015, 10:10 pm

This is what Blackberry 10 has by default... called Hub.

Amshu Patel

June 11, 2015, 7:47 pm

Uniq Mobile Finder is a great application for getting your lost or stolen mobile phone. I got my lost phone and I just loved it, it worked like a magic for me for getting back my phone when I lost it. I challenge this is going to be one of the best app in 2015. Must use app for every device.

Replay Creation

June 15, 2015, 9:23 am

Full Battery Alarm Pro is an unique android app which prevents mobile phone battery from being overcharged by sounding an alarm.

https://play.google.com/store/...

Djibril Camaro

June 23, 2015, 7:52 pm

One of my favourite apps is:
https://play.google.com/store/...

Kodi Configu

July 1, 2015, 12:13 am

My favourite app is the CONFIGURATOR FOR KODI

tsr g

July 11, 2015, 6:39 am

'Everyday Calculation' is easily one of the best productivity App in the Play store

https://play.google.com/store/...

Den Watsons

August 19, 2015, 1:02 pm

MyAudioStream should be added, a s a good audio player and streamer.

DPLight

November 8, 2015, 9:29 pm

Office lens works wonders in a museum .. if you cannot get in front of it .. use lens (providing the painting is not too big)

FreeAppIn

November 20, 2015, 7:04 pm

Check out LIVING CELLS, it is interactive and very customizable live wallpaper. Try it now and watch those beautiful and colorful patterns, you can get it here: https://play.google.com/store/...

Jade C

November 21, 2015, 12:56 pm

Cool little addictive game/language learning app.

https://play.google.com/store/...

generic etcetera

December 18, 2015, 8:28 pm

A very creative idea

Ben

February 20, 2016, 12:13 am

Great app for checking Lotto results, faster than the official app.
https://play.google.com/store/...

itb-development

March 7, 2016, 8:29 am

Can anyone tell me the best selfie apps please? When i had windows there was lumia selfie ,the most incredible one and soon to be coming to android please god!! I need all the filters and beautifying i can get these days know its vain but took my firsy selfie in my late thirties and it made me look like i was in my late twenties yay!

DarthDiggler

March 8, 2016, 4:28 pm

I'd try that camera app that comes with the phone. :)

toboev

March 12, 2016, 9:53 am

How quickly are disused Vyke numbers recycled? What is the chance of getting somebody else's discarded number, or of them getting one of yours? You'd need to be careful about what you used these numbers for.

Odd but Awesome

March 31, 2016, 3:18 pm

How do I submit an app for you to review please?

Armaan Modi

April 14, 2016, 5:27 pm

Candy camera, Camera 360..

Erik Caso

April 15, 2016, 9:01 pm

Chromecast on younity is on its way, so stay tuned. Thanks.

Rukaji Akira

May 14, 2016, 11:11 am

Quipsphere is the mobile app for sharing ideas, comments and opinions in the form of recorded voice message.. way better than twitter in my opinion.

Maggie-Gfan

June 3, 2016, 10:07 am

Can you have a check at All-In-One Toolbox? https://play.google.com/store/...
It is pretty much the only system maintenance/optimization tool you need for any android device. The interface of the app is very attractive and sleek and it has almost every feature you could want from a system optimization app, things like system information, system resources, cleaners, backup, app 2 SD, 1 click boost and 1 click clean.

Joé Donzallaz

June 6, 2016, 10:38 am

Downloading music has never been so easy! https://play.google.com/store/...

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

saadat rahim

June 13, 2016, 9:48 am

nice..

comments powered by Disqus