Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone pictures

1 of 11 pictures

Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone

11 Pictures - Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone

  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone
  • Toshiba TG01 Windows Mobile Smartphone


July 28, 2009, 5:28 am

"if you're the type of person that likes to tweak the OS, install custom interfaces, and generally completely revamp and tinker with your phone"

That'd be me then, and why I absolutely love my Touch HD - even the POST boot splash screen is modified!

This review surprised me, I'd seen you guys slating it in comments sections of recent reviews and then the actual thing itself was, in my eyes, more positive than negative. If I didn't have my HD currently, I would have actually considered getting one of these based off your review...

ho hum, bit of a WiMo fan (as you probably already know) and yet to be won over by the iPhone's OS apart from occasional genius applications (the nearest Tube station augmented reality is a great idea!)


July 28, 2009, 6:24 am

I always thought that interface was hideous but this phone had so much potential to be a great multimedia smartphone. I mean it comes packaged with core codec(CC) mobile media player which is pretty much the best on the planet for watching videos. It would have been excellent if it launched with windows mobile 6.5. I am dying to get a brand new smartphone but nothing in the market appeals to me.

- OmniaHD has very poor product support from samsung and its just as big as the TG01 if not thicker.

- Omnia 2(II) is brought down by windows mobile 6.1 and new product bugs/crashes.

- Iphone3GS is good but with complains about battery life and its basic 3meg camera not to talk of the outrageous price plans from O2 just make my apples sour. Plus the no.1 app that interests me is ver2 of CC's media player which isnt out yet.

- Sony ericcson likes to wait until the market passes them by. So many press releases on their satio and aino but release date?! no comment. They should release the goddamn Rachel(android phone) this year.(please!)

- Was going to hold out for a Hero(HTC) but that shape! who changed the water dispenser in the design dept to alcohol.

- Palm Pre is now $99 in the states but come christmas(Q4), i bet O2 will f*** the plans up with that one as well.

- All HTC products...tell microsoft to release 6.5. I am not interested in experimenting with Beta ROMs.

- Nokia...what the hell is wrong with better get your s**t together.

Ahem! so this is my personal vendetta with the mobile market.


July 28, 2009, 7:39 am

@@ChaosDefinesOrder - it's down to individual takes. It's a fabulous piece of hardware but there are numerous software issues. If you like to customise that until the cows come home then maybe you'll love the TG01 but for me no handset should be such a mess out of the box.


July 28, 2009, 1:30 pm

wow was i surprised when i seen the high score having briefly played with this device. glad to see you noted the awful UI can be changed for many better ones as its a WM device. I know lots of people would dismiss this as lets face it a phone shouldn't be this bad out of the box.

i played with it in the shop and found texting to be amazingly slow. i take it you had no such problems?

for me its just far to big to even consider. please HTC dont go bigger than the Touch HD


July 28, 2009, 7:55 pm

@Runadumb too late on that one the HTC Leo is supposed to have a 4.1" screen...

Oliver Levett

July 28, 2009, 8:51 pm

@chris10230: some of the Leo rumours are utter rubbish. Don't believe everything you hear...

I'm quite surprised at this review, since compared to the WM drivers for most other devices, the ones on this are crap. 3D acceleration on snapdragon should be god like, and yet performance isn't much better than on MSM720X based devices.


July 28, 2009, 9:12 pm

@Oliver: maybe Qualcomm did their annoying thing of licensing the chipset but witholding the hardware graphics drivers asking for a stupidly large amount for them. Maybe the anti-trust legal proceedings in the far east will slap them in the face about how bad that practise is. Their current practise is akid to selling an iPod Touch, and then charging twice the unit price to play videos on it.


July 28, 2009, 11:09 pm

@ Chris - Yeah as Oliver guessed I know of the Leo and the Thoth but im hoping, HOPING that the Touch HD's replacement isnt a 4 inch monster. I should have been more specific


July 28, 2009, 11:53 pm

smells like another apple victory.

when are these phonemakers going to step upto the plate and take on the power of jobsey?

The iPhone is the Heavyweight champ and has been for the last 2 years


July 29, 2009, 4:34 am

Just put this cpu in a Hero and I'l be happy. For 12 months anyway...


July 31, 2009, 4:19 pm

Companies are so lazy. You can see the design brief for this was:

1)ummm... big screen!

2)ummm, what else... ooh, overpowered processor!

That's about it. Software is unimaginative, hardware finish is terrible, camera is an afterthought and there's just no effort in it at all.

Palm's WebOS excites me, but needs better hardware to show it off.

@adoniteINK - I'm happy with my E71 ;).

And after hearing so many colleagues recently whining about their lost apps due to iPhone-iTunes sync issues, I just realised I can't even remember where my Nokia sync cable is, since I've hardly ever used it.


March 30, 2010, 1:44 pm

Another victory for apple?? What are you talking about? Iphones are for people who aren't capable of doing anything with a device.. ie sheep or simple people.. the TG01 is in another world.. Have a movie playing while surfing the web and another 5 or more programs open and just switch between them.. completely change the interface to anything you want, run whatever you like even N64 games, full flash on all sites etc etc

comments powered by Disqus