Home / Mobile / GPS & Sat Nav / ALK CoPilot Live Premium / ALK CoPilot Live Premium - Routing and Features

ALK CoPilot Live Premium - Routing and Features

By James Morris

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

You can also ask CoPilot to calculate an alternate route, whereby it offers three choices. ALK calls this Personal Routes, and it functions in a similar fashion to Navigon's MyRoutes, letting you select an option which will suit your driving style. ALK has followed another trend and now lets you save your current location as a parking favourite. This is helpful when you park on the street and need to find your way back to your vehicle again later. Allied to this is a "Take Me to My Car" option, which loads your saved location, switches to pedestrian mode, and starts routing you in the correct direction.

You can choose to be notified of speed limits and safety camera locations, and you can even select how far over the limit you will allow yourself to be before notification, just in case you think you can get away with it. In fact, CoPilot offers much more configuration than other sat-nav software of parameters like how far in advance you want to be warned of your next turning, although this is nothing new with this version of the app.

ALK CoPilot Live Premium

Another set of features CoPilot Live has been well endowed with for a number of versions - the clue is in the name - is its interactive live services. As before, this includes traffic updates, which have now been renamed ActiveTraffic, and only cost £9.99 a year. The traffic information is from Navteq, but in our testing didn't cover as large a percentage of routes as Tom Tom's HD Traffic, missing problems on some A roads.

Following the trend towards social networking, ALK has added connectivity with Facebook and Twitter, allowing you to auto-post your destination on both services when you set this up, as well your arrival, although the actual posts are a bit meagre. So your feed will say you're heading off to 'London Road', without any greater detail. But you can also call up a list of Facebook Places your friends have recently checked into, allowing you to navigate your way to meet them. It's nice to see a practical use for Facebook Places, but we suspect only a small minority will ever actually use this feature.

henryg

July 27, 2011, 6:09 pm

This review cannot have been properly and thoroughly undertaken! More likely a quick rehash of a v8 review. Just look at all the problems at:

http://getsatisfaction.com/copilotlive/topics

including APPALLING routing, estimated journey times being massively understated, no traffic updates. It is a duff update, and almost certainly not properly tested before release. Beta at very best.

dlorde

July 27, 2011, 7:29 pm

Sadly, henryg is right - the product is a long way from being ready for release.

mikfrak

July 28, 2011, 5:36 am

I cannot comment on the premium edition reviewed here but I have tried to use Co-Pilot Live in two different cities, York and Leeds, and in each case found its directions so bad they were positively dangerous as it was determined to send me the wrong way down one way streets, through restricted areas, or along roads that had been closed off. In each case I just gave up and wound down my window to ask the way. Literally, worse than useless.

James Morris

July 28, 2011, 4:47 pm

I wouldn't say CoPilot Live was worse than useless at routing. I would also suggest, henryg, that your implication that my review is a quick rehash of a v8 review is close to libellous. Did you read it and watch the video? You will see, in the video, an actual traffic update appears. So there is clear evidence there that traffic updates work. I actually tested CoPilot Live Premium MORE than I usually do, as I had a lot of extra journeys during the testing period. I even managed to test it against a TomTom device, so was able to ascertain that the traffic updates are inferior to the TomTom HD service. I would also say that, whilst routing isn't perfect - it still gets the "postcode inside an industrial estate" issue wrong, for example - it does get you from A to B. As I said in the review, there's nothing like IQ Routes here. So it will be using nominal road speeds for calculation, not a real reflection of traffic speed. So ETAs will be off, as they are with all sat-navs not using this kind of technology. Go into the full menu, then Route, then Vehicle Preferences, then Custom Routing and you will see the speeds CoPilot uses for various types of roads. They're rather off by default, with 55 used for motorways, for example. Tweak these to more realistic settings and the routing will be considerably more effective, although still not as good as with IQ Routes-equipped devices.

Jon Williamson

July 28, 2011, 5:29 pm

I think these comments are a bit over-negative. I have been using CoPilot v8 on an iPhone 3GS for 18 months and upgraded to v9 a week or two ago. v8 replaced my TomTom Go 720 which I finally sold last week.

Whe I got CoPilot I was driving 20,000 miles a year. It is perfectly adequate - mapping and graphically as good as the Tom Tom, with the occasional issue around updating the car's poistion. It got me all over England and Wales without a hitch... The only real issue is that the arrival times are woefully pessimistic, and v8 sticks to arterial routes - this seems to be fixed in Premium - or at least you are presented with three options. The only issue with Premium at the moment is that the traffic subscription does not work - but a fix is being developed.

So I agree with the review - a bargain compared with a dedicated unit and other apps.

waynebarakat

October 21, 2011, 7:50 am

I was a fan of copilot so long, then you let you signature product go to crap (slow, bad routing, inaccurate voice command, crash), causing your customers so much inconvenience. And instead of improving the product we already bought and charging us incrementally for map upgrades or features, you are trying to swindle us into a new product whose reviews are just as crappy.

Shame on you. You have lost a family of long time customers permanently.

waynebarakat

October 21, 2011, 7:53 am

You obviously took one trip and submitted the article. Though it might have been close to the end of the month, just because your rent is due does not mean you get to rave about such an obvious horrible product - have you read the app stores and web user reviews?

ByeLaw

January 6, 2012, 5:02 pm

Hi James Morris, "I would also suggest, henryg, that your implication that my review is a quick rehash of a v8 review is close to libellous" Wow, is this how you take criticism by using threats? I would suggest you either turn the comments if you cannot take the occational bad comment. I would expect a more constructive response from a professional, if you are one?

comments powered by Disqus