Wired2Fire HellSpawn ALC Gaming PC - Feature Table

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Wired2Fire HellSpawn ALC Gaming PC

Summary

Our Score:

8

Ed 3

July 29, 2009, 5:21 am

Finally a gamer pc review! Been waiting ages for one like this..wish there were more though!

Ben

July 29, 2009, 3:32 pm

I enjoyed it, too, I like the gaming machine ones :D Quite hard to get excited about the product itself, but it does seem like great value. Especially when I think about how much I spend on Apple stuff :D

William Smith

July 30, 2009, 1:15 am

I would definitely reconsider giving this PC a recommended given the water cooling it uses. The Domino ALC has been slated by other technology sites as fiddly, bad quality and prone to breaking and if I may link to another site check out this review of the unit here http://www.bit-tech.net/hardwa...





I think it is one corner too many cut in my opinion.

PB

July 30, 2009, 2:38 am

Great review thanks Ardjuna, would really like more details on how noisy it is though, what is it like when you're not gaming? A video review demonstrating the noise levels would be ideal.





I haven't bought a new PC since our family one which is an old P4 pentium and it HOWLS.

TechVegan

July 30, 2009, 5:38 pm

Glad you like it guys!





@Ed:


Hopefully we'll get some more in soon.





@William Smith:


True enough, but you'll notice most of the problems are when installing and overclocking yourself, neither of which is the case with this PC. To quote the article you're linking to: "CoolIT has made a good product for system integrators. Clearly its excellence in making units for high end Dell PCs has rubbed off here".





In our tests the CoolIT installed in this PC performed better than any air-cooled setup we've had through the office, and since there's only a small price-premium it offers good value.





@PB:


It's not the quietest system when not gaming, but all it produces is a slight hum. Also, let me qualify the former statement by saying it IS the quietest PC with this level of hardware performance we've had through the office. However, to make it truly unobtrusive you'd need to install a quieter cooler for the video card.

Pbryanw

July 30, 2009, 6:50 pm

Considering the graphics card is the noisiest component in this PC, it's a shame (as mentioned in the article) that Wired2Fire don't offer Nvidia GPU's as options. Especially, since the GTX 275 is supposed to be quieter then the 4890, from what I've read.

Luan Bach

July 30, 2009, 7:35 pm

Is it true that you will need to occasionally top up the water level for these cooling systems ?

TechVegan

July 30, 2009, 9:22 pm

@Pbryanw:


Indeed, though noise levels vary depending on whether you're gaming or 'idle'.





@Luan Bach:


You shouldn't need to as it's a pre-assembled, closed system.

Tom 9

October 29, 2009, 4:24 pm

the case is horrible.

comments powered by Disqus