Marantz SR7005 AV receiver - Features and operation

By Danny Philips


  • Recommended by TR
Marantz SR7005 AV receiver


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

It’s similarly state-of-the-art when it comes to audio processing. Not only does it decode HD audio (Dolby True HD, DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital Plus) but it also features Dolby Pro Logic IIz and Audyssey DSX processing. Both enable you to connect front height speakers and achieve a vertical soundfield, but Audyssey’s tech can also generate front width channels, expanding the front soundstage even further. However, with seven channels to play with you can’t run surround back and front height/width channels at the same time.

Given the SR7005’s high-end positioning and Marantz’ esteemed audio heritage, it comes as no surprise to find some high-grade circuitry under the bonnet. The brains of the operation is the 400MHz Sharc processor, which handles the HD audio decoding and the range of Audyssey modes. The SR7005 also features current feedback circuitry with Marantz HDAMs (Hyper Dynamic Amplifier Modules) that can reproduce HD audio in high-fidelity. And like the SR6005, the SR7005 can also upscale video signals to 1080p thanks to the Anchor Bay ABT2015 chip.

There’s plenty more to get your teeth into, including an app that enables you to control the receiver from your iPhone or iPod Touch, plus the SR7005 is one of four Marantz products to support Apple’s AirPlay feature with a firmware upgrade available from the Marantz website for around £39. This enables you to stream music from iTunes to the SR7005, as well as accessing artist information, album art and elapsed/remaining time info. A great feature list then, but some home cinema die-hards may bemoan the lack of THX certification and nine-channel amplification.

Audyssey’s Auto Setup feature makes it very simple to get the optimum sound settings for your room. We’re sure you know how these work but there’s a microphone in the box that picks up test tones emitted by the receiver from up to eight different positions, then the receiver analyses the signals and sets the appropriate levels. Once these settings are in place, Audyssey’s MultEQ, Dynamic Volume and Dynamic EQ modes automatically keep tabs on the sound properties.

Also making life easy is the inclusion of onscreen menus, which use basic-but-functional graphics and a straightforward layout. They contain a mind-boggling array of tweaks – there are no less than 25 pages devoted to them in the manual – and quite simply leave no stone unturned. Highlights include detailed picture adjustments and manual speaker settings in case the auto settings aren’t to your liking.

The remote is a little cluttered, particularly towards the bottom, but most of the regularly-used functions are easy to find and the display window at the top showing the selected control mode is a nice touch.

Previous page
Next page


January 7, 2011, 5:27 pm

Reviews such as this serve only to induce further buyers remorse in whatever capable receiver you already have. Still that blue LED ring on the fascia will irritate me of somewhat.


January 7, 2011, 5:59 pm

I'm a bit puzzled by this sentence in the verdict - especially in regard to effects placement:

"The combination of insightful detail, awesome power and precise, expansive effects placement makes the Marantz a master of its craft and for that reason it’s worth every penny of its price tag".

Can you explain what you mean by "precise, expansive effects placement"? Does that mean cheaper/inferior AV receivers place sound effects less accurately or in the wrong place?!

Jim 7

January 7, 2011, 10:56 pm

Also, why does every AV receiver review here seem to use different source material? How can you accurately compare one receiver playing Iron Man 2 against another playing Inception? Much of this review sounds like frothy, audiophiliac nonsense (to my ears, at least).

Mike B

January 8, 2011, 1:17 am

The problem is once you move up to receivers that cost above about £600 the differences become far more subtle and the the preferences are in the ear of the beholder! I have the Yamaha RX-V2067 and am very happy with its performance. This unit tends to get 4 star reviews over the Pioneer LX53 but in fact it all depends heavily on the other components, in particular the speakers. For my Monitor Audio RS package the Yamaha produces a better overall, more balanced and natural sound than the Pioneer produces with the same speakers. Some may prefer the Pioneer sound over the Yamaha but this ends up as personal preference.

As Jim pointed out unless the listening room, other equipment and source material are the same it is hard to make a totally critical evaluation. It would also require a panel of listeners to ensure all tastes were catered for in the trial.

In other words reviews like this can only point you towards a range of devices to look at but in your own home and with your own equipment it may sound different to what any reviewer says!

dan pugh

January 8, 2011, 2:09 pm

I have older version (7002) for many years in several rooms. Its great for both surround and music (which is a rare event), but also looks much nicer than most. Its worth noting that marantz phone (not email) support is brilliant, and warranty for mine is 5 years. Definately demo before buying as subjective issue. The majority (my brother) go for onkyo on price. I'm glad I didn't


January 8, 2011, 4:10 pm

Little confused, if it's worth every penny for it's price tag, how come you only gave it 8/10 for value ?


January 10, 2011, 7:33 pm

Any chance of a response to our questions, Danny?

Danny P

January 11, 2011, 8:35 pm

@Jim 7: I like to use a range of Blu-ray discs to test home cinema products. I play my staple discs like Hellboy II, The Dark Knight etc on everything but when decent new discs like Iron Man 2 or Inception come along I check them out too – saying the same things about the same scenes can get monotonous so using more recent films is my attempt to inject a bit of freshness into the reviews. It’s good to hear how products cope with lots of different scenes, after all you don’t just watch one film at home do you?

And I’d be interested to hear any advice you have on how to write 1,000 words on an AV receiver and its sonic characteristics so I can avoid making it sounding like ‘frothy, audiophiliac nonsense’ in the future.

@Metalex: Some receivers are better than others at separating, steering and projecting sound than others and therefore give you a better sense of your place within the soundstage. I’m not saying that inferior receivers don’t place effects accurately but there are subtle differences in how widely effects are dispersed and how clearly they emerge from the speakers. Mike B has nailed it with his comment – it’s not an exact science, I’m just describing my thoughts on its sound quality as a prompt for you to check it out yourself and see if you agree.

@Super: Yeah, tricky one. It’s still quite expensive, had it been a bit cheaper I might have given it more. Getting this level of performance and this many features from, say, a £700 receiver may have earned a higher value mark.

Jim 7

January 12, 2011, 2:35 am

@Danny P: So how do you know (and by extension, how do we know) that you can attribute those characteristics to the receiver, and not the source material, or the speakers, or the gauge of speaker cable, or the room, or the temperature, or any of countless other variables if you don't use the same set up every time? It might make for a dry review, but at least it would be something quantifiable. Could you at least do A/B testing alongside a baseline receiver to compare? Anyway, thanks for the response.

Danny P

January 12, 2011, 6:52 pm

@Jim 7: I do use the same setup everytime - speakers, Blu-ray player, films - and compare it to my reference receiver every time, the Onkyo TX-NR906. I just don't talk about the same film every time.


January 26, 2012, 2:27 am

Danny in the process of buying a new receiver read both your reviews on the onkyo txnr1009 and the marantz sr7005 love action movies do not listen to much music any thoughts thanks dow

comments powered by Disqus