Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player pictures

1 of

Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • Toshiba XDE600 Upscaling DVD Player
  • XDE600KB DVD Player (1080p Upconversion, HDMI)

Gavin Hamer

October 9, 2009, 4:52 am

An interesting contrast to the XDE-500 review a year ago.





Correct to review it as a DVD player IMHO.

xenos

October 9, 2009, 6:31 am

So if you spent maybe £200 on a Blu-Ray player does this honestly give you a justifiably better picture with the same DVD disk?





In other works do I want it as well as a midrange Blu-Ray player?

PS3½

October 9, 2009, 2:49 pm

Thanks for the review. One question, can the XDE600 handle 4:3 material in its proper ratio when upscaled (ie does it insert side bars)? The XDE-500 couldn't and it was a major drawback.

Matt G Baish

October 9, 2009, 5:19 pm

@Gavin Hamer - Har yes exactly what I was thinking :)

Andy Vandervell

October 9, 2009, 6:13 pm

I think the key thing to note here is that this is priced like a DVD player, whereas the XDE500 was priced like a Blu-ray player.

Rob Halcro

February 16, 2010, 11:34 pm

I've read a number of the reviews (all Toshiba): SD390EKB & SD190EKB (in TESCOs) & the above XDE600 & a few questions have arisen.


1. If I unlock the DVD players to enable me to play all regions will this affect picture quality or anything?


2. Will I be able to play region 1 {NTSC} discs OK?


3. Would you recommend DVD players best suited to me?

Tony Cashmere

March 4, 2010, 10:54 am

Whoa!!! How does one get a dvd player unlocked??? I am planning on buying this product so i cant watch my U.K. dvds on my tv. My only question is what kind of power supply does this unit use. Since i am in canada and i have heard that UK and the rest of Europe use a different power supply. Hopefully some one can bless me with some knowledge on this topic.

douglas coutts

August 7, 2010, 6:01 pm

Is the xde 600 multi region ? Is there a dealer that sells this player for displaying both region 2 and region 1?

barry fry

August 25, 2010, 8:53 pm

just bought one but cant seem to get rid of the annoying "loading" for every photo when I play a JPEG DVD. Any suggestions

comments powered by Disqus