Home / Computing / Laptop / Asus Eee PC 1005PE - 10.1in Netbook

Asus Eee PC 1005PE - 10.1in Netbook review

Ardjuna Seghers

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

Ever since the original netbook, the Asus Eee PC 701, debuted way back in 2007, netbooks have been flying off shelves at a rate of knots. Despite this success, however, the only notable hardware innovation has been nVidia's scarcely utilised ION chipset. Intel has finally done something about this in releasing its new netbook chipset, codenamed Pine Trail, and the Asus Eee PC 1005PE is one of first netbooks to utilise it.

We'll get into the finer details of Pine Trail later, but first let's take a closer look at the chassis. Anyone familiar with the Asus Eee PC 1008HA, the first 'Seashell' themed Eee PC, will recognise the similarities in the 1005PE and it's a design we really like. Despite there being so much choice these days, on looks alone the clean lines of the 1005PE put it close to the top - even if the removable battery means it lacks the slimness of the 1008HA.

At 1.3kg, the 1005PE is a couple of hundred grams heavier as well, but that's about what you'd expect from a 10in netbook with a six-cell battery. Being thicker also negates the need for flaps covering the ports, which is arguably more convenient anyway.

Even with all these changes, however, the 1005PE still retains the same look and feel, including the glossy, high-maintenance finish. This probably works best on the white version we have, where its black bezel contrasts dramatically with the white body. It doesn't reveal fingerprints and grease as readily as the black version might, either.

A chiclet keyboard and the seamlessly integrated touchpad complete the classy look, which is further enhanced by matching faux-chrome buttons for power, the instant-on Express Gate OS and the touchpad. Build Quality is also very strong, with little sign of creak or flex, though for better or worse it does lack the toy-like ruggedness of the original Eee PC.

It's just a shame connectivity remains so basic. We wouldn't call an HDMI output a must-have on a netbook, but it is a 'nice to have' and is totally absent on the 1005PE. As such you’re still stuck with good old analogue VGA here, which is joined by three USB ports, a memory card reader, headphone and microphone jacks and an Ethernet port - i.e. the same connections as on the original Eee PC!

davef

February 9, 2010, 1:16 pm

Going to be a pedant. First sentence: wasn't the first netbook the Asus 700/701 back in late 2007?

Ed

February 9, 2010, 1:58 pm

You're quite right. Not sure how that one got through editing. Have updated.

GoldenGuy

February 9, 2010, 2:29 pm

I don't intend to be a not a netbook owner, but I can see the appeal. And that 250GB worth of storage does put the MacBook Pro's rather stingy 160GB into perspective for a £900 computer.

Stelph

February 9, 2010, 2:29 pm

Glad that the HP mini 311c got a mention, I have one and its a great little netbook handling video playback, gaming using the "last generation" games like Medievil 2:Total war, Half life 2 ect and the screen, keyboard and build quality is excellent. However this Asus does does beat the HP by including Windows 7 (XP on HP unfortunatly) and by having a large Hard Drive (160GB to 250GB) and by having a shorter battery life, but still I would recommend the HP Mini to anyone, £300 direct from HP and if you get lucky when they are doing a sale you could nab one for £250 like I did! :-)

betelgeus

February 9, 2010, 2:45 pm

has anyone in the world ever used vga or hdmi out on a netbook? ive never even used it on my main laptops.





dont like the way its hinged

Andy0d2

February 9, 2010, 3:59 pm

On a real laptop you don't need it but because their so small you need a bigger screen if your working on one for about an hour or more in one go as it will strain your eyes. @ Goldenguy you pay for the OS, a nice case ( about £500 ) and battery life. IMO macs are nicely rounded laptops but are about £200 overpriced. Pretty much identical (not battery life) laptops can be had for under £400 (if talking about the 15'').

morsch

February 9, 2010, 7:37 pm

Huh? People use the video out all the time. Lots of student use netbooks at university, they are powerful enough to do presentations with. And if you connect your netbook to a 20-24" display and maybe a USB hub with a mouse and keyboard, you've suddently got a device (albeit slow) much more suited for prolongued browsing and media consumption. The former unfortunately requires VGA, the latter looks MUCH better with a digital connection like DVI and HDMI.

Paul 12

June 17, 2010, 1:02 am

I actually own an Asus 1005PE- and I'm using it right now to type this comment.





People seem to easily forget what the netbook concept is about- mobile computing. Size and weight is important, and the 1005PE scores well on both fronts- I use this computer all around the house, on trains, on planes and in meetings and tutorials. Battery life is fabulous ! There are a number of energy saving options- both the standard windows power profile, settings in the graphics properties, screen brightness and also processor speed- I regularly manage more than full work-days with this netbook.





I'm not interested in gaming or HD video playback- these are not really relevant considerations for a netbook review.





True, this is not the cheapest netbook- but the 1005P has the same basic spec but with smaller HDD and no bluetooth- and it still comes with WIN7 and it's a bit cheaper than the 1005PE.

comments powered by Disqus