Home » Mobile » GPS & Sat Nav » TomTom GO LIVE 1005

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 review



  • Recommended by TR
TomTom GO LIVE 1005


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £242.39

TomTom hasn't been resting on its laurels. Although no competitor has matched the power of HD Traffic quite yet, with the GO LIVE 1000 the company nevertheless added new routing technology, a new chassis design, and an overhauled menu structure. Now TomTom has taken the same core features and supersized them. The result is the GO LIVE 1005.

Regular sat-nav watchers may have noticed subtle changes in TomTom's latest naming strategy. The model number is now last, after the LIVE, and the 5 in the 1005's name denotes a 5in display. This may be only 0.7in larger diagonally than the GO LIVE 1000's 4.3in screen, but the result is a noticeably bigger device. With the same extremely clear LCD panel technology, the GO LIVE 1005 has one of the easiest displays to see currently available.

As with the GO LIVE 1000, and Via LIVE 120, the GO LIVE 1005 has a much improved menu structure compared to previous TomToms. Instead of offering a seemingly endless series of option pages, the initial screen presents just six icons, including the all-important location search. This is split into the usual address or Points of Interest (POI) sections, so you can’t search by keyword across both databases.

The POI system does have a free search, but the address database requires you to know the postcode or city location of your intended street destination. This is not as friendly as Mio’s Navman Spirit or Motorola’s MOTONAV devices. These offer a single unified keyword search that will bring up both addresses and POIs, in particular allowing you to find a street without knowing precisely which town it’s in.

Routing, however, is the most sophisticated yet. The GO LIVE 1005 doesn’t calculate its routes in the traditional way, on the fly. Instead, like the GO LIVE 1000 and Via Live 120, it has all possible routes between different destinations pre-calculated, so it simply has to look up the right one. The system also incorporates IQ Routes, so it takes account of the time of day and day of week you’re travelling to figure out road speed. We tried a selection of destinations, and found those closer than 50 miles took a couple of seconds to calculate, and even routes of hundreds of miles between the centres of distant cities took 10 seconds or less.

Next page


January 26, 2011, 3:18 pm

I'm not quite sure I get the advantage of storing all possible routes, rather than calculating them on the fly. The satnav device I have is about 3 years old now, and it only takes a few seconds to calculate any route that I have asked of it. Are we really in that much of a hurry that we need to save those seconds? Then again, I can't see any disadvantage of of the pre-loaded routes either.

James, one thing that reviewers of satnav devices never seem to comment on is the success or otherwise of the warnings for speed cameras, slow areas outside schools and the like. I'm always scared of being one or two miles per hour over the limit in urban areas, or being caught doing 80mph by those gantries above some motorways, like the M25. The device I have at the moment is the relatively obscure Snooper Syrius, which gives nice loud warnings well in advance, and you can set it so that it only gives the warning if you are above the relevant speed limit. Snooper also allow users to update the camera and danger zone database as frequently as they like, and they also claim that their database is updated more frequently and is more accurate than others, but I understand that these databases are mostly compiled from police databases and other public sources, so I find that a bit hard to believe. Anyway, I would be interested to hear what you think of that.

My power adapter blew up a while ago and the device itself is a bit more limited, without proper lane diagrams, for example, so I'm quite keen to upgrade, but for me, it would be the speed camera warning system which would drive the buying decision.


January 26, 2011, 4:36 pm

As this device is marketed as covering the whole of Europe, I'd be interested to know if it can hold maps for more than one country at a time. Apparently a limitation of some previous 'EU' Tomtom devices was that you had to download a new map into the device as you changed countries because the level of detail meant that the built-in memory was too small to accommodate multiple maps.

(Shame Tomtom moved away from the SD card option, although I guess they may have done that to help avoid piracy of the maps).

Alan Edwards47c

January 26, 2011, 6:32 pm

About the speed camera warnings, I've got that on my TomTom Go 500. Unless the newer ones are much better, I reckon you're better off with a dedicated speed camera detector like a Talex.

The TomTom gives you warnings about cameras in both directions rather than just the direction you're driving in, doesn't give you over-speed warnings, and doesn't warn you about average speed detection zones. The Talex tries to warn you about mobile camera locations too, but personally I've never seen one anywhere it's warned me about.

The Talex database is updated weekly, but it's not always completely up to date.


January 26, 2011, 7:23 pm

Thanks Alan. I just had a look at the Talex website, and it looks awful, a bit like one of those websites which say "just scroll to the bottom and you'll find out how I gave up my day job. I make £3000 per day sitting on my arse, and if you keep reading, you'll find out how you can, too. Keep scrolling etc to find out how. Now hand me your money"!

However, I'll take your word for the fact that the product itself works. It sounds like the functionality of the Talex is similar to the device I have at the moment, but the advantage of the Syrius device is that it has satnav converged into the same box. This suits me better because it's one less device to have set up and put away.

I agree about the mobile camera location warnings though. I have never seen one actually occupied by a camera. Apparently the logic is that the police agree to only use mobile cameras in specific pre-agreed places, which are on the databases. No idea if that's true or not though.

Adrian Byron-Parker

January 27, 2011, 11:42 am

Hi James.

I have to admit I almost bought the Go1005. I had to replace my ageing 730T and wanted the HD Traffic.

Sorry to say I just could not live with the amount of reflection I got in the screen. You end up mounting the Go1000 in places to reduce the reflections instead of a convenient place to operate it.

Also the best price .... which I thought was reasonable was £235 but I could not convince myself against the reflection problem.

Needing a new device I ended up buying a Tomtom Via 120 Live EU for £135.

When I found this unit on Amazon for this price I couldn't resist.

It gives very similar.. if not the same functionality of the Go 1000 (4.3 Inch Screen Version) for £100 less and with no reflection Issues.

Admittedly I don't like the inbuilt mount on this device but it does seem like a problem you can live with, also it has a simple micro USB power plug so I can replace it or wire one into my car with relative ease.

If TomTom had made the Go 1005 with a nor reflecting screen I would have bought it.

I know it is because the screen is a new Capacitive type and this is a fine tech for my phone but for a device primarily used in a car the reflections are un acceptable.

Come on TomTom Build the unit with a non reflecting screen as all of your Navs have had up to now! That is what we want and need of this type of device.


January 27, 2011, 10:14 pm

I want to know if this is still better than the TomTom App for iPhone 4.

Seems like the App has HD traffic at a cheaper price, but sans the ability to check petrol prices.. oh and the screen is bigger.

Chris Rees

January 29, 2011, 12:51 am

Adrian, please tell me where you saw the 120 live eu for £135 cj dot rees at yahoo dot co dot uk Chris


January 29, 2011, 5:18 am

Alan - You don't need Talex. Speed cameras from pocketgpsworld will cost less and mean you have only one device to worry about. Until this month, you couldn't add custom POIs to Go 1000/1005 or Via 120, but I believe you can now (essential, since the cameras are installed as custom POIs).

Adrian - Re screen reflections, I reckon it's always best to mount your satnav out of the screen area, for several reasons. To do so, buy a custom Brodit mount for your car. Ok, that will cost money but you'll get most of it back when you sell.


September 28, 2011, 11:05 pm


" Backing up your device is currently not possible for the following navigation devices:
GO 1000 series, GO LIVE 800 series, Via series, Start 20 series, Blue & Me TomTom 2 LIVE, Sony XNV

We are working hard to offer this as soon as possible."




November 24, 2013, 7:30 pm

when it works its ok, but it's got the slowest processor of any satnav I've had - fine for rural roads, but in town, I often have to stop driving for 2 minutes or so whilst it works out a new route. As it was Tomotom's premium produt when I bought it 9 months ago, I feel fairly sickened by TomTom's failure to provide any support for this failing - their user support site is full of others complaining about the same problem, but not once has anyone from TomTom replied on there forum to explain why it is so slow.

james gordon

January 15, 2014, 5:23 pm

I plugged it into my computer as per instructions The Tom tom Died completely Just dead and it screwed my computer too.. Luckily Currys reimbursed me but had to get a man in fix Computer

comments powered by Disqus