Cost & Verdict

Gordon Kelly

By Gordon Kelly

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
AOC i2353Fh 23in IPS LED Monitor

Summary

Our Score:

9

Happily for casual users the i2353Fh is well setup out of the box and we'd advise little more than adjusting brightness to your personal preference. By contrast advanced users may find the i2353Fh's menu settings limited with access to little more than brightness, contrast, gamma and RGB. This will put off more serious photographers, but at least makes navigation a breeze and the (often dreaded) touch sensitive buttons which control it are surprisingly responsive.

As for connectivity, the i2353Fh has dual HDMI inputs as well as VGA, but no DVI. An HDMI cable is provided in the box and for disgruntled users with DVI-only graphics cards AOC providers an HDMI to DVI adaptor. Those looking to watch copyright content will be pleased to know both HDMI inputs are HDCP Ready. The base also has a trick up its sleeve, being able to fold flat against the back of the monitor and double as a VESA wall mount.

This isn't the end of the tricks as somehow AOC has managed to cram 2x 2W speakers into the i2353Fh's skinny lines, but with extremely tinny audio most will turn them off. That said it is impossible to deny AOC's determination to provide value for money. The i2353Fh retails for under £150 and comes with a three year warranty. Low prices are nothing new for AOC, but we feel the i2353Fh represents the first time the company has successfully competed on cost, style and performance simultaneously. We hope it is a sign of things to come.

Verdict

The i2353Fh is a breakthrough monitor both for consumers and AOC itself. Rarely does a product competing on price also break ground in terms of design, but the i2353Fh is a stunner and will sell by the bucket load on looks alone. It is therefore pleasing the quality of the panel lives up to expectations. An E-IPS panel won't make its way into professional photography studios any time soon, but the i2353Fh's colour accuracy and viewing angles are far better than TN panels at this price range. If you have been waiting for the right time to snag a bargain that time just came.

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Design 9
  • Features 8
  • Image Quality 9
  • Value 10

iwasanerdd

February 18, 2012, 10:34 pm

Nice , I like, but who has stock and when is it available, especially after glowing review. because I can see much demand.

Julian Bell

February 19, 2012, 1:46 am

Is this the i2353Fh? I can't find the 'Ph' anywhere on their european website but the 'Fh' seems to be identical (specs-wise) to what you have reviewed here.

Pbryanw

February 20, 2012, 4:12 pm

Found this on the TFTCentral.co.uk review of the same monitor:

"The Fh model is available in Europe (including EMEA) while the Ph is the model available in America and Asia."

Gordon394

February 20, 2012, 4:49 pm

Well spotted Julian, our model came labelled 'Ph' - but I will update the title to Fh as that is more relevant to a European audience. Thanks.

Pbryanw

February 20, 2012, 7:20 pm

A little bit more useful information from the tftcentralreview regarding the differences between the Ph/Fh models:

"The two models are practically identical and feature the same panel, features, electronics and specs. There are some very minor aesthetic differences which we will mention later on, but for all intents and purposes they are the same screen."

interpleb

February 20, 2012, 9:33 pm

Does this monitor have a headphone/aux out socket? Looking around it seems to have an audio in socket, but not output which would make it useless for me.

Gordon394

February 21, 2012, 6:20 pm

A strange quality to look for. It is input only, as are far and away the vast majority of monitors.

I'd suggest connecting your earphones to the PC or laptop connected to the monitor (you can always get a 3.5mm extension cable if the port is hard to reach) and chalking off this as a necessity for a monitor... otherwise it won't leave you much choice.

interpleb

February 21, 2012, 11:45 pm

Thanks for the clarification Gordon, the reason I have that requirement is that I can use my PC, 360, PS3 or Tivo on my current Asus monitor and use my Turtle Beach headset connected to the headphone out which is seemless no matter what I watch via HDMI. I could just do with a better quality monitor, which this one would have otherwise been.

Don Kanonjii

June 12, 2012, 4:45 pm

Shame this doesnt have standard vesa holes for mounting. i guess its beacause the connections are i the base.

Emir

October 22, 2012, 1:26 pm

Does anyone have an idea that this Aoc model good for gaming ? cause genarally the 2 ms response time monitors advised for gamers but this has also 5 ms response time which is not bad.

Jonathan Hare

March 27, 2013, 4:09 am

Just bought this to replace a Philips 220C I've had since 2008. IPS trading up from crappy TN. Yes please.

Giel

May 8, 2013, 1:36 pm

Is the AOC i2367Fh just as good (or better) than this one? I am thinking about buying one of them but I can't find a store to compare them both. The i2367Fh has a (newer?) AH-IPS screen, a thin looking bezel and a small footstand. The i2353Fh is slightly thinnern has touch-controls on the base and you can mount it on a wall.
Which one is the best for watching movies?

And what about the HP Pavilion 22xi?

al .

September 15, 2013, 9:55 pm

I think he must Use HDMI to connect to the monitor and then use headphones out of the monitor. But i guess im 2 years late.

Bradley Clarkson

September 23, 2013, 7:51 pm

i was thinking the same

STEM987

February 8, 2014, 2:13 pm

VESA connections in the base - weird - but might work OK

privacycare

March 15, 2014, 5:16 am

A refurbished one for just $99 today on woot.

comments powered by Disqus