Home / Product Round-ups / Mobile Apps / Best Android Apps: 46 best apps for Android

Best Android Apps: 46 best apps for Android

by

Unclouded

1 / 45

Reviewed by Joe Roberts

24 June 2016

Unclouded

What is Unclouded?

Cloud storage services are great but it seems everyone’s got a favourite for storing and sending online files. That means, if you’re anything like me, you’ve had to sign up for everything from Dropbox to OneDrive at some point. Which leaves you with several accounts in desperate need of consolidation. Enter, Unclouded.

Put simply, the app allows you view and manage the files in all your cloud storage services. And that pretty much covers it. Simple – just how a good app should be.

What’s good?

Unclouded has all you would expect from an app offering to make life slightly easier, with its clean, Material Design-based interface and easy usability. In fact, it’s probably the best-looking cloud management app I’ve seen.

One nice little design feature is the file path visualisation which appears at the top of the screen whenever you are navigating between folders. There’s something satisfying about the way a new folder name will slide into view once you tap to open it, and of course, seeing exactly where you are in terms of files makes the whole thing much easier to use.

Unclouded SS

But there’s slightly more to it than great design. Unclouded allows you to easily identify which files or folders are taking up the most storage. As soon as you add an account from Google Drive or OneDrive etc. you’ll be given a breakdown of the files and folders within each service, which when clicked on, show you a list of the individual files with the largest at the top. Add a Google account, and you can see how much space your Drive, Email, and Photos files are taking up.

You can then ask Unclouded to find duplicate files, which it does incredibly quickly, and peruse the resulting list, deciding which files to delete and which to keep. It’s all very simple and intuitive, plus you can use the app offline which is a nice bonus.

What’s bad?

If you want to add more than two accounts, you’ll need to upgrade to one of the premium packages. You can choose to add individual features, all of which cost 99p and include the ability to add password protection to Unclouded, add a dark theme, or add unlimited accounts. If you want them all you can pay £2.49, or if you want them all plus any future updates, it’s £3.49. It makes sense to offer individual upgrades, but at the same time it all seems a bit confusing at first. Surely they could have thrown the Dark Theme in with the free version?

Verdict

Having all your cloud accounts in one place is very useful, especially when you can navigate between them as easily as this. Unclouded is the best-looking cloud account manager available and comes with a load of features that make it worth downloading. It’ll cost you to add more than two cloud services, but once you’ve used Unclouded, you’ll probably be tempted to do just that.

Score: 9/10 | Price: Free (99p-£3.49 for premium versions) | In-app purchases? No | Download Unclouded

Our Score:

9

John

March 22, 2015, 7:43 pm

Ivona would get my vote. You haven't heard TTS until you've heard this incredibly realistic sounding human voice. I absolutely love it for Pocket, Google Books etc

And how is Kindle on there and not Google Play Books? Kindle as an app is ridiculously basic and simply leverages Amazon's bookstore coverage. Play Books is more flexible eg. TTS.

Amer Zaveri

April 2, 2015, 9:30 am

I would like to add one cool Android app for file transfer - Mesh It Up which transfers file at a very fast speed among Android devices within minutes. You can even transfer heavy files of video among the devices.

Alphajoe

April 2, 2015, 1:50 pm

You haven't covered one of the most important features of MailWise: The option to have the emails displayed as simple and easy to read conversations without any clutter.

But I agree on the lack of IMAP push support.

navigator

April 3, 2015, 10:10 pm

This is what Blackberry 10 has by default... called Hub.

Amshu Patel

June 11, 2015, 7:47 pm

Uniq Mobile Finder is a great application for getting your lost or stolen mobile phone. I got my lost phone and I just loved it, it worked like a magic for me for getting back my phone when I lost it. I challenge this is going to be one of the best app in 2015. Must use app for every device.

Replay Creation

June 15, 2015, 9:23 am

Full Battery Alarm Pro is an unique android app which prevents mobile phone battery from being overcharged by sounding an alarm.

https://play.google.com/store/...

Djibril Camaro

June 23, 2015, 7:52 pm

One of my favourite apps is:
https://play.google.com/store/...

Kodi Configu

July 1, 2015, 12:13 am

My favourite app is the CONFIGURATOR FOR KODI

tsr g

July 11, 2015, 6:39 am

'Everyday Calculation' is easily one of the best productivity App in the Play store

https://play.google.com/store/...

Den Watsons

August 19, 2015, 1:02 pm

MyAudioStream should be added, a s a good audio player and streamer.

DPLight

November 8, 2015, 9:29 pm

Office lens works wonders in a museum .. if you cannot get in front of it .. use lens (providing the painting is not too big)

FreeAppIn

November 20, 2015, 7:04 pm

Check out LIVING CELLS, it is interactive and very customizable live wallpaper. Try it now and watch those beautiful and colorful patterns, you can get it here: https://play.google.com/store/...

Jade C

November 21, 2015, 12:56 pm

Cool little addictive game/language learning app.

https://play.google.com/store/...

generic etcetera

December 18, 2015, 8:28 pm

A very creative idea

Ben

February 20, 2016, 12:13 am

Great app for checking Lotto results, faster than the official app.
https://play.google.com/store/...

itb-development

March 7, 2016, 8:29 am

Can anyone tell me the best selfie apps please? When i had windows there was lumia selfie ,the most incredible one and soon to be coming to android please god!! I need all the filters and beautifying i can get these days know its vain but took my firsy selfie in my late thirties and it made me look like i was in my late twenties yay!

DarthDiggler

March 8, 2016, 4:28 pm

I'd try that camera app that comes with the phone. :)

toboev

March 12, 2016, 9:53 am

How quickly are disused Vyke numbers recycled? What is the chance of getting somebody else's discarded number, or of them getting one of yours? You'd need to be careful about what you used these numbers for.

Odd but Awesome

March 31, 2016, 3:18 pm

How do I submit an app for you to review please?

Armaan Modi

April 14, 2016, 5:27 pm

Candy camera, Camera 360..

Erik Caso

April 15, 2016, 9:01 pm

Chromecast on younity is on its way, so stay tuned. Thanks.

Rukaji Akira

May 14, 2016, 11:11 am

Quipsphere is the mobile app for sharing ideas, comments and opinions in the form of recorded voice message.. way better than twitter in my opinion.

Maggie-Gfan

June 3, 2016, 10:07 am

Can you have a check at All-In-One Toolbox? https://play.google.com/store/...
It is pretty much the only system maintenance/optimization tool you need for any android device. The interface of the app is very attractive and sleek and it has almost every feature you could want from a system optimization app, things like system information, system resources, cleaners, backup, app 2 SD, 1 click boost and 1 click clean.

Joé Donzallaz

June 6, 2016, 10:38 am

Downloading music has never been so easy! https://play.google.com/store/...

I would love to hear your thoughts! :)

saadat rahim

June 13, 2016, 9:48 am

nice..

comments powered by Disqus