Home / Mobile / GPS & Sat Nav / TomTom GO 1000 LIVE

TomTom GO 1000 LIVE review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

10

User Score:

Pros

  • Improved menu system
  • Fast route calculation
  • Live traffic
  • updates

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Live traffic incurs an ongoing cost

Key Features

  • Live traffic updates
  • IQ Routes
  • Manufacturer: TomTom
  • Review Price: £202.83

TrustedReviews Awards 2010 image

TomTom’s LIVE services were the last big revelation in personal navigation devices. But a number of other manufacturers now offer similar services, even if none has surpassed the abilities of HD Traffic just yet. So TomTom needed something new to keep itself ahead of the competition, and here it is: the GO 1000 LIVE. TomTom promises the GO 1000 LIVE will be more reliable, faster and safer than ever before.

The GO 1000 LIVE certainly looks like a major innovation over the previous generation. The GO x50 series' appearance still markedly resembled the x20 series and generations in between. But the GO 1000 is a flatter device with rounder-looking corners. It's still a 4.3in widescreen sat-nav, and the version we were testing came with UK and Ireland maps.

The car mounting system has been completely overhauled, too. The mount used by the previous two generations was already easy to operate, as it contained the power connection so you didn’t need to attach this separately. The GO 1000 appears to take a step back, as power is on a separate cable again. However, both it and the mount itself are magnetic, in a similar fashion to current Apple MacBooks. So you leave the cable in place and the unit simply snaps into place and connects its own power when you bring it close enough into the mount.

TomTom GO 1000 LIVE front angle

This is a sleek system, and makes it quick to take the unit off the mount for easier use of the interface. As with most sat-navs, you may want to do this, since the new capacitive touchscreen can be a little fiddly to operate with just fingertips when the GO 1000 is in its mount.

This brings us to the other main design update over previous generations. The menu has been streamlined and simplified, and in our opinion, it’s about time too. If there was one thing that surprised us about TomTom sat-navs in the past, it was the flat, non-hierarchical nature of the menu system. Options were strewn across multiple screens in an almost random fashion, forcing you to scroll through pages to find what you were looking for, sometimes going full circle in the process.

Now, the main screen is just a single page with six options. These cover the most important categories, such as setting up a route from your current location, planning a route in advance, and accessing the LIVE services. Each one then drills down to successive menu levels, with a slider along the bottom telling you where you are when sub-menus have multiple pages. On a more minor level, the Done button now takes you right back to the map, rather than through the successive menu stages you traversed on the way to your current location.

BOFH UK

September 13, 2010, 1:16 pm

The more I look at Sat Nav units the more I think buying one when they're introduced is a mugs game. The Go 1000 is a good example, there's some nice upgrades over the previous generation but it does seem to be very much an evolutionary upgrade. Considering the 550 can be bought for around £150 including a year of Live services and latest map it gets very tricky to justify the extra £100 for a slightly better screen, cosmetic improvements to maps / interface and faster routing. That being said this time next year, when the 1000 drops down to a more sensible price to make way for the 1100 (or whatever) it'll be a very nice unit indeed.

Andy 16

September 13, 2010, 2:58 pm

Similar to the comment above...Really don't understand how you can give this a 9/10 for value?!





You can now get very capable sat nav (Google, Copilot, iGo, allsorts) on increasingly ubiquitous smartphones for less than £50, or for FREE!!! Yu can even get the TomTom application on an iPhone for £60! Or a mid level Satnav for £100. These options (especially the smartphone software route) are clearly more than 80% of the functionality of this device...so is that last 20%, the 'bells and whistles' really worth £160 or more? The value proposition of premium satnavs is crazy, and yet you effectively say it is excellent value for money. Couldn't disagree more.





TomTom (they're not alone but they do stand out) have always overpriced their offerings and since Google ruined the 'mapping charge' price model they've thrown themselves into the 'live services' game as a way to manitain their margins.....yet TMC is free in lots of the world and that's the main element!





SatNav is trending towards a low cost model, can't see how you can rate this such good value for money. /rant :)

Den

September 13, 2010, 3:43 pm

@Andy - Not every one has a smartphone. I have TomTom on my iPhone so that's £600 for the phone and £60 for the software. Quite a bit more than the £250 of the TomTom device.





As for the live services, TomTom's effort is far better than TMC, and they were offering live services before Google's free mapping software arrived.

Chris

September 13, 2010, 5:02 pm

@Andy: I was going to mention the points that Den just referred to, so I'll just add my voice to his.





I have a salesman colleague who clocks up about 25,000 miles per year, all over the country. To him, the 550 he purchased with his own money is invaluable. Those 'bells and whistles' you mention are worth every penny. Most of the population aren't in the same boat as him, but this is a premium model aimed directly at his ilk. If a cheaper alternative suits your needs, get that instead. This review says as much.





That said, I do agree that satnavs are heading towards a low cost model, but there will always be a premium alternative aimed at the 'road warrior' crowd.

A Scotland

September 13, 2010, 5:04 pm

My experience of Tom Tom a couple of years back was awful and I will never go back. You pay a premium for premium quality and support and I received neither. I had the Tom Tom Rider (2nd edition) for motorcycles. Despite selling itself as jet wash proof it suffered water damage on a drizzly day after a few months use. I sent it back under warranty and they sent me a replacement that died a few days later. Tom Tom's approach was to ignore me and after several letters I simply gave up.





I also agree with the other reviewers who query the value score for this device. Especially given that the review acknowledges it is amongst the most expensive in its class.

James Morris

September 13, 2010, 5:22 pm

I think you'd be mad to buy the 550 now, though, despite the price difference. The 1000 is a much nicer device to use, and buying an older model will mean you won't realistically be upgrading for years after that, so you'd always have the previous generation.

BOFH UK

September 13, 2010, 8:19 pm

James, I'm perfectly willing to accept that's the case but... ack, sorry, I HATE saying stuff like this but... there's very little in the review to indicate where those improvements come from, at least to me. Faster routing, yes that's a plus, but I've never had a situation where even the oldest Sat Nav has actively caused me a problem with slow calculations. The menu changes are welcome, and long overdue, but if you already know the old system (and a heck of a lot of people do) or don't mind putting the work in to learn them that's hardly a deal breaker surely? The obvious area for improvement is the screen but you barely say two sentences about it.





Sorry, I'm really not trying to be difficult here, but there's very little in the article to suggest where the extra £100 goes and why it's worthwhile. As a standalone review there's no problem but any chance of some insight into what makes this a worthwhile update over the older generation?

Saltank

September 13, 2010, 11:00 pm

I bought an XL Live IQ Routes Edition last year as per your recommendation, but the battery lasts no more than an hour since about 9 months ago, I'm due for an upgrade and I'll probably get this.


I always have three major issues and I guess I'll really find out if they've been solved after I've used it:


1) Random crashes and restarts, freezes (happens often, oh how I hope they fixed it!)


2) Really slow routing (well they say they made it better and I'm sure they did)


3) incorrect maps even with the latest map and mapshare (closed roads, roads which looked like they've been closed for YEARS... I still come across them time from time and my handy TomTom tells me to drive right through!)

Mike Brown

September 14, 2010, 3:04 pm

As a long-time TomTom user I have always been satisfied with the functionality of the various units and greatly appreciated each improvement. My big issue, though, is a metallised windscreen on both of the family cars. My present unit accepts an external antenna, but clearly the Go 1000 has no connector. Did the TR evaluation look at the unit's ability to get and hold a lock through a metallised windscreen?

James Morris

September 14, 2010, 7:33 pm

I'm afraid neither of my cars have metallised windscreens, so I haven't been able to assess this particular ability.

Antti Vaisanen

September 18, 2010, 6:45 am

What about going abroad? Is there a jack to plug in TMC antenna? Or perhaps an active dock with TMC antenna like 950 live model?

Dom Canard

September 23, 2010, 3:21 pm

I bought a TomTom 950 (UK,Northern America and Europe) after my 730 was stolen. If you wish to pay for quarterly updates, you need to pay almost £ 10 a quarter and you are obliged to pay for the upgrade for all maps, not just Britain.


You could save a lot of money by buying a basic UK map device and if you wish to have one with a US map, you can buy an update device when you go to the US so you don't get ripped off by TomTom. Many shops in the US will sell a local satellite device with maps of US and Canada for a fraction of what TomTom wants in the UK.


Mega ripoff, stay clear, they are just using their satnavs as cashcows.

Dom Canard

September 25, 2010, 2:51 pm

Further to my comments regarding TomTom using their satnavs as cashcows when it comes to update maps, I have just found out that with Garmin you can buy a lifetime update for £ 75 for UK and Europe and £ 95 for Northern America and UK and Europe and this includes up to four maps a year.


I do not work for Garmin but I know where my next satnav will come from.

Saltank

January 19, 2011, 4:20 pm

I want to know if this is still better than the TomTom App for iPhone 4.


Seems like the App has HD traffic at a cheaper price, but sans the petrol price.





I can get either one, not sure what's better...

grooteman

April 26, 2011, 9:01 pm

I preordered my GO1000 Live back in october as the reviews and specs said it would be Great. First impressions were great, excellent product then the problems started, Device 1 - first lost its memory, Device 2 lost its computer voice and now device 3 now just packed up completely.
Waiting for TOMTOM to repair / replace with device 4 - but would I keep it or give the product up as a bad experience

Not patch on the reliablity as my very old GO700 and GO730

JeremyP

August 11, 2011, 9:13 pm

I used one for 7 months before it packed up. I'd used Garmin for years and didn't like the TomTom as much, some of the things I could do easily in Garmin I couldn't easily do in the GL 1000 (like easily save a current location with a name I want) but maybe that was ignorance on my part. I also didn't like the shiny screen, there were far to many reflections on it.

thiepval68

September 28, 2011, 10:51 pm

The user manual recommends backups under certain circumstances

BUT TomTom on their support site state

"backing up your device is currently not possible for the following navigation devices:
GO 1000 series, GO LIVE 800 series, Via series, Start 20 series, Blue & Me TomTom 2 LIVE, Sony XNV

We are working hard to offer this as soon as possible."

THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS FAULT THAT APPEARS NOT TO BE FIXED SOME CONSIDERABLE TIME AFTER PRODUCT RELEASE...BUYERS SHOULD STEER CLEAR OF ALL OF THE ABOVE UNTIL FAULT RECTIFIED

Richard G

November 2, 2011, 2:09 am

TOM TOM GO LIVE 1000. Spec sounded excellent, so brought my 4th Tom Tom. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. When you need it most in complicated road intersections it failed. Updated the software whilst under guarantee, and it still did not show roads which where more than 12 months old. 2 days after last download, it disconnected the Trafic Live (which was the only good thing about it)! £50 to renew Trafic Live plus £x for safety camera updates, decided too expensive. Going to use a smart phone instead, and if not satisfied will switch to Garmin (free Trafic live). Anyone want to buy it for £50 plus postage, just reply?

$imon

December 7, 2013, 12:32 pm

I wil advice all of you to never by this device because of a battery problem after a short while. And TomTom can't be reached

Simon

December 27, 2013, 9:55 am

Battery dies within two years and HD traffic has availability of around 60-70% apart form that its brilliant!

comments powered by Disqus