Adobe Premiere Elements 7 pictures

1 of 4 pictures

Adobe Premiere Elements 7
Adobe Premiere Elements 7

4 Pictures - Adobe Premiere Elements 7

  • Adobe Premiere Elements 7
  • Adobe Premiere Elements 7
  • Adobe Premiere Elements 7
  • Adobe Premiere Elements 7

Paul Nicolson

November 29, 2008, 11:58 pm

AVCHD may now be the choice of codec in nearly every High Def camcorder, but has any one tried to edit these files on a normal high spec PC? Im running a quad core Intel, 64bit windows 4 gb ram, raid 5 set and my machine still judders and stutters.

We have a codec which I dont feel is really suitable for every day users, lots of people myself included just thought you could drop some MTS files into your normal editor and hay presto create some nice HD footage. This is not the case and every Camcorder on the market has the same problems, just a point that should be mentioned when you guys at trusted reviews, give the big thumbs up on the latest HD camera.

Adobe premier full version strugles so badly with high def footage I cant see premier elements being any better, perhaps you could try it out?

James Morris

November 30, 2008, 3:59 am

Adobe has made performance improvements with the CS4 engine, and this is what is in Elements as well. Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 is the smoothest software with AVCHD I've used, and Elements 7 is very similar. This was with a 2.66GHz quad-core PC, but that's not such a pricey system these days. Looking at the performance monitor, not all the cores were running either, so a dual-core 2.66GHz would probably perform the same. In fact, I tested CS4 on a 2.66GHz dual-core and it was still very smooth and responsive with AVCHD.

Paul Nicolson

November 30, 2008, 3:20 pm

James@ I have searched far and wide on the internet, so many people are having problems using the avchd codec files including mts mts2, Most people are using Sony Vegas. Even on the Adobe website people are reporting big problems with Elements still with little or no support. I will look into a trial of AP CS4 :-) Just a thought have you been editing the AVCHD files directly or have you been converting them to lower format ?


James Morris

December 1, 2008, 12:00 am

I've been editing the raw AVCHD files - tried them from every manufacturer currently doing camcorders in this format. Not really had major problems. What are the problems mentioned on the forums you have been frequenting? I've read a few complaints about not being able to burn AVCHD to DVD, but that's a different issue.

Paul Nicolson

December 1, 2008, 12:22 am

Judder has been the main problem, when loading MTS files.


December 1, 2008, 3:46 pm

Can it handle quicktime files? My camera produces quicktime movies and windows movie maker just doesn't seem able to do anything with it.


December 16, 2008, 1:42 pm

I have the new Samsung NV100 HD camera which produces HD video in mp4 (h.264) format. I can't seem to find any editing software which will accept these files. And I don't want to spend money on something that doesn't work... any advice James Morris?

Michael 10

December 31, 2008, 4:00 am

Another thing missing from Elements 7 at the time of writing this, confirmed on Adobe's forum is that this product can't write AVCHD DVDs using a standard burner. If you want HD, you HAVE to have a real bluray burner. Black Mark since Ulead, Sony and even Pinnacle can do this OK.

Richard 14

June 22, 2009, 8:05 pm

I have just been trying Premiere Elements 7, having got fed up with the inability of Ulead Video Studio Pro XT to cope with AVCHD. The Adobe product seems much more reliable and powerful, though it seem to push my PC to the limit: Quad 6600 2.4GHz/2GB/SATA II. All four cores are running at 90%+ for straightforward AVCHD editing. I haven't tried it yet with effects or very large projects.


July 22, 2009, 3:42 pm

I have read a lot of reviews...I have learned to edit video (for cable tv on Premiere Pro 2.0) and I am looking to get a version for my home PC.

My home PC is a Pentium 4 3.2ghz 2GB Ram (I will be upgrading to 4GB Ram) with a GeForce 9600 GT 512mb VRam video card.

I nixed pinnicale Studio after reading the reviews here of it and I am now focused on buying Elements 7 - it seems right for the price, and close to what I learned on.

(I am a public access cable producer - and want it to use it at home to practice editing - and if posible transfer work to in house editing PCs with that posible?)

My real question is...will elements work with a Pentium 4, I got the ghz, but I think Pentium 4s only simulate dual core?

I'm not sure...what do you think?

Thanks much,



July 22, 2009, 3:44 pm

Oh it worth it to get the version with Photoshop elements, and what does that add for the extra 50 bucks give or take?

The Mann

August 10, 2009, 6:28 pm

This adobe premiere element 7 has a serious isse, Adobe claim the program is Abel to create Hi-Def. video, this is a part of the truth, ALL HIGH DEF. VIDEO is recorded in 5.1 surround, that’s is standart for all new high def. camcorderes, but you can´t produce a Blu-ray or a DVD with dolby digital så you can´t use the full high resulution on you "home createded" High def. movie, thats suchs.

Otherwise the program is very good. and very easy to use. I have a Panasonic HDC-TM300. and I byed adobe elements because it can handel 5.1 sound in the program but you can´t produce a DVD with suround output.. That is the unforgiven bad 50% of the movie is the sound.

most stupid sales trig from adobe. (sorry for my bad writing)


August 30, 2009, 12:40 am

Not having the ability to burn HD video (AVCHD) direct to DVD disc is a serious omission by Adobe. Otherwise it would be the best all round package for HD video production. I'm sure all those excellent software writers in India that created PE7 can do better with such a minor issue ???

comments powered by Disqus