Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer pictures

1 of 4 pictures

Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer
Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer

4 Pictures - Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer

  • Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer
  • Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer
  • Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer
  • Wicked Lasers Sonar II Burner Blu-ray Laser Pointer

Williamn

August 3, 2008, 4:06 am

ٟ,000 for a laser pointer? Is this a belated April fools joke?

Itrustmyviews

August 3, 2008, 4:47 am

I still believe in freedom of choice but when that choice, however safe and sound with sane-minded adults, its a dangerous item for any shelf!!! There is only one thrill hetre when its switched on... to see some damage caused!!! No thrill of that nature can warrant its sane use nor legal approval unless we have legislators and criminal Chief Justices who themselves harbor such sucked agendas with excuses for whatever Constitution they suggest in upholding...

Hugo

August 3, 2008, 6:34 am

Not a bit of it :)

jopey

August 3, 2008, 8:17 am

Pfft... HDDVD drives are going for 㿅 at game station. You could pull one of those apart and get the same laser for a LOT less. Then hook it together in a mag-light casing with some kind of electrical gubbins. MUCH cheaper.

GoldenGuy

August 3, 2008, 11:53 am

Sorry, I must have missed something. What. Is. This. For?





A laser pen is dirt cheap so it doesn't need to be FOR anything. This is a grand. Even the loaded will spend their cash on inconsequential toys that have an actual purpose - dressing up a chihuahua to make it presentable; gold teeth to redecorate your face, etc.





Either argue for its utility or revise its rating, because 9 out of 10 for a torch - is even way beyond AppleShaft territory.





(Oh wait, you think Sith's a film - sorry the jigsaw is complete.)

ilovethemonkeyhead

August 3, 2008, 12:21 pm

i'm on that website now :D

Kebab

August 3, 2008, 3:02 pm

� for a laser pointer and a recommended award? How is a Class IIb anything but dangerous? You are insane my friend - I'm dialing 999 right now.

Beaky69

August 3, 2008, 3:12 pm

If it doesn't make light-sabre sounds as you move it around, I ain't interested...although it might have its advantages for company presentations I suppose, being 'blinded by science' could be a definite possibility ;o)

Hallainzil

August 3, 2008, 3:23 pm

Unadulterated exploitation of your position as a technology journalist - I love it! (If I were in your position, I'm sure I'd do it a lot more often than you!)





All male office? No Sandra?

Leebod

August 3, 2008, 3:44 pm

What on earth is going on at Trusted Reviews?! Two pages of absolute tosh. On top of that you even have the audacity to give it 6/10 for value. Unbelievable. I take it the editor is on holiday?! I expect to see reviews of Vertu's next.

Ben

August 3, 2008, 4:50 pm

And it's damaging to skin and even more so to eyes?





I'm sorry, ٟ,000? Yes, that's definitely a 6/10 for value! :S

jordanwise

August 3, 2008, 4:56 pm

now THATS the kind of review I like reading

Williamn

August 3, 2008, 5:59 pm

Damn. I was hoping it was.

Darfuria

August 3, 2008, 6:06 pm

Shame you couldn't get some action photos. Nothing in the review really inspires me to consider spending money I don't have to get one.

Hugo

August 3, 2008, 6:17 pm

Yes, you could make one yourself, but it wouldn't have the built quality:


http://www.diylife.com/2007/11...





Sadly no sabre sounds, but coupled with an app from the iPhone App Store that *does* make saber soudns as you wave it it the possibilities are endless!





It's an all male office - Sandra is a freelancer so she doesn't work from here.





It was our editor who requested we have the laser in for review. I don't see what your problem is in our reviewing something a bit more outlandish for once. If you actually saw, held and used the laser you'd realise why it's actually still fairly good value - it really feels like a grands worth of kit.





We're going to try and get some pictures of the beam in the dark, but we're all runnish night time photographers so the ones we took didn't come out very well :p

Andy Vandervell

August 3, 2008, 6:56 pm

It's just a bit fun really, guys. I wouldn't take the scores that seriously.

Lord Comben III

August 3, 2008, 7:51 pm

Certainly did look like fun you lucky scamps :)

Ben

August 3, 2008, 10:05 pm

"It's just a bit fun really, guys. I wouldn't take the scores that seriously." - No, I certainly wont be taking Trusted Reviews scores very seriously from now on!

ilovethemonkeyhead

August 3, 2008, 10:36 pm

funny, i had always thought lasers were for burning things, not give stuff skin cancer...





star wars lightsabre battles would be so much longer if that were the case, you'd wait for your opponent to die of cancer before continuing.

Hugo

August 4, 2008, 1:05 am

Ben: When has anyone taken us seriously ;)





ilovethemonkeyhead: Lightsabers are not lasers, they're a contained beam of plasma. That's of course discounting the more important fact that they're not even real.





Realistically I imagine you'd be hard pushed to do any physical damage to your skin with this laser, by I definitely wouldn't want it pointing anywhere near my eyes!

Geoff Sowels

August 4, 2008, 5:05 am

If you want good pictures, I'll happily pop over and take a few of your mysteriously lit-up cloud ;) Or you could just send me the Sonar II and I'll obtain a few decent snaps, send it back, you can have some nice RAW format images to publish and print in large-format for your office wall? :)





Nice device. Shame 'bout the price tag. I'd rather spend � + VAT on some nice lenses.

Riyad

August 4, 2008, 2:24 pm

As already mentioned, we fancied doing something that was just fun, and yes being an all male office probably does enhance the "lasers are cool" opinion :)





Seeing a blue laser being used for something other than just an optical disc player is refreshing to say the least. And playing with this thing at night, with little ambient light polution is nothing short of stunning.





Yes it's expensive, yes it's potentially pointless for the majority of people, but that doesn't stop it being the kind of thing that I dreamt about when I was a kid!





Ultimately, I have plans to launch a gadgets section on TR, where we can cover things that are particularly impressive implementations of technology, but don't really justify purchase, other than the "I want one" feeling.





Let's face it, Sony's AIBO did pretty much nothing, but it didn't stop people around the world fighting for the chance to spend thousands of pounds on one. I remember running the first UK review of AIBO when I was still editing PCW - the sales of that issue were massive and the feedback huge.





Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions of stuff that we could potentially get our paws on, that would make a cool gadget review, let us know.

Darfuria

August 4, 2008, 11:02 pm

http://www.iwantoneofthose.com...





A gadgets section would be awesome

albert

November 11, 2008, 5:27 am

Here are some reviews :





http://laserpointerreview.blog...

davidgdg

December 3, 2008, 6:30 pm

"Even the loaded will spend their cash on inconsequential toys that have an actual purpose - dressing up a chihuahua to make it presentable; gold teeth to redecorate your face, etc."





I can personally vouch that the purpose of buying lasers like these is fun. Pure and simple. Shining them up in the sky. Picking out a tree from a mile. Lighting matches. Making gorgeous patterns with diffraction gratings. Making luminous toys glow like fire. And just owning something that is pure sci fi. Utility is not the point.





I would say though that the price quoted is very high, compared to similar lasers that can be bought from other suppliers / home workshops. As always, it pays to shop around!





Great review though. Good to see the site branching out beyond the obvious.

comments powered by Disqus