Acer Aspire Timeline 4810T - 14in Laptop - Acer Aspire Timeline 4810T

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


Having dealt in some detail with the design of the 4810T, it's about time we get onto what powers it. As already mentioned, the cast is led by an SU9400 ULV Intel Core 2 Duo processor, which has a thermal envelope of a mere 10W. Its clock-speed of 1.4GHz might seem slow, but it's a necessary sacrifice to ensure the 4810T's portability.

Moreover, in our PCMark Vantage results the 1.4GHz SU9400 does quite well against the 2.26GHz P8400 Core 2 Duo found on Samsung's contender for the 14in light-and-thin throne, the 1.9kg X460 we looked at last year. More surprising is how much it outperforms the 1.2GHz SU9300-equipped Sony VAIO VGN-T11WN - a machine that costs twice as much as the Acer (in fairness, the Sony TT is on another level when it comes to portability).

Acer Aspire Timeline 4810T side angle

Basically, what the CPU performance comes down to is that while no speed demon, the 4810T should be perfectly happy running your daily productivity needs. Its CPU is backed by 3GB of DDR3 RAM, which is the maximum the included Windows Vista Premium 32-bit OS can handle anyway, as well as fairly generous 320GB hard drive. Further specifications include Draft-N Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR.

Graphics come courtesy of Intel's integrated GMA chip based on the Series 4 chipset. While this is undeniably underpowered when it comes to 3D graphics, scoring a measly 6.17 frames per second in TrackMania Nations Forever on medium detail at the screen's native 1,366 x 768 resolution, it's one of the most efficient graphics systems when it comes to battery life and can handle everyday tasks with ease. This system did struggle a little with Full HD .mov files, but less intensive codecs shouldn't pose a problem and 720p content (the most likely source given the screen resolution) posed no such issues.

Acer Aspire Timeline 4810T buttons

Another slight let down on the entertainment side are the 4810T's speakers, which live up to their tiny dimensions by being average at best. Though they don't suffer from distortion like the speakers found on most ultra-thin notebooks, they lack both bass and depth, meaning you're never drawn into music or films. One thing the 4810T and Timeline series does offer, though, is Dolby Sound Room, which should enhance your listening experience if hooked up to a decent set of headphones or speakers.

Acer Aspire Timeline 4810T camera

Like a lot of new laptops right now, the Timeline series feature 16:9 ratio displays - all of which are LED backlit and have a 1,366 x 768 native resolution. In the case of the 4810T, its display is solid, if a tad underwhelming. Its reflective glossy coating doesn't help matters, though this seems a pre-requisite with any consumer orientated machine. More off-putting are the viewing angles, which aren't the best, and whose severe contrast shift means greyscale performance isn't very consistent.

However, for a portable machine - particularly one so affordably priced - it's not the end of the world and in most other respects it's just fine. Minimal banding, no sign of backlight bleed, good colour fidelity and sharp text mean it does a fine job for office work and everyday usage, while many potential buyers probably won't even notice its failings.


May 15, 2009, 12:49 pm

Looks like a very nice machine for the price although I think it looks better in pictures than it does 'in the flesh' in your video. It looks ideal for those who spend a lot of time away from the office thanks to the battery life. As for the price, at least Acer have been realistic!!

Andy Vandervell

May 15, 2009, 8:29 pm

Our photographer will no doubt be pleased to hear that!

You're right, though, and when Ardjuna was referring to "the office" believing it be a tad boring/conservative, he was mainly referring to me. Still, you can't argue with the battery life, it's astounding.


May 16, 2009, 3:05 am

I'd rather have this, than a netbook.

Lewis Liu

May 16, 2009, 9:00 am

The hands-on article for the Timeline series mentioned a model with switchable HD4330 graphics available. Any idea when said model will be available for purchase?

This might just be the one for me. ^_^


May 29, 2009, 3:30 pm

I love this laptop. I need a new laptop few university and was about to turn in for a macbook. However I still prefer windows as I have become accustomed to it so it's great to see laptops of a similar form factor (THE THINNESS!!). If acer added the nvidia 9400m would it decrease the battery life significantly?


May 29, 2009, 8:43 pm


Yep, I'm sure many people would, but there is still a considerable price and size differential. The 13.3in Timeline may remedy both of these issues - hopefully we'll get to review one soon.

@Lewis Liu:

Models using switchable HD4330 graphics should be coming down the line, but for now we're stuck with good old GMA4500HD.

And indeed, the Timelines are rather tempting...


As Lewis Liu mentioned, there might be an update at some stage with switchable discrete graphics, meaning battery life shouldn't be affected as long as you used the Intel chipset.


May 30, 2009, 8:14 pm

Will the Laptop still ship with the 1.6ghz processor and the HD4330 in the future? Those specs, combined with the 14" Chassis and all day battery will make this the laptop to have for a student.


June 2, 2009, 4:43 am

How does it handle HD Youtube/Hulu or other HD Flash videos? and any1 clue when its coming out in the US or where I can buy it


July 2, 2009, 4:01 pm

Where would be the best place to buy this laptop? Are there any offers going on or a planned price drop? Would it be better to wait until it is released with windows 7? Thank you Ardjuna for the clarification on the graphics coming down the line.

John Madison

August 3, 2009, 2:14 am

I write this one hour after having purchased the Acer 8410t at Office Depot in Athens, GA for $549.00 (no tax...this is the last day of our "back to school" tax holiday). This is the NTBKAS4810T-8480, 14". This version ships with 4GB RAM and Vista Home Premium. The Office Depot sale is good thru Sat., August 8.


August 25, 2009, 5:47 pm

I think Acer got most things right with this notebook. It's a very sensible combination of components - there's nothing in it that feels unnecessary and you get the impression that both the design and the specifications were thought about a lot.

I tried it out in a shop the other day and it feels sturdy and very comfortable, something I miss in most of the shiny competitors. And what more could you really want in a notebook? It's comfortable, fast enough for nearly everybody, offers astonishing battery life and is good value. The only two things I wasn't too pleased about were the shiny and a little "sticky" keyboard as well as the slightly dull screen - just like Ardjuna said...

I can really see why you gave it such a high score, Ardjuna, and thanks for recommending this - if I didn't have a Thinkpad already (maybe that's why I'm so biased towards shiny-ness :D), I would be highly tempted to get this one.

Are you going to review the 13 inch model as well? That one seems pretty interesting, too (though it is missing an optical drive and isn't really that much smaller and lighter {well, okay, 300g} than the 14" model)...

Jon 5

September 2, 2009, 11:24 pm

Am thinking to buy an Acer Aspire Timline with an Intel Pentium Processor Su2700

Is there anyone who could advise me on that. Is there a big difference between Su2700 and the Su9400? Is that the same as 4810T? Everything else seams to be the same or similar when I look at the specs. Please advise.


October 6, 2009, 3:12 pm

At £499 in Comet, this laptop is well worth a look now. Just the style of the keys that lets it down in my view.


October 8, 2009, 1:36 pm

I bought it yesterday for 635€. Deciding between Lenovo U350 (for �) I opted for Acer, since it had optical drive, faster CPU (U3500), double the RAM, dobule the battery life, and double the HDD. On our market it comes with 500GB HDD and 4GB's of RAM. Bulid quality is great, aluminum all over the place, even buttons. I love it so far, the only thing that are not so great are the left shift button (too short for my taste) and the screen viewing angle which is less than stellar. Everything else is superb, it really feels like expensive business laptop.


November 25, 2009, 10:40 am

Tethering: Can I use a BlackBerry as modem with the Acer Aspire 4810TZ-4508 Timeline 14" notebook?


December 16, 2009, 12:19 pm

I purchased the Acer Aspire 4810 T....OMG....HUGE MISTAKE! I think they must write their own reviews to make this product look worth a purchase. It is AWFUL! Customer support is useless. It constantly freezes, you need to shut down often and loose everything you were just working on....MOST FRUSTRATING COMPUTER I'VE EVER USED. BUY BEWARE..... you better get something else if you don't want to be stressed all the time.


December 16, 2009, 4:26 pm


Thanks, glad you liked the review :)


The SU2700 is a single-core CPU running at 1.3GHz, while the SU9400 is a dual-core model at 1.4GHz. This is nothing to do with '4810T', which is the model number Acer use to denote this particular laptop model.


Whether you can use a mobile phone as a modem depends on the phone, not on the laptop.


Thanks for the feedback, but I hope you're not suggesting Acer wrote our review here? Our test sample worked perfectly without issue - otherwise we wouldn't have recommended it, obviously.

I've talked to a few acquaintances who've purchased it and they don't report any problems either, and don't take my word for it: Sizif seems to be happy with his/her purchase too.

It would appear you've just bought a defective model, which can happen with any laptop series from any brand. Also, could you elaborate on how Acer's customer support is "useless"?


December 19, 2009, 10:25 am

I agree with bklyn330. DON'T buy it. The 4810T has an inherent fault in that the screen sometimes goes "black" as part of the power saving, I think. You are supposed to press any key for it to return to normal. However this didn't work. After lots of surfing I learned that to reset you had to remove power and battery and press Fn + power for 30 secs. The first time this worked ok and the screen returned to normal. Now it has just happened again and the reset trick didn't work. The pc is working ok but you just cannot see anything (well very, VERY faintly). Anyone know any other solution? Buyers beware, give this a wide berth. Oh and the Acer site says nothing about it and it seems a fairly common fault looking at other sites.


December 29, 2009, 1:30 am

I agree with bklyn330 and Christos. This thing is nothing better than a 4-pound paperweight. KEEP LOOKING & DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD-EARNED MONEY ON THIS!!!

I bought this laptop for my mom as a gift while she undergoes chemo and it's been nothing but problematic since the first day. I removed all the bloatware & games right away (per reviews I read). She was complaining the battery died quickly so we called Acer's customer service - they had us run some optimization process (charging, fully discharging, recharging) that made no difference in the end. It definitely doesn't get the 5-7 hours it was advertised at, more like 3 hours tops. I ordered & upgraded her OS to Windows 7 thinking that would help since I've heard Vista's a battery-drainer. The upgrade failed midway and the DVD drive was no longer recognized as a peripheral on the laptop. After several Windows updates, Acer updates and finally reboot after reboot after reboot, the upgrade finished somehow (I still don't know how...!). The DVD drive still isn't right. Laptop doesn't recognize it's there after being in Hibernate, a full restart is required. Most recent issue is a complete inability to boot. Mom's getting an iPod so I downloaded iTunes Christmas day so she could pre-load her music. It stopped downloading after 480 songs. She shut it down and now it won't even reboot in Safe Mode - it freezes at a sys file. She uses this laptop to SURF THE INTERNET. The only software installed is Norton, Yahoo Messenger & whatever it shipped with (besides what I uninstalled). Mom asked, "Are all laptops like this?" and I didn't know what to say. She thinks she did something wrong but NOTHING should cause this kind of catastophic failure.

Through all of this Acer's Customer Service has been a joke. I suspect these folks are inadequately trained on proper PC support and therefore CANNOT give customers answers that solve problems. I felt as if every question was deflected. At one point I must have asked one service rep at least 5 times which package to download as one was 4 MB and the other was 27 but they were labelled as the same thing. I could tell he wanted to hang up on me and I wasn't about to let him. Finally he told me that maybe possibly they've had issues with the optical drive and Windows 7 upgrades so I should restore to the default image (Vista). That was 45 days ago and still no update on their site or Microsoft's. I thought this was the 2nd largest pc maker... would think this would be posted by now. If I could, I would return this laptop, but I'm 90 days in... well past the 2-week policy Staples has.


January 5, 2010, 9:06 am

I purchased this laptop (4810T) without much thought after my Panasonic W4 failed. After using the W4 (Japanese edition) for four years, this laptop feels bulky and loud (W4 had no fan), otherwise its quite nice. Linux runs great on it (for a start Ubuntu 9.10 will do). What I do not seem to acheive is the quoted 8 hours of battery life, best I get is about 4 hours (ratio for W4 was 6 out of 8 claimed hours). All in all not bad for the price.

The comments by bklyn330 and dnvrdrvr seem to complain more about the operating system than about the hardware. Installing a new operating system is usually not easy, but Ubuntu 9.10 is surprisingly

effortless (test it as a Live-CD).

wat 1

February 7, 2010, 5:26 am

This notebook is just fine folks. Typing this review with it as we speak. First, Vista is a steaming pile of... you get the idea. You should run windows 7 on this machine. Second, if you are having problems with the power saving features there is a bios update that fixes what has been described. You should really check things like this before you give it negative reviews. ~$400 for this machine is a steal. Fantastic deal.


February 14, 2010, 8:19 pm

Ok, first off think netbook with benefits (little bigger with drive & workable specs). This is not a powerful machine but it does not need to be. For general computing & multimedia most machines these days are overkill anyway. This hits all the right points for a basic laptop:

1. price.....check

2. efficiency.....check

3. stability.......check

4. features......check

5. size.......check

Yes it's very stable (Win7 & bios update)

It's quiet, no audible fan chatter

battery life is ~5-6 hours when using wifi,optical drive.....

All drivers native in win 7 except for the optical drive program that needs to be loaded.

Even with these low specs I'm able to run older games well such as half life 2.

1 gripe bluetooth. Why oh why would they omit that when even the cheapest electronics now have it? I don't get that one.

If your torn between netbook and laptop this IS WHAT YOU WANT.

If you want to play games look elsewhere, you'll need a machine with a dedicated graphics processor.


March 12, 2010, 11:03 am

Right dnvrdrvr! I've been dealing with the freezing since I bought this piece of junk! What a waste of hard-earned money. I wish I had used a charge card and I would have tried to get out of's so awful. Acer has told me I can send it to TX for repairs but the cost is MINE! So after insurance and packing with no guarantee of fixing it I decided to just hoping I can find a Toshiba or HP cheap enough to get me through while I save again. It's definitely the WORST equipment I've ever had to deal with. BUYER BEWARE!


July 16, 2010, 12:34 am

I have bought my Acer 4810TZG about a month ago, i can only say that its a superb laptop... i was lucky to buy the Olympics special edition (it comes with a dual-core U4100 processor, 500GB hard-disk, and luckily windows 7) .. i was able to extract over 8 hours of battery life under normal conditions (while listening to music, working on Excel/Word, and some browsing).. there is a very nice feature that this review do not mention, and its that the laptop has two VGA cards, and its switches between them according to the power-plan chosen ( but during this process, the screen goes off for several seconds)

Concluding, I think this is a very nice laptop for everyday use.. with very attractive price!!


September 2, 2013, 1:11 pm

The main reason you can't get longer battery life is that you are using Linux. I've got this machine (with Dual boot- Debian/Win7) and it can run about 5-6 hrs on battery - in Win with wifi turned on and without any power management software that was included with Vista in the past. Linux's got worse power management than Windows and that means no matter what brand or model you have - with Linux your NB won't last that long on battery that with Win.

comments powered by Disqus