Asus RT-AC68U AC1900 802.11ac router pictures

1 of 10 pictures

Hover to zoom

Asus RT-AC68U 2
Asus RT-AC68U

10 Pictures - Asus RT-AC68U AC1900 802.11ac router

Enlarge
  • Asus RT-AC68U
  • Asus RT-AC68U 2
  • AC68U
  • Asus RT-AC68U setup
  • Asus RT-AC68U AiCloud
  • Asus RT-AC68U wireless ac
  • Asus RT-AC68U 5GHz
  • Asus RT-AC68U 2.4GHz
  • Asus RT-AC68U USB
  • ac 2

Nash

September 18, 2013, 12:59 pm

When will this become available. Any insights here??

Gordon Kelly

September 18, 2013, 2:31 pm

I'm told it will be at the start of October, but that some units may slip out to retailers before then.

Waqar Zia

September 19, 2013, 10:20 am

I'm curious as to why USB-attached HDD performs way slower than a NAS; does this means that the router's USB interface hardware is the culprit, and is it the case also with other routers?

Blerk

September 19, 2013, 2:21 pm

No cloud based config/setup? For anyone that actually cares about their network security, that's a huge plus.

Guest

September 19, 2013, 5:41 pm

No cloud is actually a plus!

AccordXTC

September 19, 2013, 8:43 pm

I take it this doesn't wall mount like the AC66U does. I'd like to upgrade but need it to wall mount.

andy

September 19, 2013, 10:38 pm

is it bcm4709 or bcm4708?

I read somewhere else it is bcm4708

Gavin Martin

September 20, 2013, 9:43 am

My crappy sky-issue Netgear seems to have died overnight and needs immediate replacement....would I be disappointed with the AC66u since the AC68 isn't available yet? Thinking of making a long term purchase here....or is the Linksys 6700 a better bet?

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 9:50 am

No it doesn't. That is a downside of the design change.

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 9:50 am

Depends on your perspective and needs. Despite its controversial launch I've found Linksys' Smart WiFi to be incredibly useful.

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 9:51 am

See above.

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 9:52 am

There are numerous factors, but a lack of horsepower for properly caching the more resource intensive USB and powering the external drives themselves is certainly a factor. The former is clearly improving with the AC68U though and that can be seen from these speed results

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 9:53 am

Given you speak of a long term investment I'd wait the extra few weeks required. The AC66U is also a superb router, but when its successor just so close to market I think you'll that'll always grate should you buy the AC66U now.

Gavin Martin

September 20, 2013, 9:55 am

I've also realised - I'd need a separate DSL modem. So no snap decisions for today, I'm stuck using my HTC One Wifi Hotspot for now! It's been a few years since I bought any networking stuff so need to do my research! On another note I looked at what PC World are stocking and they don't seem to have any up to date routers - no wonder retail struggles when they can't stock new tech!

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 10:23 am

4709, as mentioned in the review ;)

Gordon Kelly

September 20, 2013, 10:24 am

You could say the same about networks and iPhone stock...!

But you're right to do your research. The Linksys EA6900 should be one to watch, but I recognise some dislike its Smart WiFi Cloud platform.

schriss

September 20, 2013, 11:24 am

This is my next router.

misterbee

September 22, 2013, 5:57 am

Is WIRED performance any faster than on the Asus RT-N66U?

Jüri Pranstibel

September 22, 2013, 10:34 am

Is it wall-mountable?

Slade

September 23, 2013, 2:58 am

Unlikely.

Did ASUS put a small fan in this one? The AC66U runs pretty hot and standing it up may help but a fan would really help.

Gordon Kelly

September 23, 2013, 10:39 pm

Nope. That is a downside

Gordon Kelly

September 23, 2013, 10:40 pm

No faster over wired - we're at the limits of Gigabit Ethernet rather than the limits of the routers.

There's no fan and the 68U runs fine, though I also had no problems with the 66U running hot.

Xanth77

September 23, 2013, 11:34 pm

How did you get your review unit so early? I don't see any other reviews yet, good job!

11acstar

September 24, 2013, 2:42 am

The figure of 47.2 MBps (377.6 Mbps) is impressive in one sense, but on the other hand is only 29% of the maximum theoretical rate for 3x3 11ac (1300 Mbps).
Normally we would expect around 70% efficiency - so do you have any idea why this is so low?
At 2m the SNR should be high enough to support the maximum MCS, but maybe the line-of-sight MIMO channel can't support 3 spatial streams? Did you check the bit rate reported by the client (in Status)?

sebna

September 24, 2013, 9:24 pm

Hi, Will it support 3g dongle as internet source - once of the selling points of ac66u was this features.

Thanks, great review BTW

comments powered by Disqus