Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / iPhone 5 / iOS 6 Interface and Usability

iPhone 5 Review - iOS 6 Interface and Usability

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

iPhone 5 - iOS 6.0 interface

Turn the iPhone 5 on and… well it all looks pretty familiar. If you’ve used an iPhone before you’ll be right at home here, particularly if you’ve already upgraded your old iPhone to iOS 6 or iOS 6.1. We won’t cover every one of the 200 new features of the new operating system here as we’ve already gone through most of them in our iOS6 review, but we’ll go through the basics.

The overall layout is the same as it has been for a long time. Grids of apps fill as many pages as needed, with each new page stacking to the right of the home one. Swipe left and you’ve got the quick search facility for looking up apps, contacts, emails and much more besides.

iPhone 5 2 iPhone 5 1

Tap the home button and it’ll close the app you’re in and take you back to the homescreen. Double tap and you can see all the apps you’ve got running, hold it down and Siri will be activated allowing you to speak your request to the phone, asking for directions, a good place to eat or to dictate a message.

Swipe down from the top edge of the screen and you’ve got a notifications tray that shows the weather at the top (tap to see more detail), stocks at the bottom, and all the various notifications about new emails, messages on Twitter or upcoming appointments in between.

iPhone 5

From the lock screen you can jump straight to the camera or a double tap will bring up the media controls.

We told you it was all very familiar.

On the one hand this is all very reassuring as it’s easy to get to grips with and simple to use day to day but equally it means Apple hasn’t addressed a host of classic bugbears. For instance the list of running apps doesn’t show thumbnails of what the app is doing, nor can you add widgets to the homescreens or handle notifications individually.

Compared to the customisation offered by Android, the social and cross-app integration by Windows Phone or the multi-tasking and messaging centric feel of BlackBerry 10, it still feels a bit behind the times.

So what has changed? We hear you cry. Well, one of the key tweaks is the addition of Facebook integration to accompany the existing Twitter support. You can now upload photos, web links and such like directly from the core apps. In fact sharing in general is easier with more options available on more apps. That said, it’s still not a patch on Windows Phone, Android or BlackBerry 10 on this front, with far less intertwining of different services.

Siri has also had an upgrade, with it now able to look up businesses here in the UK as well as football scores, making it far more useful for us brits.

iPhone 5 - iOS 6 Maps

Of course the big change catching all the headlines at the moment is Maps. Apple and Google have broken off their partnership that has existed for all previous iPhones so you no longer get GoogleMaps powered Maps, and the YouTube app has disappeared too. Instead Apple has created its own mapping solution in partnertship with TomTom amongst others.

iPhone 5 6 iPhone 5 7

It offers three key viewing modes, just like the maps app of old. So there’s a simple vector based sat-nav style version, a satellite image version and even a 3D view that looks like you’re in a computer game. The vector based maps are incredibly easy to use with super fast rendering and download times, while the satellite view is much like the Google version, if a little slower. Meanwhile the 3D view is quite brilliant, offering surprisingly realistic models of large chunks of major cities. You can spin the maps round with ease and being able to see the skyline makes it much easier to get your bearing.

Direction support is available for walking, transport and car travel, with turn-by-turn navigation on hand for the latter. These directions are pretty good, particularly with the 3D view in use, though there are no 3D buildings for the UK in this mode yet.

Also, it’s worth noting that like GoogleMaps, all the new maps services use maps that are downloaded on the fly so they constantly use up data and drain your battery.

iPhone 5 9 iPhone 5 8

However, while the maps have their plus points, they are seriously flawed. Landmarks are mislabelled, with the location either shown incorrectly or with old information used (long since defunct Woolworths and Our Price stores are still shown), large sections of maps have poor quality satellite imagery (the whole of Coventry is greyscale once you zoom in a bit) and some towns seem to be almost completely ignored in some views (Stratford and Warwick don’t seem to exist until you zoom right in). The service was really bad for this when it launched and though things have improved it's still way off the quality of GoogleMaps or Bing Maps on Windows Phone.

All that and you also miss out on Street View.

Thankfully Google has come out with a GoogleMaps app for iOS and not only is it better than Apple Maps but it's a big improvement over the previous Google-powered Maps app on iPhone. Not only does it have excellent satelite and map views but you also get street view, google earth and great directions. Also, there is improved usability thanks to a new easy zoom feature that saves you having to 'pinch to zoom'; instead double tap with one finger and swipe up and down to zoom in and out.

iPhone 5 3 iPhone 5 2

Another new feature is PassBook. This is a virtual way to store and manage tickets, boarding cards and coupons. You’ll be able to quickly and easily open up a virtual ticket ready for scanning or reading by the bloke on the door, saving you having to fumble through printouts or check through emails. It’s a nice enough idea, assuming companies start supporting it but currently the only supported service here in the UK is Lufthansa airlines.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

racey1979

September 13, 2012, 5:32 am

Wow, no comments from Apple haters? Amazing, won't be long though. In no rush to upgrade from my 4, will wait until its been out a while until I consider buying one. I'm glad they haven't made it any wider though, I find some of the new Android phones such as the SG3 way too big and wouldn't buy one for that reason. Not because I HATE Android btw

Iiee

September 13, 2012, 2:31 pm

Well then racey i better kick off the rage then!!! Seriously though another proprietary connector? Other than that no big surprises (not that we were expecting any). I wouldn't buy an iphone personally i don't like the design of the operating system which i feel has long since been surpassed in feel and flexibility by android (wasn't true a couple of years ago but is now). Then again i wouldn't buy the galaxy s3 either im holding out for a new nexus phone.

racey1979

September 13, 2012, 3:37 pm

Its no shock really that they have changed the connector and no shock they have used their own format rather than the industry standard. Apple have always done things their own way. £25 is steep for an adapter but eBay will be littered with £2 copies in no time. My only concern is how much support will it give the phone when placed on a speaker dock? Especially now the phone is taller. I think it could place a lot of strain on the tiny new connector.

Marcus H

September 13, 2012, 5:26 pm

It's not as if they bring new connectors out very often - the old one is ancient. There are adapters for USB mini and old style connectors, and those will start to spring up a low prices I am sure.

inconsistent

September 14, 2012, 5:28 pm

This article makes me laugh, look up any other smartphone review on the site (LG Optimus 4X for example) and you will see comments like 'thankfully the headphone socket is on the top' and you will see heaphone jack on bottom of the phone in the 'cons'. Apple however do exactly this and all of a sudden it's revolutionary and you should just try it because it actually makes sense. Just made me smile.

Ed

September 15, 2012, 12:28 am

Glad it made you smile rather than anything else. Niall was saying 'thankfully the headphone jack is on the top' in reference to some phones putting them on the side - not many these days but some still do. Top or bottom is fine but I was just pointing out in this article that not only is bottom not a bad thing but that it actually potentially makes even more sense.

marcuscus

September 15, 2012, 5:52 am

This is iPhone 4.1, not 5. No significant improvement from the previous version. It is quite evidente that Apple lost the momentum since Steve left the company

todd10

September 15, 2012, 6:27 pm

I`m an Apple hater. I just posted a joke on another section of TR iphone review. It sums up my feelings on all things Apple.
Q, How do you milk sheep ?
A, Bring out another iphone.

Oilburner1978

September 15, 2012, 6:47 pm

So basically no comment on the fact it is still a 2nd or 3rd choice smart phone due to the fact the new S3 will be 4g and this isnt. Funnily enough some of are interested in surfing the internet at speed - something this review did not cover at all - surprisingly....

I was really looking forward to the I5 coming out and upgrading to it, but now find myself in a quandry as to which smart phone to pick - none of them are perfect and sadly the I5 is looking 2nd best to the competition.

Martin 6

September 18, 2012, 12:54 pm

Another TR review proving that proof reading is a dying art! Hopefully one day digital content providers might start using them instead of just spell check.

DaveH

September 20, 2012, 5:20 am

When Android syncs with Outlook as easily as iOS does, maybe I'll switch.

funmat

September 22, 2012, 5:07 pm

Very classy phone - particularly like the new CPU which is more powerful than the GS3 quad core model and uses less power - as battery life is such a critical feature in a smartphone (and why Id never get a HTC). I think it should come with minimum 32gb built in - 16Gb is too stingy for the asking price. Apple can charge the asking price because people will pay it!! Ill stick with my Galaxy Note (bought new and sealed for £280 on ebay) because Android is alot cheaper and more rewarding to use. But if you have the cash to spend on an iphone (and many people working in London do) then you're getting a superb phone by the looks of it

CJ6699

September 23, 2012, 12:44 am

Just got my iPhone 5 and after a few hours of playing with it, I can honestly say its excellent! I've had an iPhone 4 since the release date back in 2010 so it's been a long wait. Phone feels good in my hand and the increase in screen length is very nice and noticeable (with compatible apps). The new "ear buds" are very impressive in my opinion (not that ill use them over my Bose ear phones) and will be a good back up set.

I have two very big gripes tho. 1, maps. It's a pretty poor effort from apple and I don't like that I've lost street view. I honesty hope google will be allowed to release the maps app because apples maps are no where near the standard of google yet. 2, dock adaptor! This should have been included with the phone! It's pathetic that apple are charging for an item that costs less than the ear buds and ten times more essential!! I have several docks that require the adaptor so there's no excuse for not giving it to us for free! It's not like apple need the money! Not sure Jobs would have done this!?

Fair score Ed! Awesome phone tho ;)

Bugblatter

September 23, 2012, 8:33 am

Headphone connectors are better on the bottom. My phone goes in my pocket head first.

It's something I always liked about my old Touch HD2. Now I use Bluetooth so it's irrelevant.

Bugblatter

September 23, 2012, 8:35 am

No, it's the iPhone 4SS ;o)

But yes, Apple is coasting on the value of its previous work. It's done nothing interesting since the iPhone 4.

gdawg304

September 23, 2012, 4:24 pm

@racey1979 - agree, I was considering the GS3 until I saw how big it was face to face. If they produced a phone with the same specs but a 4" screen form factor, I'd seriously consider jumping to Android. But the obsession seems to be flagship phones with jumbotron screens, which I find too big to hold (and I have decently sized manly hands, not tiny ones - guess phone size is very subjective)

@todd10 - saw that on yahoo questions. funny stuff - the best is the Samsung ad on youtube spoofing the losers who queue up outside Apple Stores for the next iphone. Funny as hell. I can't stand Apple's smug patronising marketing. That being said I never understood the hater thing either. I'm a grown up and I can spend my money how I want for the device that best suits my needs. I also look at all devices pros and cons without brand loyalty being part of the question - got a beat up old iphone 4 currently, it works for what I need, it's nicely built and fits in the hand. The galaxy s3 feels cheaper, is far too big but has heaps more features (and lets me get rid of apps I don't want, which Apple don't let me do to Newsstand and the new Passbook). I don't feel a need to get vitriolic arguing over why the phone that I don't have is utterly sh1t.

I honestly think WW3 is going to start as an argument between Apple and Android fanboys! Just pays your money on what you want and enjoy what you bought instead of arguing over what other grownups spend their money on.

Has to be said though I'm enjoying the coverage of Apple's monumental screw up on the Maps, it's hilarious to see them make a huge blunder.

gdawg304

September 23, 2012, 4:31 pm

"To comply with EU regulations that stipulate microUSB must be used as the standard connection for all new phones, Apple does offer a Lightning to microUSB adapter for £15 too."

Well then to comply with EU regulations shouldn't Apple supply said adaptor free so that microUSB is used on the new phone AS SOLD?

I do wish Apple would stop marketing their stuff as if it's revolutionary and going to change everyone's lives. Granted the original iPhone changed the smartphone market in a huge way, but now the iPhone of the day is just a very well built bu otherwise unremarkable smartphone among many. I guess I'm just one of those people who likes to actually assess a product's capabilities against my needs and then decide what's best, and I hate the overwhelming smugness of their marketing.
They make very well made, slick and easy to use products which are in a premium price bracket. Not devices which represent the second coming of the Messiah (or some other hugely world-shattering event)

Still....they can't smug their way out of the Maps cock-up. :) Funny stuff, Jobs the perfectionist wouldn't have allowed that release in current state, methinks.

AlmostDone

September 23, 2012, 8:19 pm

The iPhone 5 is not all it is cracked up to be. My mrs has an iPhone 4S and would advise sticking with that or getting that instead if you must have an iPhone.

1) bad screens - http://forums.macrumors.com/sh...
2) chipped finish out of box -
http://forums.macrumors.com/sh... - with user survey
3) bad home button -
http://forums.macrumors.com/sh...
4) screen light leakage -
http://forums.macrumors.com/sh...

iPhone 5 vs iPhone 4S scratch & scruff test
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...

CJ6699

September 24, 2012, 9:02 am

You're making the assumption that the iPhone 5 is "not all its cracked up to be" because you have one with all those issues or because you've found a few people complaining on a forum about issues that are very rare (apart from the scratching of the back) that haven't even made it to news?

I have an iPhone 5. It hasn't any scratches, it hasn't a dodgy home button, it isn't leaking light and the screen is perfect but if any of those things were to happen, I'd take it to my local apple store and within 5 minutes, I'd be walking out with a brand new handset.

As I've said previously, I love the phone, but I have issues, BUT my issues are common ones that everyone knows about, not one of cases on one forum.

What a ridiculous comment to make! I bet you don't even own an iPhone!

CJ6699

September 24, 2012, 9:09 am

Well said! I am a fan of apple products but I'm growing tired of the over marketing, slow catching up of other products and refusing to expand products past their egos!

Free adaptor please. The ability to put an SD card in my iPad please. A little more flexibility with my UI please! Why can't they listen to the people who have made them what they are!!

CJ6699

September 24, 2012, 9:21 am

@gdawg304 Well said! I honestly don't understand why some people get so carried away that they are branded apple haters or why people hate apple so much to be called apple haters!?

I've always liked apple products but I've always liked Samsung products too. The S3 is a gorgeous looking thing. I just think its too big for what I want in a phone. I'm not going to start slating every other company that isn't apple because I'm a grown up that left school a long time ago. Like what you like, buy what you want and just have a grown up discussion about these things.

Why can't we all just get along!?

Hamish Campbell

September 24, 2012, 12:48 pm

errr...you don't think changing the screen size for the first time deserves a new number?

Hamish Campbell

September 24, 2012, 12:50 pm

oh don't worry, Jobs would have done it.

Carnex

September 24, 2012, 2:25 pm

If it was about any other phone I would say that you are right. But, Apple's marketing campaign presented iPhone5 as product that makes perfection look sloppy. After such campaign any fault looks like rose thorn in eye.

AJ

September 24, 2012, 2:28 pm

I bought one for the girlfriend on Friday. Apple duly delivered it exactly on time and the setup went flawlessly. Upgrading from her iPhone 4 to the 5 was absolutely effortless, this is something that Apple do so very well. Backup to iCloud, restore from it, job done.

My comments so far are :-

The quality is stunning. Anyone wanting to see a fun video, go on YouTube and watch the Android guys do a drop test against the S3.
The extra screen real estate is extremely useful (more icons, widescreen, landscape web browsing / gaming) but doesn't really make the phone any bulkier.
It's very slim and much lighter. Incredible considering that it's bigger.
It's very fast. She's gone from a 4 to a 5 and the difference is profound.

Downsides.

After only 1 charge the battery is not lasting as long as expected. She's certainly draining it to 10 / 20% in a days use. Although right now she is using a lot and it's not had many full charges.
She got caught out by the maps app in London on Saturday. Although everyone knows this will improve fast and she don't need it often.

So far. Big improvement.

comments powered by Disqus