1 of 14 pictures

Hover to zoom

Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9

14 Pictures - Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9

  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoPlay A9
  • B&O A9 2
  • BeoPlay A9


February 1, 2013, 12:03 pm

Haven't read the review yet so do you know if it can be paired as a stereo set?


February 1, 2013, 4:52 pm

I'm not 100% sure if you can pair more than one but I'm guessing that as it is a stereo speaker set in its own right (and big enough for the speakers to be widely spaced enough to produce the stereo effect) I think not.


February 2, 2013, 12:17 am

sounds good. Maybe one day when I have my loft apartment!


February 2, 2013, 5:00 am

Nice review! I notice B&O does not provide any photos of the speakers plugged into the mains. Unless one of those legs is hollow...the dangling power cords are going to spoil the A9's clean lines

Gordon Kelly

February 3, 2013, 3:12 pm

You can't link units together, but as Evan mentions the stereo dispersion is already excellent. Quite frankly you wouldn't pair two together unless you lived in a barn and wanted to blow the door out.

Gordon Kelly

February 3, 2013, 3:14 pm

There's only one power cord and no power brick (I mention the transformer is built in). It would be easy to run the bacle down the back of one of the legs with ties


February 3, 2013, 6:04 pm

Does the plastic cabinet "sing" along with the drivers when playing loud? I mean, so many drivers and one 8" subwoofer must really make some vibrations in that slim cabinet.

Andrew Bott

February 4, 2013, 11:13 pm

I've had one for five weeks now and it's been nothing but trouble: several phone calls to the store to set it up, unable to interact with my android phone, unable to play music from my computer via the recommended app (Twonky), unstable when playing via Apple devices (drops out suddenly....generally when I'm with a client). In short, a disaster.
On the positive side: it sounds great - when working - and is almost worth keeping just for the looks alone.
My Sonos system is infinitely better, except in terms of looks and sound quality. Arrangements are being made for a refund.

Andrew Bott

February 4, 2013, 11:15 pm

Techfrenzy. Correct. It looks much better without the power cord and, in my case, isn't that much less useful.

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2013, 12:56 pm

Shame to hear about your setup problems - certainly (as I comment in the review) I found the B&O app to be nothing but trouble. That said setting it up manually was straightforward and was then fine ever since. Sounds like you may have a lemon, but yes there's no disputing the sound quality and design.

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2013, 12:58 pm

I experienced no vibration whatsoever. If you set the bass to maximum ('freestanding') and put it in a corner then you'll get an output only bassheads will appreciate but even then the cabinet itself didn't make any undue noises.

Andrew Bott

February 6, 2013, 1:54 am

Thanks Gordon. Actually the set up was only the beginning of my problems:)


February 10, 2013, 6:29 am

Heard it yesterday at my local B&O store. Sounded great and could easily fill their entire showroom with great sound. Stereo separation was quite good too. Love the design also. My only gripe is its interface with AirPlay and DLNA. If it was compatible with Squeezebox (now discontinued), and Sonos it could be in my consideration - in the future that is as my AVI actives still sound much better, are more versatile but they also take up more space and may not be as aesthetically pleasing.


February 11, 2013, 11:07 am

You could run a pair of those in stereo if:
You attached a shielded RCA Y cord to EACH channel of your playback device. (IPod, preamp or whatever plugs in to the input of the B&O). So now each channel of your playback device has two RCA jacks. Take both jacks from the Y cord of the left channel, of your playback device, and plug those in to both channels of the left speaker. THEN take both jacks from the Y cord of the right channel of your playback device, and plug those in to both channel of the right speaker. Each speaker would then be putting out mono, but the two would make true stereo, as wide apart as you want to place the speakers. – like a normal rig.
I hope that makes sense. For any other questions, catch me on FB. I am POSITIVE that would work.


February 11, 2013, 11:10 am

Please see my answer above.


February 11, 2013, 11:12 am

Very interesting design. B&O has always been noted for beautiful products. Please see my answer to the stereo (using two of them) dilemma above.

Barry J

February 12, 2013, 9:06 am

Warning !!! Beware!!!! Bang & Olufsen WILL NOT sell any replacement/repair parts for A9, A8, A3 or Beolit 12!!! Company does not even repair these units under warranty!!!! Once your warranty is done the only option is exchange product trough B&O at horrendous price!
Just ask at your B&O store or your B&O service technician to reveal the truth.
What a rip off! Never mind how difficult it is to set up product on your wireless network!!!

Andrew Bott

February 12, 2013, 11:50 pm

Returned unit somewhat reluctantly as I really wanted it to live up to its potential.

Andrew Bott

February 12, 2013, 11:52 pm

You've hit the nail on the head: looks great, sounds great, interface severly limits usability.


February 15, 2013, 11:13 am

"It is both style and substance and there is nothing quite like it on the market"

This review should have compared its sound quality with the Geneva Lab XL. It has 6 class D amplifiers and is £2000. No Airplay, only a dock and EmbracingSound technology.


February 19, 2013, 4:51 pm

Im finaly ordered one A9 today! Will get it in the beginning of next week, I will get back with my own review then.
Barry J , Do u work for Sony?

Lewis Ben

February 23, 2013, 5:56 am

This product is seriously making me consider moving from Windows/Andriod to Apple devices for good as it seems to provide the solution to all my problems as an audiophile and music lover. The only reason why I haven't bought one already since I first knew of it is the compatibility issues with non Apple Devices/Apps. Some of the horror reviews here have even complicated my uncertainty about my future and the A9.

Ian Grace

March 8, 2013, 7:24 am

good point, I understand stbbrackets are making a leg option which conceals the cables but as you rightly point out, a shocking design flaw/oversight IMHO.

Ian Grace

March 8, 2013, 7:25 am

I will look into this with B&O Service on 01293 611590 - if so this is indeed shocking!!

William Smith

April 2, 2013, 8:50 pm

I use the Beoplay with a Windows computer with AirPlay compatible software (Airfoil) I found online.Works great. It also has dnla technology and plays effortlessly from Android phones with dnla.

comments powered by Disqus