Asus Padfone 2 video review

evan kypreos

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Asus Padfone 2 review

Asus has made remarkable improvements for the second generation of its unique smartphone/tablet duo. The PadFone 2 itself is now a thing of beauty both inside and out, with the specs to match or beat the best smartphones on the market. Every inch of it looks and feels premium, and even as a standalone phone it’s an enticing entrant.

More Mobile Phone Videos

schriss

October 16, 2012, 5:40 pm

It probably doesn't have Full HD screen because it would then compete with Transformer Infinity.
Still, it seems to be perfect choice for me. It's what I wanted - to have a bigger screen for my phone, which is still the one and only device I want to continue using.

TechVegan

October 17, 2012, 2:58 pm

The lack of Full HD screen is also to keep the price down and preserve battery life.

Indeed, with you on the bigger screen for phone thing - personally really miss a keyboard option though.

gdawg304

October 17, 2012, 3:23 pm

Now if they'd just sell the phone without the tablet, at a cheaper price....the handset sounds like a real S3 and iPhone 5 beater (the latter feels like a toy in the hand, bring back glass and stainless steel!).

jsg

October 17, 2012, 9:37 pm

Think this Padfone is rather pointless. Buy a regular android and ASUS Transformer which would probably be cheaper. What I would want is a cheap £100 tablet shell that fits my phone. So that all the tablet consists of is a screen, charging battery and maybe a graphics card and my phone does the rest. Why doesn't ASUS make that?

epony

October 17, 2012, 10:38 pm

Seeing as it's got Bluetooth 4.0, is there any reason why I wouldn't be able to sync it with an wireless keyboard?

TechVegan

October 18, 2012, 9:39 pm

They might well do, it was hinted that the phone might be sold seperately in the UK - and yes, specs and features-wise it totally beats the iPhone 5/Galaxy S3.

TechVegan

October 18, 2012, 9:43 pm

"Buy a regular android and ASUS Transformer which would probably be cheaper." No it wouldn't, not for these kind of specs.

Plus it does have its advantages: both together weigh less than an iPad, you only need one data contract, everything merges flawlessly so you never need to sync anything or re-download apps/savegames/etc...

"So that all the tablet consists of is a screen, charging battery and maybe a graphics card and my phone does the rest."
That IS EXACTLY what the PadStation is, barring the graphics card which is already as good as it gets on an ARM platform... were you referring to one that would fit any phone?

TechVegan

October 18, 2012, 9:44 pm

No reason whatsoever dear reader.
In fact, Asus may well bring out a keyboard folio case further down the line...

john g

October 19, 2012, 12:26 am

I think it's interesting to watch convergence at work - almost like natural selection! I'd always seen tablets as devices for data consumers, whilst data producers would go for a laptop or netbook. Now the distinction between these two fundamentally different sorts of uses is blurring, thanks to devices like these.

Is the omission of a keyboard so catastrophic if the device will work with a Bluetooth keyboard? For me, that wouldn't matter hugely - I suspect the biggest practical difficulty would be the lack of a kick-stand to hold the tablet on a table at the correct angle for viewing.

schriss

October 19, 2012, 1:30 pm

You missed the point of this innovation completely. If I had use for Transformer Infinity, I would already have it, or any of the Galaxy Tabs. But this Padfone 2 - that's exactly what I want. I want to put my phone into bigger screen with a battery and use it like a tablet, then in the morning take it out and go to work with just the phone.

Powerful

October 19, 2012, 7:44 pm

A number of companies already make bluetooth keyboard cases with kickstands for iPad and others... I suspect it won't be long before they get one sorted for this.

Now all I want is one with a couple of sd card slots built in.

Looking forward to heaving the whole lot to my head when the phone rings!

TechVegan

October 22, 2012, 2:27 pm

"I think it's interesting to watch convergence at work" - very true, I think the convergence we're now seeing between laptop and tablet is one of the most interesting developments in the tech world atm.

As to the keyboard base like on the original Padfone - don't forget that it was not JUST a keyboard, but also increased connectivity and battery life...

As to kickstand, there will be one coming out from Asus.

jsg

October 23, 2012, 6:02 pm

Actually you're right. I thought that the tablet was an Android device on it's own. 650 pounds is about the price of a galaxy s3 + a nexus 7, if they brought the price down I would be interested. Thanks for correcting me.

Rory

June 25, 2013, 3:09 am

how can "Can only use one device at a time" be a con, it's one device not 2

combe

June 29, 2013, 8:56 pm

Hi guys! I'd like to take this phone.
The phone look really nice.
But, I will take just a phone, without station.

Can you tell me, is it good choice?
Is phone products heating problems or bad performance??
I see on net, many people complain on camera dust?

Thanks guys!

User996

May 22, 2014, 4:26 pm

if you haven't taken something else yet phone is very solid and it'svery good other than camera dust problem. but for this model (padfone 2) you can't take just phone, it is 2in1 set

comments powered by Disqus