April 21, 2013, 9:47 pm

Why are TR not listing the most important part of a laptop (the specs) any more?


April 21, 2013, 9:48 pm

Specs should have its own page

Matthew Salmon

April 24, 2013, 9:08 am

The connector next to the HDMI is not a display port - its a proprietary connector for the VGA and Ethernet dongle. The laptop has a backlit keyboard also (worth mentioning) and the version in your review is an Ivy bridge i5-3317u with HD 4000 gfx. Lower spec sandybridge versions are available online currently which people should avoid. Cheers

Matthew Salmon

May 3, 2013, 10:19 pm

Re: The wifi issue mentioned - it just ships with a bad driver - this can be updated via the acer website..

Eric ServBasic

August 11, 2013, 2:10 pm

Mine lasted about 8 days and permanently lost its operating system. Been reading all night seems to be more the Acer v5 than windows. Recovery Disk didnt work and the built in repair for windows took 14 hours to say no operating system It is a cheep PC but so is Toshiba and I work them to death here. Eric / Software sales and support


September 22, 2013, 8:00 am

First Acer I've bought and will definately be the last.
Won't connect to Wi-Fi (even after Acer sent me updated drivers),so I plugged my cable modem from my Desktop and still only limited access,which is basically none.
The Techs don't know what to do.$600 piece of crap


October 7, 2013, 6:10 pm

I bought mine at Future Shop and I asked the salesman about the wi-fi connection problem and he lied. This laptop sucks. I am lucky to get 30 seconds online before it goes to limited access. I then have to disconnect and reconnect. Worst purchase I have ever bought.

Jon Vella

October 9, 2013, 3:45 pm

This laptop is a good build, just remove the wifi lan card and change it to another brand for not more than eur25. Thats all...


December 28, 2013, 8:37 pm

I hate the task bar, give me a mouse or a right / left click option anyday. The touch screen only works 1/2 the time


February 8, 2014, 7:55 pm

i got this computer a few months ago andabsolutley Iove it. it's a great price especially with the touch screen. i love the key board which lights up underneath. this computer starts up very quickly and is the fastest computer i have used. mine is much faster than my parents dell laptops and my ipad mini 1. the battery life isn't gonna wow you lasting no more than four hours if that. i dont find this a problem though because my laptop is always home plugged in as i use my ipad mini for traveling. this computer is very slim only half the thickness as most computers. ts not really light either so not the bets choice for traveling. i don't have any problems with screen quality. i would definitely recommend this computer if you are looking for a touch screen computer that wont break your bank


July 23, 2014, 11:53 pm

This is the bane of my current life! I have been looking for 2 laptops for my friends kids with at least an Intel HD 4000 for gaming at the bare minimum.

How do review and shop sites get away without listing the most basic components of a laptop (most don't even include the specific GPU only a generic name - 'Intel integrated' )?

You would be surprised to hear that even HP/Toshiba and more often don't even list this GPU detail on their website specs and sites such as NotebookReview, which should have the details, often have their specs section BLANK! WTF?! I can only imagine that people are truly stupid these days and will buy inferior and old components as long as they are packaged well. People are being ripped off and they don't's their own fault as most people don't care about the inside as long as the outside looks good...I had the same with a friend who wanted a tablet, and despite telling him that the Nexus 10 was way superior in screen and components and cheaper in price than the Samsung Tab 10, he took the Samsung because it looked better.

comments powered by Disqus