Home » TVs & Audio » Portable Audio » iPod touch 4th Gen (2010) » Image and Video Samples

iPod touch 4th Gen (2010) - Image and Video Samples

By Hugo Jobling


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £225.50

Scores In Detail

Sound Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page
Video Review


September 17, 2010, 2:54 pm

Good luck if you can buy one! The Apple Stores at Westfield and Brent Cross have only had the 8GB version in stock for the last week.


I could pick faults at it but as you say it really is in a category of one right now for what it does. The glass back would have been nice though.


September 17, 2010, 4:23 pm

Ipod is good, i tested one at a MALL center, the sound quality isn't really good for the price you pay.

I will buy a Sony NWZ-X1060 which it has a way better sound quality at the £189(Inc VAT)

after all the most important thing in an MP3 is the sound, something that Ipod isn't that much good at it, they focused on other gimmicky stuff and left the most important feature.


September 17, 2010, 5:03 pm

Did you know about the Apple recycling scheme where you can get 10% off: http://www.apple.com/uk/recycl...

With Apple kit seeming to be pretty much uniformly priced, it seems like a good idea (and you can get rid of your old stuff as well)!

Note: I don't work for Apple or any thing related to them!

Hamish Campbell

September 17, 2010, 6:23 pm

You know, this would be really cool if they made it a phone as well...

Sorry, bit bored.


September 17, 2010, 11:51 pm

@haim - "You know, this would be really cool if they made it a phone as well..."

You know, I had almost the same thought....


September 18, 2010, 12:03 am

If you own Apple anything, you will notice they don't depreciate like other goods (if kept well) and you'll easily get more than the 10% discount by selling it yourself. Even including the high auction fees.


September 18, 2010, 2:23 am

"the rear camera can take 960 x 720 pixel stills and record 720p video"

Does this mean that it can take video at a higher resolution than photo, or does "720p" refer to 960 x 720 (which isn't quite 720p horizontally if I'm not mistaken)?


September 18, 2010, 2:55 am

@AlexMck, yep, but the video frames are just interpolated slightly so there really isn't much point :)

Really tempted by this, while I love my Desire I think I'm still leaning towards an iPhone as last time I found myself with an iPod and a phone I ended up with the first gen iPhone..


September 18, 2010, 6:31 am

"The addition on the iPhone 4's A4 processor and Retina Display, alongside 720p video recording, FaceTime support and the lacklustre Game Center bring the iPod touch up to par with its call-making alternative"

Interestingly Anandtech ( http://www.anandtech.com/show/... have a very in depth review and a different viewpoint :

"The bottom line is that the new iPod Touch is not an iPhone 4 without the phone"

Having read both reviews I must say I found Anandtech's more informative and persuasive.


September 23, 2010, 4:50 pm

I got my ipod last week and also recently a Samsung Galaxy S so you could say I have the best of both worlds :)

I am moderately impressed by the ipod (my first apple product), I love the choice of apps and tight integration in itunes but I prefer the navigation of Android when browsing web and app stores.


If you download an app on android, it downloads in the background and you can carry on searching for more apps but on ipod, it takes you back to the home page and you have to click on the app store icon which takes you back to app you were looking at but when you click "back" you then go back to the top of the app list and not in the area where the app you have just download is... That's poor programming!


February 23, 2014, 11:09 pm

I had my iPod 4th gen. in my pocket and when i took it out it said the sound was on (headphones) and i did not have headphones plugged in so sound didn't come out. Will apple cover this?

comments powered by Disqus