1 of 13 pictures

Hover to zoom

AirPort Extreme 2
AirPort Extreme

13 Pictures - Apple Airport Extreme 2013

  • AirPort Extreme
  • AirPort Extreme 2
  • AirPort Extreme 3
  • AirPort Extreme 4
  • AirPort Extreme 5
  • AirPort Extreme UI
  • AirPort Extreme 2.4GHz
  • AirPort Extreme 5GHz
  • AirPort Express setup
  • AirPort Express setup 2
  • AirPort Express setup 3
  • 2011 2013
  • AirPort Extreme AC 2


September 5, 2013, 9:30 am

I know design is a subjective thing, and most routers are still a bit 2000's in their appearance, but I don't get excited by this at all. Sounds like an expensive pile of crap to me. Glad I read the review first!

Any idea if you'll be reviewing the 2013 express?

Gordon Kelly

September 8, 2013, 2:55 pm

If the appearance doesn't grab you then you're lucky - it is what will sell them and sadly the substance behind it is lacking.

And yes that's on the list :)


September 9, 2013, 7:05 am

It is a shame this router performs so badly. I have no interest in the Airport Extreme, but I imagine the router performance of the 2013 Time Capsule will be more or less identical, and as Time Machine refuses to place nicely with any other network drive, the Time Capsule has a very compelling USP for Mac users who want the convenience and peace of mind of continuous backup. If I had a desktop Mac, I'd happily connect an external Thunderbolt drive for backup and leave it connected, but the sad truth is that for a laptop the rigmarole of connecting a USB/Thunderbolt drive means mine at least (and I'm sure I'm far from alone!) doesn't get backed up nearly as often as it should. I was planning to pick up a 2013 Time Capsule and upgrading my wifi to 802.11ac at one fell swoop, with the intention of snapping up Apple's next iteration of the MacBook Pro Retina (which will surely include 802.11ac, as does the recent refresh of the MacBook Air), but may now need to rethink. Maybe the good money is on finding an old Time Capsule for a reduced price and getting a better 802.11ac router elsewhere.


September 26, 2013, 1:39 am

I wonder a bit about these results as I am an IT guy with over 20 years of experience. In my home tests the router maintained a signal at superior distance and throughput to the ASUS or a Netgear 6300v2 AC router. Maybe they got a bad unit or maybe production line improvements have been made.


September 30, 2013, 6:24 pm

You might want to check the dimensions of the predecessor - I doubt it was 16.5mm x 16.5mm and it it was it's hardly a reduction from 98mm x 98mm! ;)

Kordon Gelly

December 16, 2013, 5:13 pm

With a line like "High on style, light on substance and disinterested in other platforms continues the Apple stereotype..." you cannot possibly claim to be unbiased and this cannot possibly in TrustedReview's best interest to publish this.

How come SmallNetBuilder's review (which in my opinion is more trustable than TrustedReviews) shows better results?


December 17, 2013, 12:30 pm

Testing conditions add a fair amount of variability to all router testing. That's just the nature of the beast and I don't agree that stating something fairly obvious makes us biased. The results we obtained back up the statement, though that doesn't make it a bad product by any means, which is why it score a 7/10.

Kordon Gelly

December 17, 2013, 1:32 pm

Kelly Scored it 6/10... not 7/10.


December 17, 2013, 1:35 pm

Apologies, memory failing me.


December 24, 2013, 11:39 am

just gigabit ports, not gigabit capability! I have gigabit internet connection,on pppoe imac spees reach 790-940 mbits, on airport wired connection less than 300 (230mbits)!!!


February 21, 2014, 6:02 pm

Similarly, I'm wondering if firmware updates since this test were done have improved it. We have an Airport Extreme at the office for a few wireless devices that we want off of the main network, and it's been flawless. d

Bob Moose

August 20, 2014, 12:53 pm

I do not like this product at all. Very expensive and very slow. Apple seems to focus on looks and not functionality. In my opinion, a very poor product, indeed. It's refreshing that someone speaks the truth as this review has done.

comments powered by Disqus