Apple Cinema Display (27in) pictures

1 of

Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)
  • Apple Cinema Display (27in)

Hamish Campbell

February 8, 2011, 1:08 pm

I think you mean 'beautiful, stylish, intelligent and with a shockingly nerdy laugh'.





http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...

rav

February 8, 2011, 1:34 pm

20.7cm deep! Sounds like a monster.

TechVegan

February 8, 2011, 3:05 pm

@rav:


20.7cm is the depth with stand. The screen itself is a lot thinner, thankfully :)


Review amended to clarify that point, cheers.

Martyn

February 8, 2011, 3:32 pm

10/10 for design and it's not height adjustable, I want what you're smoking!

rdsh

February 8, 2011, 4:49 pm

Maybe height adjustment is classed as a 'feature' =;-)





On a serious note though, Apple do offer a Vesa mount kit for the Cinema Display, and hooking this up to something like an Ergotron LCD mount would give you height adjustment. Downsides would be that you'd lose the aesthetics of Apple's own aluminium stand, and the total cost of the screen, Vesa mount and arm would probably be excruciating!

Pbryanw

February 8, 2011, 4:52 pm

@Martyn - Possibly this comes under features, and would explain why it got 6/10 for this?

Benny Har-Even

February 8, 2011, 5:17 pm

@Martyn Don't smoke! Of course you could argue it's part of the design, and I'm sure you will, but I viewed height adjustment as a feature and marked the display down accordingly for its absence.

mooface

February 8, 2011, 6:14 pm

Word of warning to anyone considering this, if you have sensitive eyes then avoid it. Ive taken one back as it felt like it was burning my eyeballs from the inside. There is a lot of talk on various forums, inclusing apples own, where people have had to return macbooks, imacs etc as they all have LED screens. Luckily I got a full refund from JL, which was a surprise! I would advise anyone considering a mac or this screen to spend at least 30 mins looking at and using one in a store like JL to check if you one of the small percentage of people who are sensitive to LED backlighting. I use an HTPC now with an LCD screen with no problems at all. It took me a few weeks for my vision to return to normal. This is an issue with the technology, not Apple. Best to be sure before you spend a lot of £££££.

Geoff Richards

February 8, 2011, 6:25 pm

@mooface - could you elaborate on what the problem is please? If the LED backlight is too bright, surely you just turn it down...





I can't for the life of me think of why LED backlight should cause people problems where CCFL backlight doesn't (they're both LCD screens)

Moggy58

February 9, 2011, 12:19 pm

A low mark for features should affect the design marks, leaving something out to achieve aesthetics is bad design.


On the purpose of what a monitor is for, viewing content and to a lesser extent connectivity (on which point this is soundly thrashed) does the Dell beat this?

TechVegan

February 9, 2011, 2:48 pm

@Moggy58:


Yes, the only (arguable) advantage the Apple has from a practical standpoint is its LED backlighting (producing less heat, allowing slimmer designs and using less electricity).

balloonatic

February 9, 2011, 5:00 pm

Ardjuna, what about the fact that it has a built in webcam, decent quality speakers and a power supply for the macbook range? Is that not an 'advantage', arguable or otherwise? This makes it quite an attractive prospect, surely, for people with a macbook looking for an external monitor.

TechVegan

February 9, 2011, 7:43 pm

@balloonatic:


Indeed, though for the price difference you can afford to get a far better, adjustable HD webcam and some decent, slimline speakers, they won't look as nice and result in more clutter. Your point about Macbook integration is also a good one, and as mentioned in the review, the Cinema HD makes sense if you're operating within a Mac 'ecosystem'. I hence amend my earlier statement to "One of the few advantages" :D

mooface

February 9, 2011, 8:48 pm

@Geoff Richards - Google 'led backlight eye strain' or visit the apple forum and search 'hurt eyes' or 'sore eyes' and you will find a lot of comments about it. I did a lot of reading before finally returning my MB pro. There is no solution, if you are sensitive then you need to avoid it. Apprently, LEDs cannot be dimmed. The screen can, but its not the brightness that is the issue.





One of many: http://forums.appleinsider.com...

evan fotis

February 18, 2011, 10:26 pm

Does it offer an OSD for correcting colours & even calibrating, or all has to go through the Mac videocard software?


If so, I wouldn't be so sure about the first part of your statement:


"we’d be happy doing photographic or any other kind of work on it all day long."


Especially as it also has a highly reflective surface as you have clearly stated.

comments powered by Disqus