Read the full Asus G73Jh-TZ008V review

The Asus G73Jh is an excellent desktop replacement gaming laptop. It offers sleek and rugged good looks, comfortable ergonomics, whisper-quiet operation, very good specs for the price and an above-average aural and visual experience. Best of all, thanks to the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 it uses, it performs admirably in games. It's not quite the perfect gaming laptop, but it's a damn good one and just sneaks a recommendation.

More Laptop Videos


June 12, 2010, 1:21 pm

An F117 is only about the size of a fighter aircraft. Now a B2 well that's a bit different!

Nice design though as its a gaming laptop but is very understated, well at least compared to an alienware! Shame there's no backlit keyboard.


June 12, 2010, 3:23 pm

On the first page, it says that there it is a blue-backlit keyboard.

I like the fact that this is a gaming laptop, that doesn't have any skulls or too many LEDs.


June 13, 2010, 12:56 pm

Probably a bit out the loop here, but if battery life is still this dire with in a laptop this big and heavy, which necessitates always being connected to a power source anyway, shouldn't the market be approaching this from the other angle and trying to miniaturise all-in-one PCs instead? Maybe it sounds stupid with more 'pieces' to carry but if they included like a little luggage-style case rather than a rucksack, that might be a better compromise. In the end, it seems the user just wants to be able to stash away one vaguely tidy, transportable item, so perhaps the desktop is a better starting off point, as the laptop form factor, no matter how big, doesn't allow enough thickness for the required graphics card and cooling components. Does this approach exist much?

Denis iii

June 14, 2010, 11:45 am

so tell me, why should I buy in the UK rather then import from that states all in for £1400+-?

Please explain why I'm paying 400quid more for a £ symbol on the keyboard.


June 14, 2010, 2:03 pm


Indeed, as Jesper pointed out, I mention in the review that this laptop DOES have a backlit keyboard (though the pictures don't show it). I agree with both of you about the appeal of the understated look, it's what I would want in a gaming machine.


A good point. With the constantly increasing popularity of AIO systems, I'm sure a manufacturer will bring out a gaming model at some stage (there's already a few coming to market that will at least play the latest titles, even if they might not handle Crysis at full detail).

Also 'hardcore' SFF (Mini-ITX-based) gaming systems seem to be slowly gaining in popularity (keep an eye out for reviews soon).


Much as I would like to say there's a good reason...

-Oh, I remembered: there's the larger Enter key ;)

Denis iii

June 15, 2010, 5:09 pm


as much as I'm pissed off at Asus for jacking up the UK price your larger Enter key comment made my day lol they must be very expensive to manufacture


June 15, 2010, 9:55 pm


Glad to hear it :D

Indeed - I wonder if they're even making any profit off the £400 after deducting the extra manufacturing cost of that larger Enter key...


March 19, 2013, 11:47 pm

This laptop has one huge flaw - it overheats something terrible and needs taking apart about every 18 months or less to have coolling gell renewed on the CPU otherwise it will constanly overheat and crash = major design flaw. Pity as this is a nice looking and running laptop otherwise. Yes you can run games on it - but it is not in a safe long term gaming rig.

Connor Stott

June 26, 2013, 4:27 pm

I ended up buying this laptop from Newegg and keep in mind this is refurbished. I have not had any problems with it overheating at all. Over all it has been a awesome laptop that has been keeping up with new high end laptop's. For $900 i think it was a hell of a deal.

Cons: the size of it is at times inconvenient but i knew this when i was buying it.

comments powered by Disqus