Home / Computing / Laptop / Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook

Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook review

Andy Vandervell



1 of 12

Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Acer Ferrari One - 11.6in Netbook
  • Ferrari One 200-312G25n Netbook - Athlon 64 X2 L310 - 29.5 cm 11.60" (2 GB DDR2 SDRAM - 250 GB HDD - Ethernet, Wi-Fi - Windows 7 Home Premium)


Our Score:


It should go without saying that whatever netbooks were in the beginning, they've changed a great deal since then. Not always for the better we might add, particularly where affordability is concerned, but any nascent product category is always going to evolve. Thankfully, with new netbook technology and platforms finally on the horizon, an end to the stagnant, phony war we have now is finally in sight.

Take Acer's latest effort, the Ferrari One, as an example. A product of AMD's and Acer's relationships with Ferrari's Formula One team, it's the first 'netbook' to use AMD's new Congo platform. However, with its new dual-core processor, 11.6in HD Ready display and HD capable graphics, it's arguable whether the Acer Ferrari One is a netbook at all. While its £399 MSRP is just about within the confines of netbook territory (only just), its hardware gives it more in common with ultra-low voltage laptops like the HP Pavilion dv2 and similar.

As such, for the purposes of this review, we've treated it like we would them, running our usual gamut of laptop tests - we'll save the larger debate for another time. It's worth noting the Acer Ferrari One isn't alone in treading this fine line, either. Dell's Inspiron 11z, another 11.6in 'ultra-portable', is already on sale and HP and Toshiba also have designs on this category. You can fully expect others to follow and a price war to begin.

Given its Ferrari association it's no surprise to see plenty of Scuderia inspired elements in the Ferrari One's design. Its scarlet red lid is a given, as are the famous prancing horse badges so iconic of the folks from Maranello. Other 'sporty' touches include the faux-carbon fibre on the palm-rest and, somewhat bizarrely, the tyre inspired rubber feet. In truth, though, due to the constraints on price this isn't the flamboyant, decadent product that past Ferrari-branded efforts were.

Fundamentally, then, this is good-looking, well-designed machine. It won't leave people gasping in admiration and inevitably some may dislike the connotations of owning a Ferrari-branded product, but it won't embarrass you either. Provided, that is, you remember to turn off the 'vrrrooooom' boot chime. Now that is embarrassing!

Where its design, or rather its size, is of particular benefit is the keyboard. Due to the 11.6in frame it is among the best 'netbook' keyboards around, with large, easy to use keys and a solid uncluttered layout. We're not totally sure about the curiously-shaped touchpad that accompanies it, but by and large the 1.44kg chassis treads a good line between portability and usability.


October 2, 2009, 2:58 pm

Better than the Air then :P.

C'mon, someone was going to say it ;).


October 2, 2009, 8:14 pm

Looks great, I would definitely consider it except for one thing - no HDMI! I appreciate that you can still output video through VGA, but then I'd need to output audio separately too. The ability to decode 1080p video is nice, but to me fairly pointless without HDMI.


October 3, 2009, 12:15 am

Can't buy that due to the ferrari logo on the back - like wearing a ferrari baseball cap.


October 3, 2009, 1:34 am

the fact it goes "vroooom!" on startup eliminates the HDMI negative in my books.


October 4, 2009, 3:32 am

The noisy fans is very disappointing. I can live without HDMI but don't like noisy computers. This is my type of netbook/ultra portable, a dual core with dedicated graphics.

They should just make the lid silver. I remember an Acer Ferrari with a silver lid??

Nigel Craig

November 19, 2009, 11:42 pm

I must correct the video, it does not have a noisy fan. It is very quiet. Great little netbook. Had it one week so far and can't find any fault in any way.


December 14, 2009, 3:23 am

I bought one a couple of months ago - it was silent for 3 weeks then developed a noisy fan, something between a rattle and a buzz. This is very disappointing from an otherwise powerful and handy machine. Sadly speedfan and other monitors do not work on this model so I can't adjust the fan - it makes lots of fan noise at temperatures as low as 30 degrees C, temps that shouldn't need a fan to be on at all.


January 18, 2010, 10:30 am

Would be nice to see a performance review where it was pitted against the Acer Ferrari one netbook.

Acer ferrari one vs the Eee pc 1201n.. While looking for reviews of both these netbooks iv seen a few requests by budding netbook owners requesting the same thing.


January 18, 2010, 10:33 am

Would be nice to see a performance review where it was pitted against the Eee pc 1201n. netbook.

Acer ferrari one vs the Eee pc 1201n... best video performance, best gaming performance fastest cpu etc.


January 23, 2010, 7:36 pm

I bought one of these laptps yesterday. I've used it a good few hours and so far I cannot say that it has loud fan noise at all and it does not generate large amounts of heat. It is at the most a quiet whirr. This smashing little machine packs some degree of gaming capability, effective video and HD playback and the very fast multasking of a much more expensive ultraportable for £400. Add to that the bonus of a rock solid build quality and great keyboard and crystal clear display on pictures & font. The battery life is just as good as most ultraportables and regular netbooks at 4-5 hours, just as good as my Samsung NC10 which has much lower powered hardware. It is wrong to compare the battery life with the Timeline series, it needs to be compared alongside other regular netbooks and ultraportables.

Yes, the design and colour scheme is like Marmite, you either love it or hate it but it is sure distinctive in a world of homogenous if sleek machines. I disagree having the Ferrari logo makes one appear a wannabee who can't afford the car. So what? One can admire Ferrari branding and perhaps even be a F1 fan. This lovely little cross somwehere between an ultraportable and premium netbook has the performance to go with the branding image. If you like he design but don't want to pay silly prices you cannot go wrong.

Apart from that, the review is very accurate and a pretty fair score, except I'd give it 9/10 at its pricing point.


January 24, 2010, 2:38 am

It seems the owners in this thread are split between noisy and quiet fans. I was in the quiet camp for the first 3 hours the computer was on. Then I heard a clunk like a Ferrari had been mis-shifted and started to make a metallic buzzing noise from the fan similar to how ando321 described it. This happened at idle. I have not heard the quiet (and pleasant) whirr I heard at first use in the week since. It makes the rattly buzzing noise when I boot it up... when it's cool... I'm afraid to take it to class for the noise it makes.

I also own a Lenovo S10, another "loud" netbook that runs hot but this is altogether different. I love everything about this little red beast except for the fan issue :(


March 10, 2010, 5:33 pm

I don't have any real problems with this netbook other than the touchpad. I would like to adjust the sensitivity but there doesn't seem to be an option under touchpad properties so I will use my wireless nano mouse most of the time.

My main problem is not with the machine but with the online registration site. Each time I try to submit the Serial Number I get the message (in red) to "check serial number". I have triple checked that it is correct and that the sticker underneath the machine, the SN printed on the box, the one listed in the BIOS and the VCARD are all identical. I only use a 0 (zero) and not the letter O so I don't understand why it isn't recognised?

Another problem I encountered is that when I enter the SNID the online form only accepts 3 digits so it is not capable of taking the full number.

Has anyone else had any trouble registering their products?

pradeep amgain

November 26, 2013, 3:23 pm

my ferrari one heat up fast and shut down with in 20 min .wht is the solution of it?

comments powered by Disqus