Home » Mobile » GPS & Sat Nav » TomTom GO 750 / 950 LIVE Sat-Nav

TomTom GO 750 / 950 LIVE Sat-Nav review



Our Score


Review Price £149.99

TomTom's LIVE was a revelation when it first arrived a year ago in the shape of the GO x40 series. In fact, it was so groundbreaking that its successor feels like a far more muted affair in comparison. The new GO x50 LIVE range, represented here by the top 950 model, offers much less radical improvements than its predecessor did. But it still has some important new additions to its arsenal.

The device itself is physically the same as before, and uses an identical screen mount and PC docking system as the x40 series. So once you have the car mount attached and wired up, you can slip the device into it without plugging in any other cables. But there are a few changes to the initial map screen. The interface is just that little more pleasing to the eye, thanks to rounded corners to the various onscreen boxes. The traffic strip on the right is slightly easier to read, too, and transitions between interface views are now animated.

The most major addition here is an icon onscreen offering direct access to the facility to report new speed camera locations. Clicking on this lets you indicate additional mobile and static cameras at your current position, or you can call up a more detailed menu to report recently added average speed sections, traffic light cameras, and toll road surveillance. These reports are then uploaded from the device for checking by Road Angel, which supplies TomTom's safety camera database. Regular dynamic updates are also one of the services LIVE provides over its mobile data link, so the safety camera database should be as up to date as any currently available.

The other major addition can be found when calculating a new route. After the sat-nav has figured out which roads to use, the resulting screen offers a panel on the right with two tabs. The second of these is called LIVE Snapshot, and hosts a trio of LIVE-related information abstracts. These include a traffic summary, the cheapest petrol on your route, and the number of safety cameras you will come across.

You can click on any of these three to call up more details. The traffic panel shows a breakdown of the delays calculated by HD Traffic and IQ Routes. Alongside this is a summary map of current jams in the vicinity of your route, although a less detailed version is already shown in the main summary display. You can also flip through the various incidents on your route, and choose to avoid them if desired.

The cheapest petrol section clicks through to the LIVE Fuel Prices menu, where you can locate the lowest-cost filling stations on your route, nearby, in a given area, or you can search by distance or price. Pressing the final LIVE Snapshot section calls up the menu for Safety Camera preferences, which also includes another menu option for reporting safety cameras.

Next page

Lon Bailey

November 23, 2009, 1:05 pm

unusual seeing the last photo - driving in the day time but with what appears to be a night-time display on the GPS.


November 23, 2009, 1:43 pm

This looks like a great bit of kit, but £7.99 a month? Really TomTom? Still???

They are so out of touch with the market and consumers' expectations of value it beggars belief. All of the Live content should come with a free lifetime subscription. TomTom unit's are already overpriced....

This is a classic example of a company with a great product that established itself as the market leader and then failed to innovate to stay there. Your business model needs to change TomTom - Wake up! Evolve or die.


November 23, 2009, 5:59 pm


Does you mobile phone company not charge you a monthly fee to use your mobile? Why should TomTom give you free mobile data every 3 minutes at their expense. Navigon charge a yearly fee for their inferior live traffic and so do TomTom. It's called business, covering your expenses and making a profit. People these days want everything for free!!!!!!!!


November 23, 2009, 10:05 pm

Dear Den,

How right are you!

My monthly mobile phone service is indeed available at a fee, but the phone I am using was free!

£299, on TomTom's business model is steep.

The novelty of satnav systems has worn thin for some time now, and may I remind all, that updates on traffic cameras is only needed for those who are set to routinely flout the rules of the road; Switzerland has forbidden the use of such data in satnavs, for example.

As for traffic updates, they can only be as good and up to date as the humans reporting and logging data.

But I should stop being so pedantic...


November 23, 2009, 10:36 pm


If you don't think it's good value for money - don't pay for it ... doesn't stop the unit from functioning as a sat nav


November 23, 2009, 11:27 pm


I'm 100% right! lol.

TomTom are obviously not aiming there business at you. They know how many people are prepared to pay the money. If you travel a lot it's a bargain.

The TomTom x40 and x50 units basically have mobile phone in them and probably cost as much to make as your phone. Would you rather get a free sat nav and get tied in to a 18/24 month contract and pay £35/month? I would rather pay £220-£299 and pay for the live service if I need it.

TomTom don't get humans to log their traffic data. As well as live camera feeds, location data is pulled anonymously from the Vodafone network off millions of mobile phone users. It wouldn't surprise me if TomTom are also paying to use the Vodafone network to transmit the data. I'm sure they don't get all this for free.


November 23, 2009, 11:44 pm


Yep, I certainly wouldn't expect the Live service to be free, but it's still a bit steep. If it were £4.99/m or less, I for one wouldn't have any issue stumping up, even as an occasional user. Besides, TomTom could always augment their subscription model to make it more reasonable for occasional users. 99p per day access, for example, would be ideal for those ocaasional important trips.

'may I remind all, that updates on traffic cameras is only needed for those who are set to routinely flout the rules of the road'

Not true. I find it amazing how you might think you're being a perfect, law-abiding driver, right up until the fine lands on your doormat. That experience changed my opinion on this rather quickly...

Extra precautions can never be a bad thing.

'As for traffic updates, they can only be as good and up to date as the humans reporting and logging data.'

Nope. TomTom's HD traffic systems are completely automated. They gather data by anonymously tracking drivers' mobile phones. It's sounds big-brother-ish, but it works.


November 25, 2009, 6:00 am

I would want the live system to be free but I know that isn't going to happen however I do think it is a little steep, £5 a month seems far better and a day access feature for, I would put it at, 49p would seem perfect and place it at the impulse purchase price point for every person who owns it going on a day trip or weekend outing.


November 25, 2009, 9:26 pm

What nobody mentions are the constant problems with HD traffic, failing to update from the server correctly that dog all the live services, especially at peak times.

HD traffic is really the most compelling reason to shell out a large monthly fee for live services, if it doesn't work correctly it is a waste of time and money.

Add to this the fact that connecting any TomTom to the home software can brick the unit or cause hours of frustration and fruitless communication with TomTom's frankly appalling customer service.

Good luck those that take the plunge.

If the unit actually worked it really would be a world beater, but as it is, all the TomTom live range are badly flawed until they actually sort out these problems.


November 28, 2009, 4:55 pm

All right we know TomTom can make the actual Satnav unit. When will they create an updated version of TonTom Home for Mac Snow Leopard

James Morris

December 9, 2009, 8:22 pm

@DGS1969 Are these problems with updating HD Traffic you talk about widespread? I've noticed that the TR offices appear to be in a mobile data blackspot, but I always get an update just before I get to the M3. Otherwise, I've never really had any issues in this respect. I've also never had any problems with TomTom Home. Are you speaking from personal experience?

Patrick R

December 22, 2009, 2:41 am

How on EARTH could you fail to mention in your review, that the new top of the range 950 model has a VERY marked omission on it's 940 predecessor...

BE WARNED EVERYONE, as the folks at TR don't feel it relevant to mention to you...

The new Go 950, which is the top of the range, of the new models, does not have any Music/mp3 player.

Perhaps unimportant to huge amounts of you.

But the point being, this is meant to be the next and DIRECT successor to the Go 940 Live.

Not much of a successor, if this software, and thus functionalities, can be added to a 940, but the 940 would then also have full MP3 player etc.

Upgrade? My backside *lol*


December 22, 2009, 4:45 pm

@Partick_R: Thanks for that. Certainly made me giggle.


December 31, 2009, 5:36 am

hello james thanks for your insightful vid reviews.

i got my tomtom go 750 live today but im not too happy abt it lol despite all the hype. i just cannot afford to pay the £8 monthly charge to get traffic updates. therefore do u think it'd be cheaper for me to get an rds-tmc traffic receiver or to have it exchanged for the garmin nuvi 1490t since it contains a free traffic receiver and i can get free traffic updates for life?

pls let me know. thank you. in the meantime have a happy new yr :)


January 4, 2010, 6:36 pm

The 550 model has a bug affecting the safety camera application. This results in incorrect speed limits being displayed (e.g. "19" when the limit is 30 mph). Not sure if it affects the whole X50 range. TomTom tell me they are aware of the issue but cannot confirm when it will be fixed.

Steve Fitch

January 8, 2010, 9:08 pm

Speed Camera Bugs.! On all 550 / 750 /950 Hd models, they all give the wrong readings.. haha what a joke tomtom are, releasing a new product they knew had a prob, ive had 3x so far all went back, decided to stick with my 730 traffic, as it works 100% they know all about the probs, and just say, they dont know when it will be fixed..???????? Thats brill ay.!


February 3, 2010, 7:42 pm

The Go Live services can be purchased for a much reduced price from places like Amazon - currently £56.07 for 12 months - much better value.

I've got a Go 950 Live and, when it works, it's great. At the moment I'm waiting for support to email a fix for the unit freezing and re-booting VERY frequently rendering the unit totally useless. Appears to be a download corruption - I'll let you know what happens

Tom Davison

March 11, 2010, 6:03 pm

There is a major flaw with the Go 750. It only has a 2GB memory, which is insufficient to accept the latest maps. I bought one yesterday with the latest map guarantee, and when I used Home to check, it said there was a free update available. It then downloaded the update, deleted the existing map and crashed when trying to load the new one, because there was insufficient memory. It's now on its way back to Amazon.


July 5, 2010, 5:17 am

I paid for live services. It says on my TomTom 950 Go Live that I have a subscription to September 2012. The when I try to used the live services it tells me I must renew my live services subscription. When I tried a factory reset the thing then came n in some Scandinavian language. It took me 20 minutes to figure out how to get it back to English and still I do not have live services.

comments powered by Disqus