Teufel Concept B 200 USB Speakers - Teufel Concept B 200 USB

By Hugo Jobling

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Editors choice
Teufel Concept B 200 USB Speakers

Summary

Our Score:

10

Not wanting to sound hyperbolic, but playing the trailer for Terry Gilliam's forthcoming The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus I was able to notice details - such as the rushing of the wind in the background over the end credits - that simply weren't present using my PC's admittedly awful integrated soundcard. Giving a range of other video content an airing and the results were similarly impressive.

The only drawback is the slightly narrow soundstage the '2-channel' stereo speaker arrangement offers, but that's a fault of all such speaker systems. Some clever placement of the speakers will go some way to sorting that, if it really irks.

Turning to my music library I felt compelled to give just a few albums an airing. Muse's better two works, Showbiz and Origin of Symmetry obviously, were reproduced with stunning precision. The strained tones of Matt's guitar and voice ring out as clear as day, and even without a subwoofer there's no shortage of presence from Chris's penetrating bass lines or Dom's hectic drumming.

Calming things down a little and switching over to the beautifully melancholy Kingdom of Dust and Lost Souls by Doves I was equally pleased. The level of detail drawn out by the Concept Bs is simply wonderful. Almost without realising it I managed to also work my way through The Seldom Seen Kid by Elbow before finding myself relaxing to the sombre but magnificent tones of Fleet Foxes' self-titled album, so lost was I in the music.

Sure, turning a more critical ear to the output I'd have to concede that a few tracks could do with a bit more bass. But the sound produced by the Concept B's is so warm and inviting that when just sitting back and listening, any complaints just melt away. Frankly, Teufel will only be getting these speakers back by prising them out of my cold, dead fingers.

Verdict

By the standards of other subwoofer-less stereo PC speakers the Teufel Concept B 200 USB system is expensive, granted. But that's to be expected because not only does the 'break-out' CB 200 CS Control Station offer convenient controls, a USB hub and a range of ports, it's amplification finesse is in a completely different league. Film soundtracks are reproduced with aplomb and to listen to music through these speakers is to have your collection jump out and give you a warm, tender hug - it's simply lovely. Trust me when I say these are worth every single penny.

Overall Score

10

Scores In Detail

  • Value 9

Lamboy

October 22, 2009, 12:32 pm

Finally, a PC audio product that is both original, well designed and seemingly well built. Kudos to Teufel! As a bit of an audiofile on the side I am a tad wary of the treble and bass controls but thats my problem. I just might add these to my xmas list alongside the mountain bike, TV, new PC, PS3 slim......but I'll settle on the socks and a whisky:)

Michele

October 22, 2009, 2:36 pm

What about gaming performance? If you have an EAX card, how does it work with it?

Stu 2

October 22, 2009, 2:39 pm

I've been running the Acoustic Energy Aego m speakers (purchased based on your review) through a M-Audio Audiophile external soundcard for several years now and have been really happy with the setup; however I have been considering an upgrade. Would this system provide an increase in performance worthy of the £184 price tag?

morsch

October 22, 2009, 4:53 pm

So how do they compare to the Teufel Concept C 200 USB speakers? Those are available for 150 EUR in Germany, while I haven't found the B 200s anywhere (not that I'm in the market, just curious). They're 2.1, so the bass ought to be better, but I'm not sure about the rest.

Hugo

October 23, 2009, 9:24 pm

Michele - If you have an EAX soundcard already you'd be better served spending your money on 'just' speakers.





Stu - I've not listened to the M-Audio's, but I doubt you'd get that much improvement.





morsch - From what I hear (ho ho) the Concept C's aren't amazing for the price, but having not used them I'm loathe to say these are better.

Thomas C

October 27, 2009, 9:10 pm

Would be interesting to see how they comapre to the THX certified Altect Lansing MX5021 which available at the bargain price of £120...





Review: http://www.neoseeker.com/Artic...

Carlos 4

November 18, 2009, 10:36 pm

How do these perform with headphones?

Kelvin Ang

November 26, 2009, 5:44 am

@Thomas, I used to have the Altec Lansing MX5021. The sound from that isn't fantastic, though. IMHO, I think the THX-labelling might be a little too overrated. Sound quality wasn't exactly clean, a little too laid-back in terms of imaging and was a tad too placement-centric (thanks mainly to the horn-loaded speaker). It would be nice to have a thorough comparison on that, though.





@Carlos, I have a Sennheiser HD555 and I'm raring to give it a go. That is, if I had the Teufel B in the first place! LOL.





(*Hint* at editor?)

Kelvin Ang

November 30, 2009, 2:01 am

@Hugo (or moderator), how do you reckon these speakers would fare against a basic separates rig (an active monitor + USB DAC). Do you think the price difference would be justifiable then? (Say, for a random example, a Musical Fidelity V-DAC mated to a pair of Audio Engine A2 via RCA) Also, it would be great if you could highlight the depth and sample capabilities (e.g. 24-bit/192 kHz) of the CB 200 CS Control Station.

Ivan 2

January 19, 2010, 10:35 pm

@ Hugo: should I buy the Teufel concept b 200 usb or the Creative t40 series II??? I really don't know...


The creative is cheaper and has might have a slightly lower end (50Hz), but it hasn't an usb amplyfier like the teufel one :(


If you have some time, please give me some advice, it would be very highly appreciated :-)


Thanks in advance,





Ivan

zorrofox

January 20, 2010, 10:42 pm

On the strength of this review I bought this system. It arrived five days after ordering (not bad) but unfortunately one of the speaker feet was snapped clean off. I emailed Teufel and they were sympathetic and asked me to send them photos of the damage. I duly did so and received an email from them saying they'd send out a replacement as soon as they received the damaged goods. I asked them if they wanted just the damaged speaker or the whole system to which they replied that they'd need the full system. This was a disappointment as I could have used the amplifier to drive my headphones whilst I awaiteda replacement speaker. This all means I'd have to wait a further two weeks to get sounds up and running (always supposing the replacement arrived undamaged). This is unacceptable. A great shame because I believe this is a great sounding system. One more thing - nowhere in the supplied documentation is there any mention of an 8 week return window. 2 weeks is all that's mentioned.





I guess I'm going to have to buy the Nuforce Icon system instead - at least it's available from a UK supplier.

goldenfeeder

May 8, 2010, 3:30 pm

I bought this set two days ago by amazon.co.uk. Very good sound quality and looks good. But: 1) One of speakers is crooked! The speaker is badly fixed to the base. 2) After removing the headphone from the front socket SPEAKERS DON'T PLAY! It is necessary to exclude cable from the rear. 3) The seller does not respond to e-mails 4) Packaging was very primitive. I will give it back and ordering a new one. I'll write another comment later.

comments powered by Disqus