1 of 15 pictures

Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook

15 Pictures - Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook

  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Asus Eee PC 1008HA - 10in Netbook
  • Eee PC 1008HA-WHI012X 25.7 cm 10.1" Netbook - Atom N280 1.66 GHz - White (1024 x 600 WSVGA Display - 1 GB RAM - 160 GB HDD - Bluetooth - Webcam - Windows XP Home - 6 Hour Battery)
 

blyndy

May 7, 2009, 8:55 am

What's with the large bulge in the keyboard?

Steve

May 7, 2009, 12:11 pm

Unless I missed it in the review, no integrated HSDPA? Not that I am in the market for a Netbook, but I couldn't even consider one without that!

robnew

May 7, 2009, 1:58 pm

The 3 things I want from a Netbook (and I am in the market for one!) Good battery life / up to 1366 x 768 pixel resolution / and integrated HSDPA. Thought my wishes were answered by the Acer Aspire One 751 then Pocket-Lint reviewed it... 'it is a nightmare to live with' (be great to see you guys review it though!). So, am now really tempted by 1008HA on portability and looks alone. Still no perfect Netbook out there as far as I can see.

Neil B

May 7, 2009, 3:41 pm

@Robnew & Steve





It has bluetooth, your phone has bluetooth, use your phone as a modem. So long as you don't take the proverbial your telco won't notice. I don't understand why people want HSDPA in there netbook, I already have a contract and a data tariff for my phone, I don't want to have another SIM card and contract for my computer too. Or am I missing the point?

TheLostSwede

May 7, 2009, 3:52 pm

So, since you didn't mention the chipset, I guess we have to presume it's the 945GSE rather than the GN40 then?

Andy Vandervell

May 7, 2009, 4:12 pm

TheLostSwede - that is correct.

Luan Bach

May 7, 2009, 4:31 pm

Build one with the new low voltage core2 in it and I'll buy one.

smc8788

May 7, 2009, 4:47 pm

@ Luan Bach - You mean the very same ULV Core 2 CPU that costs 6 times as much as the Atom and draws 4 times as much power? Well sure, that sounds great, but it sure as hell wouldn't be classed as a netbook.

TheLostSwede

May 7, 2009, 5:35 pm

@Neil





The thing is that Bluetooth isn't fast enough for full speed HSDPA at 7.2Mbit, although Bluetooth 3.0 might change that.

Luan Bach

May 7, 2009, 6:17 pm

@smc8788


Yup, it's also far faster. I rather like the 1008HA design, not the performance.

Chris

May 7, 2009, 8:47 pm

@Swede, not that a 'real-world' HSDPA connection is ever getting you anywhere near 7.2 Mbps... Bluetooth 2.1 EDR should transfer around 2 Mbps, so there's still a potential bottleneck there. Hopefully Bluetooth 3.0 will kill all these annoying dongles and second SIM cards stone dead.

duhawifi

May 7, 2009, 10:05 pm

Does the ram and hd seem upgradable? I want to use a netbook as a desktop with external monitor etc but still waiting for an ion netbook...

basicasic

May 7, 2009, 10:10 pm

I just don't think I could bring myself to pay £370 for it even if it had gold knobs on.

Xiphias

May 7, 2009, 10:43 pm

@Neil: You have to remember that not all of us have £300 smartphones with built in bluetooth and modem capability. Having built in HSDPA would allow you to stick £10 pay as you go credit on it when going on holiday so you could check on nearby places of interest.

jopey

May 8, 2009, 12:03 am

HDMI, HSDPA, some kind of GPU (eg. ION), 720p screen, 2GB RAM, 6 cell battery, Windows 7 ready... £300. SOLD.





You can get a full size dual core 17inch latop for £350 now. How the hell are netbooks the same price?

Andy0d2

May 8, 2009, 1:34 pm

Video review?

Geoff Richards

May 8, 2009, 2:00 pm

@Andrew - video review will follow next week.

Chris

May 8, 2009, 7:42 pm

@jopey - Thay're small and shiny :) Netbook pricing made more sense when we were still talking <£200.





Also, where did you find a 17 inch dual-core for £350?

Andy0d2

May 8, 2009, 8:00 pm

Thanks geoff I can't wait!

jopey

May 8, 2009, 11:36 pm

@Chris It was at PCworld "Compaq CQ70-211 Entertainment Laptop" No doubt it's not amazing. But it's still a lot of computer equipment for the money. Netbook's processors, boards, screens, batteries and so on are all meant to be cheaper than full size parts. Plus there's no optical drives. I don't see how they are so expensive, it doesn't add up. You can get a pretty good small laptop for £400. Netbooks should half that much. Hell a Dell studio laptop with a dedicated (good) 256MB GPU starts at just over £400.

Chupakun

May 11, 2009, 3:22 am

If I were to use my phone as a modem via USB, would I get good transfer rates?





This netbook sounds mighty impressive but that pricing is rather prohibitive I'd have to say. If we're inching towards £400 territory, might as well jump up to a notebook.

Chupakun

May 11, 2009, 4:50 am

Sorry about the double post but I've got a few more questions:





1) In general, does getting an SSD for a netbook justify the drop in space/rise in costs? From what I understand, since we can't really tax these machines, the speeds wouldn't make a difference. But what about durability?





2) I'm a big fan of the keyboards on a Macbook/VAIO and was wondering if any other netbooks, sans the 1008HA and 1000HE, offered this sort of keyboard?





3) Worth getting a refurb-ed netbook? I still find the pricing to be far less economical compared to standard laptops.

Ohmz

May 11, 2009, 8:49 am

10...9...8...7...9...





C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!! :)

TechVegan

May 11, 2009, 9:17 pm

@Ohmz:


Haha :), we know, but it just didn't quite deserve a six.

blyndy

May 12, 2009, 7:32 am

This is one of only two Eee's that I have liked. Unfortunately the mini-VGA adapter is not acceptable for me as I need easy access to my VGA-out about once or twice per week. Hopefully the Asus T101H has a proper VGA-out and an accessible battery.

comments powered by Disqus