Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Previous page
Next page

The Stick

February 17, 2009, 7:08 pm

"T8500 Intel Core 2 Duo running at 2.0GHz"

should that be T5800? Haven't heard of a T8500.

Good review :)

Andy Vandervell

February 17, 2009, 7:18 pm

Good spot. Thanks. :)


February 17, 2009, 9:41 pm

Glad you liked the review. Sorry about the error, and for any false hopes I might have raised of the A350-11N being equipped with a new Intel super-chip from the future :)


February 17, 2009, 10:25 pm

Is there any particular reason why more and more notebook manufacturers are now using a 16:9 aspect ratio rather than 16:10, or is just a cost cutting measure? I know it is slightly better suited for multimedia content, but I would rather have more vertical pixels for when I use it for working, or web browsing so you can see more of the page. You still get big black bars at the top and bottom when watching films on a 16:9 screen, and I don't find them that more noticeable on a 16:10 screen, but maybe I've just grown used to them. I don't see why they've decided computer screens/monitors should have to have the same aspect ratio as TVs - they are mostly used for different purposes, after all.


February 17, 2009, 11:08 pm

Excellent review Ardjuna. Would the slightly higher specced A350-20Q be worth it? Im thinking of getting this model from comet, and am wondering, in your opinion, would it get a higher score? Or would it be much the same?



February 18, 2009, 8:32 pm

@smc8788: A variety of reasons. Cost-cutting is one of them. The second you already mention, and don't forget that this is also tied in to marketing and consumer perception for the largest number (not necessarily those who know the most).

Personally, though I agree with you totally, I do think the move to 16:9 for computers is a positive thing overall, as it will reduce costumer confusion (there are enough aspect ratios to remember) AND it means I'll need to remember fewer resolutions ;)

@Himesh: Cheers. In answer to your question, that really depends on what you want it for. It's not a BAD deal per se, but to be honest, unless audio quality is a priority for you (given Toshiba's track record with excellent notebook speakers), for &#163740 you can get notebooks that offer far more (especially if you go for 'older' models from the likes of HP and Acer). With a bit of searching, you can even find models with 17in or 18.4in Full HD screens AND Blu-ray for around that price. Again, it all depends on your priorities.


February 18, 2009, 8:41 pm

@Himesh:Add Sony to the above list of HP and Acer. Hope this helps.


February 19, 2009, 12:31 am

Thanks Ardjuna. Audi quality is NOT a priority in the slightest. I'll be hooking it up to some AE Aego 2.1 speakers anyway. Id mainly want it for occasional gaming,watching movies and general bits and bobs. Thing is im restriced to buying from Comet as i have &#163150 worth of vouchers burning a whole in my pocket. Is there any you'd recommend?

Thanks again


February 20, 2009, 7:31 pm

@Himesh: If you're stuck with Comet and audio's not a priority, for only &#16310 more the 16in Acer {} seems to offer a LOT more, including a better graphics card and Blu-ray drive.

Apart from possibly 'poor' battery life and integrated graphics, another Acer {} also seems to offer a lot for less money (nearly &#163300 less!), with a sweet 500GB hard drive.

But overall the A350-20Q isn't a bad option, so it really comes down to personal preference. Good luck with your choice!


February 21, 2009, 3:36 am

Thanks very much for your help. I was considering the ACER AS6935G before you said as it got a very good review on this very site. I was all for going to COmet this coming monday to buy, when i spotted this sony: {}. Looks like its a straight shootout between the acer and sony. Both the same price, which would you go for?

Again i cant thank you enough for your help.


February 23, 2009, 4:13 pm

Really it's up to you to decide mate, but the Acer offers a Blu-ray drive where the Sony does not, and to top that off is currently cheaper.


February 26, 2009, 12:25 am

Hi Ardjuna, nice review. Was thinking as well of getting the Satellite A350-20Q. But I am getting it for &#163570 rather than the usual price of &#163749. This is only because its a Toshiba laptop, and my brother works for them. My question is that, is there any laptop I could get out there that would be better than this Toshiba at &#163570?

I am mainly interested in a laptop that can do basic gaming, watch some movie, use the net, and do bits & bobs. And I also want something that can last long, and will effectively replace my desktop.

Your help appreciated.


March 3, 2009, 5:06 pm

@Mombi: Cheers. No, I'd say that Satellite A350-20Q is pretty much as good a deal as you're going to get. The only thing it's lacking is a Blu-ray drive, and it doesn't sound like you want one anyway.


March 7, 2009, 6:53 pm

Hi i know this is a bit rude but the Toshiba Satellite A350-20Q is the exact laptop i am looking for, any chance tell me where u got it for &#163570? Would be much appreciated:) x


July 28, 2014, 2:11 pm

Have had mine 5 years now and replaced the battery today since it was worn out. This laptop still performs good, and the sound still beats most of the laptops I have seen.
Installed Windows 8.1, and that combined with a SSD avoids the need for buying a newer laptop.

comments powered by Disqus