Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers pictures

1 of 7 pictures

Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers

7 Pictures - Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers

  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • Altec Lansing Expressionist BASS FX3022 - 2.0 Speakers
  • My Book World Edition WDH1NC20000 Network Hard Drive - 2 TB Network (Network)

Marko

April 8, 2009, 5:59 am

Bless, reviewers really do trot out a load of generic cliched nonsense when it comes to trying to convey the subjective nature of playback quality for speakers and headphones. Not a criticism of Andy per se, every reviewers seems to suffer from this apparently insurmountable problem.

Ed

April 8, 2009, 2:02 pm

If it's insurmountable, why mention it? What alternative method of assessment do you suggest we use? Graphs?

Marko

April 8, 2009, 2:36 pm

Well quite, if a comment doesn't add anything to the review then it's not worth making. Anyway, don't take yourself so seriously, it's a beautiful day outside in London...

ruthless

April 8, 2009, 4:51 pm

It's god awful here in Paris

Dave W

April 8, 2009, 6:01 pm

If the bass driver is built into the same cabinet as the remaining ones, surely it is simply a woofer. Doesn't a subwoofer need to be in an entirely separate enclosure? I've been irritated by the whole 'built-in subwoofer' thing so beloved of the flashy-light 'hi-fi' makers for ages. (I realise this doesn't add a great deal to the review)

Andy Vandervell

April 8, 2009, 6:20 pm

@Dave W: No, it's a good point and you're absolutely right. Changed.

StuAndrews

April 8, 2009, 7:07 pm

I don't want to go too far into the realms of beardy Hi-Fi debate here, but my understanding of a subwoofer is that it simply goes down to lower frequencies than an ordinary woofer (down to 20Hz rather than the 40Hz of the typical woofer). It should be a separate speaker, but it doesn't necessarily need to be in a separate enclosure. However, in this case it looks like the 'built-in subwoofer' doesn't hit that range and so is actually more of a woofer, in which case I think your point still stands. Erm. I'll go away now. Stu.

Keithe6e

April 8, 2009, 7:09 pm

@Marko: Bless, reviewers really do trot out a load of generic cliched nonsense





Struggling with that, even re-read trying to find these cliched bits. Seemed to explain his findings in plain English without going all retro, what exactly was you referring too?.

ChaosDefinesOrder

April 8, 2009, 9:47 pm

@Keith: I believe Marko is referring to bit like "where the intricate percussion lacks a little bit of punch" and generally describing how a song sounds on the speakers.





I agree that it's a little bit strange reading that kinda thing, but at the same time I'm fully aware of how near-impossible it is to describe how a set of speakers sound compared to another set without resorting to "um... they just sound better, ok?"

Keithe6e

April 9, 2009, 2:27 pm

@ChaosDefinesOrder, That was my point, how else would you explain it. It was pure English, described the sound, and I could certainly understand what he was trying to describe. And "where the intricate percussion lacks a little bit of punch" still doesn't sound cliched to me. He didn't add "Asta La Vista Baby", or "I'll be back" did he without me noticing. :)

Marko

April 9, 2009, 5:51 pm

I think that's the wider question, are perjorative comments on speaker sound quality largely redundant. I don't dispute that there's no alternative to the current type of comments, but I'm not sure acknowledging this makes the comment any more useful in making a purchasing decision. Bottom line, anyone spending anything meaningful on speakers should try before they buy.

comments powered by Disqus