Home / Mobile / GPS & Sat Nav / TomTom GO 1000 LIVE / Map Views and Verdict

TomTom GO 1000 LIVE - Map Views and Verdict

By James Morris



Our Score:


User Score:

The GO 1000 has a more aesthetic map screen than previous TomToms, although the information it provides is essentially the same. There are icons along the left-hand side of the screen to take you directly to zoom functions, accessing a Bluetooth hands-free connection to your mobile phone, and LIVE services. The data strip along the bottom has now been divided into three sections, but tells you the same comprehensive range of facts about your journey, including current speed and prevailing limit, your next turning, plus ETA and time to destination.

TomTom GO 1000 LIVE front

The strip changes to a clear indication of the lane to be in at multi-carriageway junctions, and the full-screen graphic pops up at the most important motorway interchanges, although this has also been redesigned slightly for even greater clarity. The screen itself is clearer and brighter than previous GOs, making it easier to see in direct sunlight than before. There's also an updated traffic view, which was already available in the TomTom iPhone app, although we weren’t able to test this due to the lack of LIVE services in our test unit.


As with its TomTom LIVE predecessors, the GO 1000 is not a cheap sat-nav and despite its abilities, if you’re only an occasional traveller it will be overkill. For those in this category, a more modest option would make better economic sense. But for those who make frequent journeys or just want the most advanced satellite navigation, the GO 1000 is the most capable device currently on the market. Yet again, TomTom has set the standard other satellite navigation devices will need to beat.

Overall Score



September 13, 2010, 1:16 pm

The more I look at Sat Nav units the more I think buying one when they're introduced is a mugs game. The Go 1000 is a good example, there's some nice upgrades over the previous generation but it does seem to be very much an evolutionary upgrade. Considering the 550 can be bought for around £150 including a year of Live services and latest map it gets very tricky to justify the extra £100 for a slightly better screen, cosmetic improvements to maps / interface and faster routing. That being said this time next year, when the 1000 drops down to a more sensible price to make way for the 1100 (or whatever) it'll be a very nice unit indeed.

Andy 16

September 13, 2010, 2:58 pm

Similar to the comment above...Really don't understand how you can give this a 9/10 for value?!

You can now get very capable sat nav (Google, Copilot, iGo, allsorts) on increasingly ubiquitous smartphones for less than £50, or for FREE!!! Yu can even get the TomTom application on an iPhone for £60! Or a mid level Satnav for £100. These options (especially the smartphone software route) are clearly more than 80% of the functionality of this device...so is that last 20%, the 'bells and whistles' really worth £160 or more? The value proposition of premium satnavs is crazy, and yet you effectively say it is excellent value for money. Couldn't disagree more.

TomTom (they're not alone but they do stand out) have always overpriced their offerings and since Google ruined the 'mapping charge' price model they've thrown themselves into the 'live services' game as a way to manitain their margins.....yet TMC is free in lots of the world and that's the main element!

SatNav is trending towards a low cost model, can't see how you can rate this such good value for money. /rant :)


September 13, 2010, 3:43 pm

@Andy - Not every one has a smartphone. I have TomTom on my iPhone so that's £600 for the phone and £60 for the software. Quite a bit more than the £250 of the TomTom device.

As for the live services, TomTom's effort is far better than TMC, and they were offering live services before Google's free mapping software arrived.


September 13, 2010, 5:02 pm

@Andy: I was going to mention the points that Den just referred to, so I'll just add my voice to his.

I have a salesman colleague who clocks up about 25,000 miles per year, all over the country. To him, the 550 he purchased with his own money is invaluable. Those 'bells and whistles' you mention are worth every penny. Most of the population aren't in the same boat as him, but this is a premium model aimed directly at his ilk. If a cheaper alternative suits your needs, get that instead. This review says as much.

That said, I do agree that satnavs are heading towards a low cost model, but there will always be a premium alternative aimed at the 'road warrior' crowd.

A Scotland

September 13, 2010, 5:04 pm

My experience of Tom Tom a couple of years back was awful and I will never go back. You pay a premium for premium quality and support and I received neither. I had the Tom Tom Rider (2nd edition) for motorcycles. Despite selling itself as jet wash proof it suffered water damage on a drizzly day after a few months use. I sent it back under warranty and they sent me a replacement that died a few days later. Tom Tom's approach was to ignore me and after several letters I simply gave up.

I also agree with the other reviewers who query the value score for this device. Especially given that the review acknowledges it is amongst the most expensive in its class.

James Morris

September 13, 2010, 5:22 pm

I think you'd be mad to buy the 550 now, though, despite the price difference. The 1000 is a much nicer device to use, and buying an older model will mean you won't realistically be upgrading for years after that, so you'd always have the previous generation.


September 13, 2010, 8:19 pm

James, I'm perfectly willing to accept that's the case but... ack, sorry, I HATE saying stuff like this but... there's very little in the review to indicate where those improvements come from, at least to me. Faster routing, yes that's a plus, but I've never had a situation where even the oldest Sat Nav has actively caused me a problem with slow calculations. The menu changes are welcome, and long overdue, but if you already know the old system (and a heck of a lot of people do) or don't mind putting the work in to learn them that's hardly a deal breaker surely? The obvious area for improvement is the screen but you barely say two sentences about it.

Sorry, I'm really not trying to be difficult here, but there's very little in the article to suggest where the extra £100 goes and why it's worthwhile. As a standalone review there's no problem but any chance of some insight into what makes this a worthwhile update over the older generation?


September 13, 2010, 11:00 pm

I bought an XL Live IQ Routes Edition last year as per your recommendation, but the battery lasts no more than an hour since about 9 months ago, I'm due for an upgrade and I'll probably get this.

I always have three major issues and I guess I'll really find out if they've been solved after I've used it:

1) Random crashes and restarts, freezes (happens often, oh how I hope they fixed it!)

2) Really slow routing (well they say they made it better and I'm sure they did)

3) incorrect maps even with the latest map and mapshare (closed roads, roads which looked like they've been closed for YEARS... I still come across them time from time and my handy TomTom tells me to drive right through!)

Mike Brown

September 14, 2010, 3:04 pm

As a long-time TomTom user I have always been satisfied with the functionality of the various units and greatly appreciated each improvement. My big issue, though, is a metallised windscreen on both of the family cars. My present unit accepts an external antenna, but clearly the Go 1000 has no connector. Did the TR evaluation look at the unit's ability to get and hold a lock through a metallised windscreen?

James Morris

September 14, 2010, 7:33 pm

I'm afraid neither of my cars have metallised windscreens, so I haven't been able to assess this particular ability.

Antti Vaisanen

September 18, 2010, 6:45 am

What about going abroad? Is there a jack to plug in TMC antenna? Or perhaps an active dock with TMC antenna like 950 live model?

Dom Canard

September 23, 2010, 3:21 pm

I bought a TomTom 950 (UK,Northern America and Europe) after my 730 was stolen. If you wish to pay for quarterly updates, you need to pay almost £ 10 a quarter and you are obliged to pay for the upgrade for all maps, not just Britain.

You could save a lot of money by buying a basic UK map device and if you wish to have one with a US map, you can buy an update device when you go to the US so you don't get ripped off by TomTom. Many shops in the US will sell a local satellite device with maps of US and Canada for a fraction of what TomTom wants in the UK.

Mega ripoff, stay clear, they are just using their satnavs as cashcows.

Dom Canard

September 25, 2010, 2:51 pm

Further to my comments regarding TomTom using their satnavs as cashcows when it comes to update maps, I have just found out that with Garmin you can buy a lifetime update for £ 75 for UK and Europe and £ 95 for Northern America and UK and Europe and this includes up to four maps a year.

I do not work for Garmin but I know where my next satnav will come from.


January 19, 2011, 4:20 pm

I want to know if this is still better than the TomTom App for iPhone 4.

Seems like the App has HD traffic at a cheaper price, but sans the petrol price.

I can get either one, not sure what's better...


April 26, 2011, 9:01 pm

I preordered my GO1000 Live back in october as the reviews and specs said it would be Great. First impressions were great, excellent product then the problems started, Device 1 - first lost its memory, Device 2 lost its computer voice and now device 3 now just packed up completely.
Waiting for TOMTOM to repair / replace with device 4 - but would I keep it or give the product up as a bad experience

Not patch on the reliablity as my very old GO700 and GO730


August 11, 2011, 9:13 pm

I used one for 7 months before it packed up. I'd used Garmin for years and didn't like the TomTom as much, some of the things I could do easily in Garmin I couldn't easily do in the GL 1000 (like easily save a current location with a name I want) but maybe that was ignorance on my part. I also didn't like the shiny screen, there were far to many reflections on it.


September 28, 2011, 10:51 pm

The user manual recommends backups under certain circumstances

BUT TomTom on their support site state

"backing up your device is currently not possible for the following navigation devices:
GO 1000 series, GO LIVE 800 series, Via series, Start 20 series, Blue & Me TomTom 2 LIVE, Sony XNV

We are working hard to offer this as soon as possible."


Richard G

November 2, 2011, 2:09 am

TOM TOM GO LIVE 1000. Spec sounded excellent, so brought my 4th Tom Tom. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. When you need it most in complicated road intersections it failed. Updated the software whilst under guarantee, and it still did not show roads which where more than 12 months old. 2 days after last download, it disconnected the Trafic Live (which was the only good thing about it)! £50 to renew Trafic Live plus £x for safety camera updates, decided too expensive. Going to use a smart phone instead, and if not satisfied will switch to Garmin (free Trafic live). Anyone want to buy it for £50 plus postage, just reply?


December 7, 2013, 12:32 pm

I wil advice all of you to never by this device because of a battery problem after a short while. And TomTom can't be reached


December 27, 2013, 9:55 am

Battery dies within two years and HD traffic has availability of around 60-70% apart form that its brilliant!

comments powered by Disqus