Apple MacBook 13in White (MC240B/A) - Feature Table

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

GoldenGuy

July 10, 2009, 9:14 am

Hmm, tad harsh - though £709 was more palatable, wasn't it. Bear in mind however, that the top end 17-incher doesn't sport an SD slot (yet). I feel ambivalent about this, as I wouldn't mind one so long as it was made to be flush. It's a bit clumsy the now.

GoldenGuy

July 10, 2009, 9:16 am

*Sorry, it was £719 before, right? And just saying it now, it's still an annoying price!

ilovethemonkeyhead

July 10, 2009, 12:23 pm

insurance wrote off my dv3507 and gave me this instead.





nice - but actually the biggest downer is the box doesn't include any video adapters anymore.

Barry Ward

July 10, 2009, 12:48 pm

My wife and I both bought one of these white Macbooks, and I simply cannot recommend them at all. Firstly, I agree with the review that the audio volume is just far too low to watch/listen to media on it. I use to have to connect external speakers to mine when watching films/tv shows- that's how bad they are. Also, the white does stain after a period of use- yes, stain. Especially where you rest your wrists next to the touchpad. And there's hardly anything that works, having tried various products advised on the net. The top piece of plastic where you rest your wrist can even crack along the edge, like it did with mine. Okay, I used mine every single day, but they should be built for constant heavy use, surely.


I bought a Macbook Pro and haven't looked back. MUCH better quality design. No stains, no cracks, LOUD volume which still surprises me sometimes.


In closing- anyone after a Macbook should skip this, and save up for a Pro- plain and simple.

Ben

July 10, 2009, 2:00 pm

The Macbook does need to be cheaper. But then I suppose a lot of people buying them will qualify for student discount of somewhere up to 15%. I think they're pretty amazing machines, but damn do they look tatty after a few years when bits of plastic start cracking and falling off around the wrist areas! Anyone considering one of these should very seriously consider the 13" MBP instead.

Hamish Campbell

July 10, 2009, 2:10 pm

Second button is not really so important, I just use two finger tap on the touch pad.





I've got one from before uni body came along and you are spot on with this review. Heating up and fan when doing video, otherwise quiet. Screen angles poor and struggles with light. Plus mine has already a good dent in the corner and lines of plastic have cracked off where the lid closes and rests.





Other than that its perky as you say and has been a revolation for me and the wife moving from Windows. The cost was a fair bit to stomach but I must say for the experience and joy of using it we've been very happy.





I'd love one of the unibody ones now, only wish I could justify it to my cheap scottish inner ancestor.

Keithe6e

July 10, 2009, 3:54 pm

Yeah, save up for the unibody. I dropped my unibody version from about 4 foot onto hard laminate flooring, not a scratch, I've a feeling if I'd done the same with the white one there would be a big long crack in the case now.

BOFH UK

July 10, 2009, 4:06 pm

I had a white MB a couple of years ago and suffered from the cracking problem. It was repaired under Applecare but the reason really surprised me. Apparently the issue is with the lid - the small plastic ridges that hold the lid away from the base when the laptop is closed are right over a section of the wrist rest that isn't braced internally. Over time it simply smashes the wrist rest to pieces and you can't close it gently enough owing to the magnetic latch. A design fault according to the genius that sorted mine and one that hasn't been addressed several years later.

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2009, 6:57 pm

Somebody posted on the MacBook Pro that Laskys is selling the Pro for £799.99 now. That is a stonking price: http://www.laskys.com/computin...

smc8788

July 10, 2009, 10:26 pm

@ Andy - In that case it's perhaps also worth noting the same spec 13" Pro is only £772.80 direct from Apple's HE store.





And I still wouldn't buy one.

comments powered by Disqus