Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013 pictures

1 of 16 pictures

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013

16 Pictures - Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013

  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013
  • Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 2013

dpanch_89

September 8, 2013, 12:55 pm

There is no "speaker for audiobooks". It is simply an LED light that gloes orange when charging, or green when fully charged.

danielfrisbee

September 8, 2013, 4:19 pm

these things are still way too bulky, I think they should be flexible and lightweight, and surely this is not as sci-fi as it sounds, there's not a wild amount going on in these things after all. I find kindles quite unpleasant to hold, (yes aware books are bigger but I'm not including that factor)

Pg

November 14, 2013, 2:22 pm

I'm confused. From the last line, it makes it sound like this is the benchmark product for the sector, the one to buy, much like you said the ipad is. Why doesn't it get a 10?

Gian-Reto

November 14, 2013, 4:20 pm

This is a very good question and something I would also be interested in. Normally I trust this site quite a lot, owning some of the things they did give a 9/10 or more.
Now, I don't own any of the current Kindles, but the older iterations were as good as ebook readers can get, and there is little you can say against it besides being somewhat tied to the amzon ecosystem and the non-expandable storage...
But wait, that sounds very similar to the cons that come with all iDevices. And still an Apple product gets a 10/10 for an evolutionary updgrade of an already good product with clear flaws that will in all fairness only be a concern for few (non-expandable storage, tied to iTunes) with the iPad air, while an evolutionary upgrade to what seems to be the best ebook reader by a mile to date, with the same minor flaws as the iPad air und just as few real innovations compared to the last iteration, gets a 9/10.
I don't want to get into any Apple Bashing, even though I am quite the Amazon fan. I would still like to know a little bit more what made you drop a point from the score, as I cannot imagine what you could do more with the current tech in regards to ebook readers.

vykintas

November 14, 2013, 5:54 pm

My battery don't last more than 2 days

Evan

November 14, 2013, 6:14 pm

It is, but it is also more than double the price than similar competition. Also with an ebook reader the OS is less important, it's not like there are many books you can only get on the Paperwhite.

By comparison the iPad Air isn't much more expensive than the competition (if at all) and comes with the App Store, which provides the best experiences you can get on a tablet.

Had the iPad Air's price started at £500 we'd mark it differently too.

Evan

November 14, 2013, 9:45 pm

See my comment above. If it was slightly cheaper it would have got a 10.

Pg

November 15, 2013, 1:48 pm

Thanks for replying. Fair point about the relative prices of the tablets. I was just curious, tried to find the rating policy on your site but give up (fairly quickly). But then if I was interested in buying something, I'd look up more than one review, and I do always check this site for a review.

The percentage difference between the paperlight and the backlight ereaders is quite high now, even ignoring the 3g version. The price of the nook makes it hard to overlook.

The last line before the verdict looks like it's missing something "There are cheaper options available, such as the £69 and the bargain-tastic £49 Nook Simple Touch GlowLight." What's the £69 option?

marcwilson

November 15, 2013, 2:31 pm

The cheaper Kindle isn't touch-screen, nor does it have a light. It's the same screen size and resolution, but there's a button-based interface. If you have trouble with touchscreens (as some people seem to do), it might be the better option.

marcwilson

November 15, 2013, 2:33 pm

Earlier Kindles did have a speaker, and the ability to play music while you read or to have the books read aloud in a rather robotic voice. The older Kindle is still the one to go for if you're blind (though the voice is not very good IMO).

Dakiro

November 15, 2013, 2:51 pm

I use the text2speech option very often, since it allows me to do other things around the house. On the keyboard version it was very clear, crisp and robotic, and I love it, no emotional baggage and interpretation of the reader is going to spoil my own reception. If Android Kindle program allowed t2s, I would be using it all the time (it might soon).
On the keyboard version there is a simple shortcut to enable t2s - a boon for people with impaired sight.

Evan

November 15, 2013, 5:38 pm

Thanks PG i'll fix that. Here's a bit of a guide to our scoring http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Suz

November 16, 2013, 1:55 am

Which kindle is that? I had the first gen and still have the kindle keyboard.. no speakers, just headphone jacks..

marcwilson

November 16, 2013, 5:32 pm

Sorry- I meant "sound" rather than speakers- yes, they have a headphone jack, not a built-in speaker. I don't offhand know of an ebook with an actual speaker. I still have my kindle keyboard, but I only use it for loaners these days; I prefer the Paperwhite.

comments powered by Disqus