Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Western Digital My Book World Edition

Summary

Our Score

8/10

User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Web Configuration login screen

Folder Options

LAN Settings

Network Services

Network workgroups and Domain Settings

User Configuration

iTunes Server Options

DLNA Media Server Settings - for some reason WD hasn't tweaked the Twonky interface to match the rest of the system

Scores In Detail

Value
10/10
Features
8/10

Our Score

8/10

User Score

Previous page

SteveM

February 18, 2009, 7:35 pm

How does this compare to the Iomega Home Media Network Hard Drive that was released recently? Any chance of a group test of consumer level NAS boxes?

Steve 12

February 18, 2009, 8:07 pm

The 𧴩.56 price quoted is actually for the old 500GB model

Simon

February 18, 2009, 8:09 pm

Why is the price listed as '𧴩.56 (Inc VAT)' which for the 500GB, but you reviewed the 1GB?

Ed

February 18, 2009, 9:12 pm

Ah, crumbs. My eyes were deceiving me. Thought it was remarkably far below the MSRP. As mentioned in the review, this still represents outstanding value at the MSRP of 𧵠.99.

mjaffk

February 18, 2009, 10:24 pm

I still don't really get the idea. An old celeron-something PC is free from freesycle + 2 new 1tb drives = 2x㿨 = 𧴰. A little hungry on the energy side (depends) and a little more ugly and space consuming, but as for the abilities and flexibilities..! And, of course, price.

Andy Vandervell

February 18, 2009, 10:26 pm

I doubt somehow most user would want to go to such lengths. I know I wouldn't.

GherkingTR

February 19, 2009, 12:23 am

Nice to see a gigabit interface on a cheaper NAS.


I really hope NAS enclosures become as cheap as USB enclosures as demand goes up. Does this unit have a wake-on-lan feature?

GaryRW

February 19, 2009, 4:15 am

Does it spin down the drive (apparently not all NAS's do) & what's the power draw like??





I've gone with Лис's idea - though it was an old pc from work with FreeNas put on it. The main drawback is it hasn't got SATA, so I'm currently stuck with an old 200gb IDE drive I had spare. It's the power it must suck up running 24/7 that I really don't like though. (planning to borrow a mates power meter at some point...)



Henrik

February 19, 2009, 11:38 am

No word on the performance? the old WD World Edition had realy useless transferspeeds (7-10mb sec over gbitt), any improvement here?

robjohn

February 19, 2009, 2:42 pm

I use a Mac as my main PC and a netbook running XP as travelling machine. I always have a problem with automated backups for the Mac (including Time Machine) in that backups of a Mac are not readable as files on an XP. Does anyone know if I used this WD would the back up files from my Mac be readable from a windows machine on the network or remotely?

Ed

February 19, 2009, 3:44 pm

Updated with read and write speeds as well as power figures.

smc8788

February 19, 2009, 9:34 pm

@ Rob - That's because Windows and OS X use different file systems (OS X uses HFS+ and Windows uses NTFS). Windows doesn't natively recognise HFS+ formatted drives so you will need a program in order to access the data on them (I think MacDrive and TransMac do this). At least, this is my understanding of it as I have never used a Mac.

robjohn

February 19, 2009, 10:23 pm

@ smc8788 - thanks for your input. I appreciate why I presently cannot read Mac backup files on a Windows system. That is why I am curious whether the WD provides me a solution, without resorting to third party apps (I tried and did not find them useful). The video about this drive on the WD website suggests that a mixed Mac PC network is fully functional. I am unable to locate a website in UK that sells this drive. The 'latest price' link on TR goes to 100 of wireless router products.

Ed

February 19, 2009, 11:05 pm

Rob, this will support a mixed mac and PC network - see the screenshots for what file systems is supports. I've not found anywhere that's selling these yet. I'll keep an eye out, though.

Kanu

February 23, 2009, 4:38 am

The con with a lot of these storage solutions branded by Hard Drive mnaufactures is that they dazzle buyers with "features" while often hiding the fact that they have stuffed these products with turtle-slow 4200rpm drives. The slowest of the slow.





This review fails to address this question at all. Doesnt even raise it. I'd much rather read about hard issues like that, than run through "details" than can be found anywhere.

Thomas C

February 24, 2009, 2:36 am

Any luck with anyone selling these yet?

Ed

February 24, 2009, 4:20 am

Well...





1. So far as I'm aware the drive that's used in this is identical to WD's normal Green Power drives, which run at circa 7,200 rpm.





2. While there are speed differences between NAS devices you're still hugely limited by the network connection so it's all a bit moot.





3. How many situations is the NAS box speed of concern to your average home user, the likes of which this device are targeted at.

Scott

February 24, 2009, 8:40 pm

I have the original 500GB Mybook world at it was unable to share certain types of files is this still a case on the new version?





Also is the firmware available to download as the menus are much cleaner than on the original?



robjohn

April 9, 2009, 2:01 pm

I bought this from IT247.com (𧴺 and free postage). So far I am happy with what it can do. It works plug and play out of the box for my Mac, with no software needed. I then loaded the backup app and registered free on line for the web based remote access. All of this worked flawlessly. My main machine, my iMac, now background backs up incrementally to the network drive. I can access all the files, with read and write permission, from any web browser remotely. The strength of this system is that it works with a Mac/PC mixed system. Which means I can access the backup of my Mac from a Vista or XP PC on the same network (meaning sharing a wi-fi connection on the same router). Most Mac back ups are not readable by a PC (e.g. Mac Time Machine backups cannot be read by a PC), so this is really good news for me. There is an application for Vista and XP to detect and manage the network drive. On my Vista machine this worked fine, but on both my XP laptops, I could not get the detection software to work at all (even trying the later version from the WD website). So for my XP machines I had to manually map the network drive - not difficult, but also not at all intuitive for most users. Anyway, apart from this problem, I now have the system I am looking for: Mac / PC; silent incremental back up of my Mac to a network drive, that can be accessed by a PC on the local network or via a web browser on the internet. It is what I was looking for and this provides the solution in a relatively inexpensive package.

comments powered by Disqus