• Recommended by TR
Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Read Tests

Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB

Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000

Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB

Write Tests

Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB

Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB

Previous page
Next page


January 27, 2009, 8:44 pm

4 of these puppies should cover my snapping requirements for 2009....those 5D MK2 files are huge, not to mention the HD video files. Now, if I only had a PC that could process the files :)


January 27, 2009, 9:24 pm

That is a fast review, this drive was announced less than 10 hours ago. :) I wonder how do this drive compare to 2 RAID0'ed 1TB drives in terms of price and speed. And which in real world is the better choice.

Damn, i am visiting this site for more than 2 years now, and until today i thought that "price" and "as reviewed" (on top of every review) was separate informations, and isn't meant to be read together. I thought then, that price is actual value in the day of reading, and "as reviewed" was the value shown during the review. One question kept occuring to me - why the hell is one price w/o vat and the other is with vat.


January 27, 2009, 9:32 pm

Ps.: Sorry, Ed has covered the price aspect in the end of his review.


January 27, 2009, 10:42 pm

'Irregardless'? Tut.


January 27, 2009, 10:45 pm

Thanks Martin - fixed.


January 28, 2009, 2:18 am

Bah, darned colloquialisms creeping into my writing. Well spotted.


The performance of two RAID0 1TB drives will almost certainly outstrip that of a single 2TB drive. It's not something I'd consider doing, though, due to the increased risk of complete data loss, extra power output, and the fact I'd get better performance (in day to day activities) by buying a faster hard drive in the first place.


January 28, 2009, 2:31 am

Can anyone explain the anomaly in the Vista startup and shutdown graph. In even other test the WD 2TB bests the Hitachi 1TB, but in the shutdown test it's nearly twice as slow. I'm sure there must be a reason for this?


January 28, 2009, 2:19 pm

Part of the explanation is I put in the wrong number in the graph - fixed now. As for why it's still a second or so slower, it could easily be margin of error as all the figures are so close in this test.


January 28, 2009, 3:48 pm

To Ed: Your HD Tune screen grabs you have the Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB shown twice instead of the Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.


January 28, 2009, 4:04 pm

Thanks biffzinker, fixed.

Tony Walker

January 29, 2009, 8:21 pm

Yep RAID0 is dangerous, though this got covered in the RAID0+1 version though obviously you need a PC/NAS that has four spaces for drives.

Nice to know that there will be a good future upgrade possible for me with my 2 drive ReadyNAS which I currently have populated with a pair of Samsung 1TB drives. Hope Netgear have started working on the firmware.


January 30, 2009, 5:56 pm

Have to take issue with the value score: you say 2x 1TB drives is only a 㿊 saving on this drive, but 2 of the 1TB Hitachi drives you've compared against can at the time of typing be purchased for 𧴾 each (㿯 for 1)... so you can get 3TB of Hitachi storage for an extra 㾶 or one of these WD drives.

It needs to be closer to 𧵎 before I'd consider buying or recommending one of these, even with the power consumption benefits quoted by WD.

Hans Gruber

January 27, 2010, 7:38 am

Strange coincidence with me googling for hard drives tonight, and having similar storage needs to those posting above.

I was considering 2 x 1.5TB myself as this still seems to be where the sweetspot lies (price/GB). I was going to use them within my tower PC case and was wondering whether the best option is to buy a separate RAID expansion card (so, should I change motherboard in the future and there's a different RAID controller used) I can still access the information or, whether to just use the drives as separate devices and copy exactly the same info to both manually?

Is a mirrored configuration essentially different from striped in that you can still access the info on any old PC (should anything go nipples up)? Just connect the drive/s and the info is recorded same way so you can see it in Windows explorer say? Or is it dependent still on RAID drivers/hardware to read the info (like it definitely would be as scrambled across two devices in stripe configuration)? Thanks.


June 14, 2010, 5:42 pm

Bought two of those drives Digital Caviar Green 2TB, both crashed! First after two months, second after seven months, lost about 3TB of data in total. Those drives 100% sucks... both were replaced under warranty but I lost a lot of personal data and a lot of time. So much for the WD "quality control".


June 18, 2013, 5:07 pm

Bought a total of 5 of these in the past 2 years for my business. They originally were housed in NAS enclosures. Out of 5, 3 have failed completely and 2 intermittently fail and drop out of my RAID array on my ML360 G6 server. Total and complete junk and waste of money. Spend the premium and buy a better disk. As the saying goes, pay now, or pay later.... Or foolish is the man who pays too little.

On a side note I ordered 2 2TB Caviar Black drives to replace them with. We will see how they do in my fileserver.

comments powered by Disqus