Home / Product Round-ups / TVs / Best 4K TV 2016: These are the 13 best UHD TVs you can buy

Best 4K TV 2016: These are the 13 best UHD TVs you can buy

by

Samsung UE49 KS7000 9

1 / 13

Reviewed by Ced Yuen

20 September 2016

Samsung UE49KS7000

Read full Samsung UE49KS7000 review

Today's best deals

  • ebay

Key features

  • 49-inch edge-lit LCD
  • 4K and HDR
  • Screw-free assembly

If you want to level up your TV, you need 4K and HDR. There are some eye-wateringly expensive ones out there, but the Samsung UE49KS7000 isn't one of them. This is Samsung's entry-level 4K/HDR TV, and it's got what it takes to earn the industry's UHD Premium badge. It's a stunning TV whether you watch 4K or upscaled HD, and its HDR performance is good enough to justify an upgrade over standard dynamic range. It's only slightly let down by minor light bleeding, but that's a minor issue. If you're looking to make your first step into the world of 4K and HDR, the KS7000 is the one to get.

Buy Now at John Lewis.com from £1,099

At time of review the Samsung UE49KS7000 was available for £1,099.

Our Score:

9

Best Deals for Samsung UE49KS7000

  • ebay

Prem Desai

December 18, 2015, 7:13 pm

Really want to get the Sony. However, I'm not sure if it's worth holding on for Dolby Vision (HDR?).

Hank Marvin

May 24, 2016, 8:36 pm

I have had the Sony 65kdx9305c for 11 months. worst TV I have had. don't get me wrong when it works its great.
it just does not work well a lot of he time.
stability poor
picture stutters every day and need a reboot
it has corrupted 3 USB pen drives (2 were brand new)
needs to boot on a regular basis due to various issues. lots more wrong with it.

I suggest keep away from Sony. they can't fix these faults. well they have not done after 11 months

Anton B.

June 12, 2016, 8:38 pm

Seriously? A 40" UHD TV even gets mentioned? To experience 4K on a 40" TV you have to sit one foot or closer to the TV: A 40" UHD TV is basically fraud.

Me

August 27, 2016, 5:58 pm

you don't experience 4k on UHD tv's.

Anton B.

August 27, 2016, 7:11 pm

You "don't experience DCI 4K" since the horizontal resolution of DCI 4K is 4096 and UHD is 3840. However, the only difference perceivable by a user is the aspect ratio, not the resolution. The human eye perceives resolution (sharpness) in moving imagery (within reason) through the vertical resolution (the number of lines of resolution) and not through horizontal resolution. In other words, since UHD and DCI 4K have the same vertical resolution of 2160 pixels, they have the same sharpness when watching movies.

BTW, both DCI 4K and UHD is considered 4K.

Marquer

September 1, 2016, 12:12 pm

I think "Me" meant that you actually dont notice the difference at all from 1080p to 2160p. I dont think he was referring to the 3840 / 4096 horizontal res. difference of the two 4k standards, because it makes no tangible difference, apart from slightly diff. aspect ratio). I have a 40" 4k TV and the problem isn't the resolution (nor the screen size), because when I pause the pic, there are clearly more detail as opposed to the 1080p playback of the same 4k movie. BUT, the 4k playback is generally more dimmed, so the perception is that it's not a higher resolution at all. Best pairing so far is to watch 4K video (my STB requires HEVC) on 1080p res., it definitely gives a sharper pic than that of a native 1080p shot. I say, this is not related to my relatively small screen size of 40" because, by design, no UHD TV supports onboard playback of 4k content (shame!), therefore I bought Technisat UHD receiver box (EUR 499!) last year, but again, it plays UHD picture more dim than on 1080p (HDMI cable is of best quality possible, but still 4k is not sharp enough and the actors' motion not smooth enough, under this setup, at least.) Of course, I could try with a high-end UHD TV to see if theres an advantage, but because of the ambiguous prospects, I'd rather wait with stepping up with UHD now...

vampyren

September 29, 2016, 12:39 pm

Warranty? that is just not acceptable for such a expensive TV.

why not taking it back to the shop?

Gulyás Tamás

October 2, 2016, 10:52 am

What about lg 65uh950v?

comments powered by Disqus