Home » Round-ups » Tablets » Android Tablets Round-Up

Android Tablets Round-Up

by | Go to comments

Share:
Tablets

Since the launch of the iPad, Android tablets have been playing catch up. While it may have taken them some time, we are no finally beginning to see some serious contenders emerge to challenge the iPad for the crown of Best Tablet. Indeed at this year's TrustedReviews 2011 Awards, the Android-powered Asus Eee Pad Transformer not only took the Tablet of the Year crown, but was also named Product of the Year for 2011.

Tablets are being released at such a rate that it's hard to keep track of each and every one. Almost every week there's a new Android tablet on the market so we've done all the hard work for you by rounding up all the latest and best Android tablets to help you decide which is right for you.

 

Round-up Items

Asus Eee Pad Slider 10

Asus Eee Pad Slider

06 September 2011

The Asus Eee Pad Slider's keyboard sets it apart from the handful of Android Honeycomb tablets that can only clearly be separated by a few minor aesthetic differences and connectivity tweaks. It's one of the most interesting Android tablets of the year and it's not just a design gimmick. The added size and weight of the keyboard will severely limit the audience for this device, unlike the more versatile Eee Pad Transformer. But if this kind of home-bound tablet is what you're after, the great screen, smooth performance and good execution of the unusual design makes it worth a round of applause. However, we can't help but wish it had arrived a few months earlier, now the Transformer Prime is nearing release.

Motorola Xoom 2

07 December 2011

We're moderately impressed by the Motorola Xoom 2. Certainly we like that Motorola has pretty much thrown the kitchen sink at the thing in terms of features. Yes, there's the lack of 3G and expandable storage but the IR transmitter, stylus, range of connectivity and software extras add up to a very capable machine. So long as the software instability issues are ironed out, and particularly if the screens improve a little more, this could be a real contender. Especially as it's reasonably competitively priced at £379.99. We'll be back for a full review later this month when the tablets hit the market.

Our rating:
7/10
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 11

Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7

01 September 2011

While the lack of microUSB is a concern and the build isn't quite as solid as an iPad, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7in is nevertheless a seriously impressive tablet. If you're looking for a smaller alternative to the 9in and 10in tablets, this looks to be the pick of the bunch.

Sony Tablet S

05 October 2011

Sony has taken its time to enter the tablet race and the Tablet S shows the company has learnt from many of the mistakes made by its rivals and worked hard to integrate worthwhile differentiators. This effort is largely successful and while PlayStation conversions and Sony's Music and Video Unlimited services are only in their infancy this should bear substantial fruit in time. Certainly the Tablet S isn't without its faults. Connectivity options feel different largely for the sake of it and Sony still can't resist dipping into proprietary ports, but the practical wedge styling should attract a loyal following. For those who want a tablet which stands out from the pack the Tablet S will prove a sound investment.

Our rating:
8/10
Asus Eee Pad Transformer

Asus Eee Pad Transformer

04 May 2011

The Asus Eee Pad Transformer is a bit brilliant for several reasons. It has a rather lovely IPS screen, the Android Honeycomb operating system and a wonderful accessory in the form of its keyboard. A keyboard may sound uninspiring, but this is different. It adds hours onto the battery life and is made of the same mix of metal and plastic as the keyboard itself. It's not too bad to type on either.

Our rating:
9/10

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

02 August 2011

Slimmer and lighter than an iPad 2, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 proves that Android tablets don't have to be iOS's ugly sisters. It tops off a svelte design with a brilliant screen, decent battery, solid video support and a comfortable-to-hold back. Aside from limited connectivity, its faults are wider Android problems rather than things to level at Samsung and its design team.

Our rating:
8/10

Archos G9 101

24 October 2011

Without a doubt, this is the most capable Android Honeycomb video player currently available. Format support is excellent, the screen's decent and battery life compares fairly well with more expensive tablets. The power's there too - its dual-core 1GHz processor able to handle high bit-rate 1080p content with ease. What's wrong, then? It's the design. The plastic body just doesn't feel as nice as any of the pricier models, and several on-body bits get in the way while you're holding it. When it's just £60 cheaper than glossier tabs, you really need to care about its advanced video skills for it to be a good buy.

Our rating:
6/10

HP TouchPad

26 July 2011

The HP TouchPad has some nifty features, including its inbuilt wireless charging, Flash-enabled web browser and slick multi-tasking interface but it falls well short of being a true contender. It's thicker and heavier than most of its rivals yet lacks a few hardware features and it regularly suffers from moments where it grinds to a halt. Add in the sparsely stocked app store and you've got little reason to opt for this over just about any other premium large tablet.

Our rating:
6/10

Acer Iconia Tab A100

16 September 2011

On paper the Acer Iconia A100 sounds great. It's a sub-£300 Android Honeycomb tablet using the still-fairly-rare 7in form factor that has all the power of the top tabs in town. But a few serious problems blow its chances. The display quality is poor, battery life is half of what an iPad achieves and the design inspires indifference rather than desire.

Our rating:
6/10

HTC Flyer

02 June 2011

The most interesting feature bullet point of the HTC Flyer is its stylus, which lets you draw on the screen at any time. Sadly, it's a bit of a gimmick. Elsewhere it's largely a success, with a good-quality screen, and a decent custom interface. It started off way too expensive, but it has since come down in price a bit.

Our rating:
7/10

Archos 101 Internet Tablet

21 March 2011

Archos's 10.1in 101 tablet runs the Google Android operating system and uses a capacitive touchscreen - two ingredients for pure tablet joy. As a budget tablet, it's not without problems, but is still one of the best tablets you'll find for less than £300. It'll play plenty of video types and has a decent 1GHz processor. Downsides? The display's not all that great and you don't get access to the Android Market.

Our rating:
7/10

Archos 70

19 April 2011

The baby brother of the Archos 101, the Archos 70 runs Android and has a 1GHz processor. Although it's cheaper than Archos's bigger model, it packs-in all the same key features. We like the smaller form factor too, so if you find it for under £180, it's a great buy. All that's holding it back is that its successor, the tasty-looking G9 80, is already on the horizon.

Our rating:
7/10

Archos Arnova 10

06 May 2011

This is Archos's cheapest tablet series. The Arnova features a large 10in screen, but is let down by uninspiring build quality, a poor screen and an unresponsive resistive touchscreen. Worst of all though, it uses a weak CPU, which leaves the essential Angry Birds running at a snail's pace. Read the full review for more.

Our rating:
4/10

Creative Ziio 7

18 March 2011

Creative's first attempt at an Android tablet is a good stab. It uses a resistive touchscreen, but it's one of the most responsive ones we've seen used in a tablet. The decent processor and low price make this worth a look if you really can't afford an iPad.

Our rating:
7/10

Archos 28 Internet Tablet

24 February 2011

Archos has made more Android devices than most, and the Archos 28 is one of its more intriguing models. It's a 2.8in screen device , making it rather like a smartphone without the phone bit rather than a tablet. Unfortunately, using Android on such a small screen isn't exactly joyful.

Our rating:
6/10

ViewSonic ViewPad 7

25 November 2010

The ViewSonic ViewPad 7 is an Android tablet - and was one of the first out on the market. We found it to be a little half-baked though. It seems thoroughly stuck in the past now, with its 600MHz processor and resistive touchscreen. For tablet fun, we'd suggest looking elsewhere.

Our rating:
5/10

Samsung Galaxy Tab

05 November 2010

The first Android tablet that came close to being a success, the Samsung Galaxy Tab was 2010's most convincing rival for the Apple iPad. It was frightfully expensive at launch, but with a decent processor and touchscreen to keep navigation quick and slick, it was still a desirable gadget.

Our rating:
6/10

ViewSonic ViewPad 10

29 October 2010

The ViewPad 10 is bigger and more powerful than its sibling the ViewPad 7, but it's a disappointment too. Launching at a similar price to the iPad was never going to be a good move. But that's just what ViewSonic did.

Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime photo 1

Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime

16 December 2011

Lighter and thinner yet more powerful than most rivals, the world’s first quad-core tablet sports a stunning screen, gorgeous design and comes with a keyboard dock.

Our rating:
10/10
 

Summary

There you have it. All the best Android tablets currently available. Let us know what you think of the tablets and which one you are thinking of buying, if any.

 

Related News & Features

comments powered by Disqus