Home / Mobile / Tablet / Asus Vivo Tab / Performance, Battery, Value and Verdict

Asus Vivo Tab – Performance, Battery, Value and Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
Asus Vivo Tab


Our Score:


Asus Vivo Tab - Specs

As mentioned, the Vivo Tab TF810C is specced similarly to other detachable convertibles in its price range. Leading the charge is an Intel ‘Clover Trail’ dual core Atom Z2760 1.8GHz, backed by 2GB of non-expandable RAM.

There’s 64GB for storage, which leaves you with 50GB of formatted, usable space. With around 9GB eaten by Windows 8 and essentials like Office, about 30GB is left to play with after making allowances for page file and hibernate. That’s not a huge amount, but do keep in mind that you can store media on a microSD card of up to another 64GB.

As to general performance, we weren’t allowed to do measurements on this Asus Vivo Tab as it’s pre-production and has not been optimised yet. However, based on subjective experiences and the other machines we’ve tested, it’s nothing to hold your breath about.

For graphs comparing performance of the Atom Z2760 (with identical RAM and storage to this machine) with the performance of a ‘regular’ laptop, check out our HP Envy x2 Windows 8 convertible review.

Light workloads like average daily productivity, HD video and browsing will be fine, and most apps from the Windows Store will run perfectly. However, try to do much with HD video playing in the background, go beyond a dozen tabs in multiple browsers – in fact, any kind of intensive multi-tasking - and the system slows to the point of becoming unusable.

Anyone hoping that the Clover Trail chips would lend themselves for a bit of light 3D gaming will also be very disappointed. Even older titles at minimum detail settings will often refuse to run.

In other words, when used as intended the Asus Vivo Tab is a joy, otherwise it’s a pig. Keep in mind though that, while it’s certainly true that you can get better-performing laptops than this convertible for far less money, none of them will offer up to 19hrs of battery life, a Wacom stylus, a high-quality IPS screen, and the convenience of such a convertible form factor.

Asus Vivo Tab - Battery

Wow. When Asus claimed up to 19hrs of battery life, we thought it might be a little… optimistic, as Windows machine manufacturers so often are. However, our tests bore out these claims and then some. In fact, the Asus Vivo Tab managed a whopping 19hrs and 37minutes in light productivity, while throwing a little video into the mix brought this down to just under 17hrs from the combined 50Wh battery capacity of the tablet and dock. Asus claims 10hrs for the 30Wh battery in the tablet alone, and again this gelled nicely with our numbers.

Battery (40 percent screen brightness, mixed productivity and web-browsing)

10 hours 25 minutes (tablet only)

19 hours 37 minutes (tablet plus dock)

Finally, we have Windows X86 machines that can beat the best Android and iOS devices when it comes to battery life - without additional battery slices that make them thicker than a gaming laptop and weightier than a handbag full of bricks.

Asus Vivo Tab - Price

While the Vivo Tab RT is now readily available in the UK, its bigger brother is not. In the US that’s a different story, and there the Vivo Tab with dock will set you back around $800. Based on that, we can probably expect to see a Vivo Tab UK price of around £750 for this convertible tablet with dock.

Update: since time of writing at the beginning of the year, the Vivo Tab TF810C is now in stock from £700 online.

If this holds true, that’s coming dangerously close to the price of powerful Core i5 convertibles like the £900 Toshiba Satellite U920t, but this Asus offers better build quality, an arguably better clamshell design, and of course faaar longer battery life. With Windows X86 (which can’t run on ARM architecture) we seem to be caught at an unenviable choice: do you go for good performance, or good battery life?

A more direct rival is the 10.1-inch Acer Iconia W510 laptop/tablet, which is available with dock for just under £500. This smaller convertible uses plastic rather than metal and foregoes the Wacom stylus, while its smaller dimensions also give less battery life and result in a rather cramped keyboard that’s not nearly as nice to type on. However, it shares identical specs and an IPS screen with the same resolution, and offers a unique fully rotating hinge, making it a great value alternative.

Then there’s the Samsung Ativ Smart PC 500T1C, which is an almost identical machine to the TF810C. The same specs, size, Wacom capabilities, price - and the list goes on. The Ativ integrates its smaller, eraser-less S-Pen stylus, has a microUSB port on the tablet, and offers optional 3G/4G. However, its plastic build can’t match the metal-clad Asus, and claimed battery life for the tablet plus keyboard combo is significantly less. We’ll be sure to let you know which one wins out once we get the Ativ Smart PC for a full review.


The Asus Vivo Tab TF810C is probably the best Atom-based Windows 8 convertible tablet/laptop we’ve looked at and, if you can live with its limited specs, the hybrid we would most recommend. Its beautiful IPS screen goes brighter than those of rivals, it’s nicely designed, offers good usability, and a full-size Wacom stylus. It also leads the pack when it comes to battery life, as it lasts up to a whopping 19 hours on a charge.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 10
  • Design 8
  • Features 9
  • Performance 6
  • Screen Quality 8
  • Value 8


December 16, 2012, 6:27 pm

wats the difference btwn asus vivo tab and the taichi..
which one is the besst??

Juraj Balaško

January 15, 2013, 10:46 pm

There is NO pressure sensitivity and NO Wacom driver for it available!


January 21, 2013, 2:45 pm

Sorry for the tardy reply.

The Vivo Tab is a detachable slate running Atom with 2GB of RAM and 64GB of storage that offers nearly 20hrs battery life and costs around £700. It also offers a Wacom stylus.

The Taichi is a 'proper' laptop (Core i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD etc) with 1080p IPS non-touch screen, and a second 1080p IPS touch display in its lid which becomes a 'tablet' when you close the laptop. Its battery life will likely be between 5 to 7 hrs and it will cost well over £1000. Its N-trig stylus is pressure sensitive but not quite as good.

Check out more details on the Taichi here: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Which one is best depends on your needs and budget. Hope that helps :)


January 21, 2013, 2:48 pm

Thanks for your comment. However, pressure sensitivity worked fine on our model and, worst case scenario, you should be able to use a generic driver.

Might be an obvious question, but did the software you were using support pressure-sensitivity? More details on your experience would be very helpful.

Bill S.

January 27, 2013, 12:34 am

Where can you get another stylus?

KC Miller

February 1, 2013, 4:55 pm

Hi folks,

can anyone using this device tell me whether or not
it can be set to a 180 degrees angle when in docked mode? that is to
mean can you flip the "monitor" open and push it all the way down so
that it is even with the keyboard?

Thanks for an answer and for your effort!KC


February 12, 2013, 4:42 pm

I'd like to know the answer to this as well, but since he did not mention it in the review (cause that would be a killer feature) I fear it will not bend all the way back... But I don't own one so I can't say for sure...


February 15, 2013, 5:13 pm

No you can't.


February 18, 2013, 3:07 pm

Does the asus have the wacom pressure sensitive stylus bundles with it (as the test one), if not, can anyone help me with the exact model, or purchase link of wacom pen used in the test?
Thank you

John van der Laan

February 18, 2013, 5:29 pm

yes it comes with a Wacom stylus. Pressure sensitive? Not sure. I have been using the stylus on the Vivo Tab 810c quite a bit but have not noticed pressure sensitivity nor seen settings for it in apps. The stylus is tracked as it approaches the surface.
When it comes to handwriting to text conversion this is the best I've used (have tried 7 other similar functionality on Android and iOs).

John van der Laan

February 18, 2013, 5:50 pm

so according to the "Trusted Review" article the included Wacom stylus is pressure sensitive (should have finished reading before I commented). They do not comment on how good it works.

Juraj Balaško

February 19, 2013, 11:33 am

Well, some more tests showed there is GENERIC pressure sensitivity driver/support. It works quite well, although processor is not up to the task in serious apps (Photoshop etc.). And one can enable/disable touch support (while working with the pen) with workaround in Windows Device manager... not ideal but works! I returned the device in the end, its seriously overpriced atm. See my video: http://youtu.be/3M1SJWPCdas

Juraj Balaško

February 19, 2013, 11:53 am

Well yes, more testing revealed, there is generic driver for pressure sensitivity support - works quite good, although the Intel Atom processor is not up to the task in serious applications like Adobe Photoshop. One can enable/disable the touch support in Windows Device manager to overcome interference while working with the digital pen. It's a workaround, but it works. In the end, I returned the device because I found it heavily overpriced for its performance. General experience/not task intensive use was quite a pleasure.

Neon Zeon

March 2, 2013, 10:31 am

This device has inherit problems... After the latest windows update in January, 2013 the touch pad develops a ghost finger which constantly holds in place... This can range from anywhere from one of the touch points to all five rendering many of the touch features useless on this device... My Vivotab broke almost immediately with this software update and to date they still can't identify the software issue... Even after a full factory reset the problem returns with the windows update...

Imran Butt

March 5, 2013, 10:58 am

You need to download the latest asus updates and it should fix this issue.

Mark Krebs

March 8, 2013, 2:26 pm

I bought this and I'm very happy. Wanted surface pro but decided battery life and the kickstand were killers. I acually use my laptop on my lap and so I think a real hinge with friction is key. The computer has run everything just fantastic. I'm an engineer so that means (surprisingly?) I have low processor needs: playing movies is much more challenging than aerodynamics. Anyway, earlier generations of Atom processors weren't quite up to it but this one is. I don't have any need right now for more CPU and all day battery life is really great. I love my thinkpad because of the eraser-mouse and have trouble typing without hitting the touchpad with my palm: a fancier driver there (with a landing keep-out area) would be appreciated. Literally everything else is great: best computer ever.

Adam Christoffer Duus-Boolsen

March 14, 2013, 9:41 am

"...it's arguably not the best-looking convertible tablet around, with that title currently held by the (more expensive and less well-featured) HP Envy x2"

It might be less well-featured, but where I'm living, the Envy x2 is slightly cheaper than the Vivo Tab 11.6" WITHOUT a keyboard dock; if you want it with a keyboard dock, the Vivo is at least 25% more expensive...


March 26, 2013, 6:00 pm

I have a quick question for you. I am looking at getting either a VivoTab or VivoBook for use on vacation just to be able to browse my photos in Adobe Bridge and roughly adjust them in Photoshop. How disappointing was this tablet/computer in Photoshop? I have a desktop at home, so I don't need something that is super fast, just something small and cheap, and I like the idea of it being a tablet option too. Thanks for any help you can offer.


March 26, 2013, 6:30 pm

I am looking at getting either the VivoTab, or the VivoBook. I mainly want it to use when travelling. The only programs I really need to store and use on it are Adobe Bridge and Photoshop. I don't need it to be super fast, as I have a desktop computer at home, and I plan to use an external hard drive to dump photos on. I just need it to be able to browse photos, and maybe rough the occasional photo in a little.

Frank Crawford

March 28, 2013, 12:16 pm

Not a big fan Wi-Fi is very very limited and internet useless away from router no more then 20ft. I'm on the go and this is bad for what I paid for it and would not recommend it and I'm probably going to send it back and buy something else some where else,

Frank Crawford

March 28, 2013, 12:22 pm

It seems to be good for that stuff just Wi-Fi isn't strong enough.

PNeral Candedeir

July 2, 2013, 8:58 am

Sorry to interrupt, with smartphones internet connection wifi hotspots should not be a problem.

Mark Martin

July 14, 2013, 12:48 am

Should I get a VIVO laptop x202E or this VIVO TAB? both are touch screen but laptop of course is not detachable. I will use it for photoshop and for taking pics. Can somebody give me an advice?


September 14, 2013, 12:58 pm

With window's surface pro it is possible to draw in a PDF or PowerPoint is it possible with the Asus Vivo book as well or does it only work in the Asus note program?


September 28, 2013, 9:57 am

Vivo tab TF810 would NOT recommend .Crashed twice LOST EVERY THING I wonder how long before the next total rebuild. It's just a toy

comments powered by Disqus