BenQ G2222HDL - 21.5in Monitor specs

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 21.5-inch Full-HD 1080p panel
  • 1000:1 contrast ratio
  • 250cm/m2 brightness
  • VGA/DVI inputs
  • Manufacturer: BenQ
  • Review Price: £101.65
specs
Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 21.5 in
Response Time 5 ms
Specs
Screen Size (inches) 21.5 in
Aspect Ratio 16:9
Response Time 5 ms
Brightness 300 cd/m?
Dot Pitch 0.248 mm
Horizontal Viewing Angles 170?
Vertical Viewing Angles 160?

sahal

March 3, 2010, 5:55 am

My one arrived today and tbh for £120 it is superb value for money. Plus its the only 1080p monitor that fits in the gap that I have in my silly ikea desk (which is 52cm wide, and this is about 51cm) so it squeezes in nicely :D

Vandera

March 3, 2010, 3:05 pm

I purchased the 24" version of this monitor, the G2420HDBL for £140.-


It currently stands next to a Iiyama Prolite E2407HDS ccfl TN panel from last year, and performance of the BenQ LED is much better. Wider colour gamut, even backlight and deeper blacks. Altogether i'm surprised by the quality you can get for £140.- (or 120 for the 21.5")

piesforyou

March 3, 2010, 4:26 pm

I want 1200 vertical pixels please.

peter 27

March 3, 2010, 6:47 pm

so u need a dvi-hdmi converter for full hd? not quite sure why a hd monitor wouldnt have an hdmi imput.... but im new to this

RazorA

March 3, 2010, 7:24 pm

Wow, what a bargain. The ideal gaming monitor for those on a budget.





@Vandera, seems even better knowing that you can get it's larger brother for only £20 more.





@Peter. No, dvi is absolutely fine. I think the reviewer was only referring to the fact that if you wanted to use this for viewing films from a Blu-ray player, or play games via a PS3 or an Xbox 360 than this would be an issue (as you would require said converter to use these devices). For PC users who want no frills just a decently made reliable full HD monitor this would seem like real a steal.

TechVegan

March 3, 2010, 7:35 pm

@peter:


HDMI would require a licensing fee which increases its cost over DVI.

Beaky69

March 3, 2010, 9:42 pm

Good review, but it would be useful to know whether HDCP is supported over the DVI connection?

G Hell

March 5, 2010, 7:41 pm

I currently plug my HDMI DVD player in to my Benq G2200WT via its DVI-D socket using an HDMI to DVI-D cable. Could I do the same with the G2222HDL ?





The G2200WT only has 1680 x 1050 resolution and I assume that the artefacts I get while watching some DVDs are because of the resolution scaling that the monitor is performing.

Keithe6e

March 5, 2010, 9:01 pm

@G Hell: some DVDs





With it been some DVD's, I'd say no. Not all DVD's are equal, some are mastered better than others. Apart from that your up-scaling, some up-scalers are better than others. Moving up to a 1080 is not going to make much difference if any. If you was playing FullHD 1080 then it would make a difference as now you will be having to down-scale slightly.

G Hell

March 6, 2010, 4:23 am

@Keith: Thanks for the tip. I assumed digital discs were free of this kind of error. After reading your comment I did a search and found that the DVD I have most problems with (The Wire season 1) is generally problematic.

speedyg2012

July 19, 2010, 6:05 pm

comment Beaky69 said on 3rd March 2010





Good review, but it would be useful to know whether HDCP is supported over the DVI connection?


===================================================





AFAIK, It is HDCP compliant over DVI. Have an aging 17'' monitor I'm thinking of replacing soon at home and a 19'' monitor in the office which has part of it's screen now permanently fuzzy, this looks like an ideal replacement for the budget.

comments powered by Disqus