Home » Computing » Peripheral » Teufel Concept B 200 USB Speakers

Teufel Concept B 200 USB Speakers review



  • Editors choice
Teufel Concept B 200 USB Speakers


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

It's immediately apparent that Teufel is doing something different with the Concept B 200 USB speakers. They're priced like a decent set of 2.1-channel speakers, but lack a dedicated subwoofer which might make you wonder what that £184 is buying. But as the System 5 THX Select 2 speaker set showed, Teufel doesn't mess around when it comes to providing excellent audio equipment.

The clue to the Concept B 200 USB's party trick is in the name. Rather than connecting to the audio output of your PC, the Concept Bs come with a dedicated amplifier unit, the CB 200 CS Control Station, that connects via USB. The benefit is self-evident; bypassing your PC's integrated (read: rubbish), soundcard. There are two reasons you might want to do that. One, the digital-to-analogue decoding in Teufel's amp unit will almost certainly be better than what your PC can provide, and two, amplifying an audio signal that has already been amplified itself (as a 'normal' set of speakers would) will only ever degrade it - an issue which Teufel's set-up avoids.

You only have to pick up the reassuringly heavy amp unit to get an idea of the quality audio it should output. Power is also drawn direct from the mains via a kettle lead suggesting that some serious components are at work inside (that toroidal transformer looks very nice). And if that doesn't sell you, the black anodised aluminium casing and glossy black plastic front fascia look great even if they get noticeably warm in use.

Teufel has made the interesting choice of having the amp unit double as a USB hub. Two USB ports sit at the rear of the amp, alongside the 'B' type connector which goes to your PC. The rear also carries stereo phono inputs, a 3.5mm input jack, the left and right speaker connectors and a 'proper' power switch, for when standby just doesn't cut it.

At the front, you'll find standby and source select buttons, microphone and headphone jacks and a third USB port. Three knobs, controlling bass, treble and volume adorn the right and all have a lovely, smooth action to them making fine adjustment a breeze. Good luck pushing the volume up above a third of its full range without needing new eardrums, though.

Next page


October 22, 2009, 12:32 pm

Finally, a PC audio product that is both original, well designed and seemingly well built. Kudos to Teufel! As a bit of an audiofile on the side I am a tad wary of the treble and bass controls but thats my problem. I just might add these to my xmas list alongside the mountain bike, TV, new PC, PS3 slim......but I'll settle on the socks and a whisky:)


October 22, 2009, 2:36 pm

What about gaming performance? If you have an EAX card, how does it work with it?

Stu 2

October 22, 2009, 2:39 pm

I've been running the Acoustic Energy Aego m speakers (purchased based on your review) through a M-Audio Audiophile external soundcard for several years now and have been really happy with the setup; however I have been considering an upgrade. Would this system provide an increase in performance worthy of the £184 price tag?


October 22, 2009, 4:53 pm

So how do they compare to the Teufel Concept C 200 USB speakers? Those are available for 150 EUR in Germany, while I haven't found the B 200s anywhere (not that I'm in the market, just curious). They're 2.1, so the bass ought to be better, but I'm not sure about the rest.


October 23, 2009, 9:24 pm

Michele - If you have an EAX soundcard already you'd be better served spending your money on 'just' speakers.

Stu - I've not listened to the M-Audio's, but I doubt you'd get that much improvement.

morsch - From what I hear (ho ho) the Concept C's aren't amazing for the price, but having not used them I'm loathe to say these are better.

Thomas C

October 27, 2009, 9:10 pm

Would be interesting to see how they comapre to the THX certified Altect Lansing MX5021 which available at the bargain price of £120...

Review: http://www.neoseeker.com/Artic...

Carlos 4

November 18, 2009, 10:36 pm

How do these perform with headphones?

Kelvin Ang

November 26, 2009, 5:44 am

@Thomas, I used to have the Altec Lansing MX5021. The sound from that isn't fantastic, though. IMHO, I think the THX-labelling might be a little too overrated. Sound quality wasn't exactly clean, a little too laid-back in terms of imaging and was a tad too placement-centric (thanks mainly to the horn-loaded speaker). It would be nice to have a thorough comparison on that, though.

@Carlos, I have a Sennheiser HD555 and I'm raring to give it a go. That is, if I had the Teufel B in the first place! LOL.

(*Hint* at editor?)

Kelvin Ang

November 30, 2009, 2:01 am

@Hugo (or moderator), how do you reckon these speakers would fare against a basic separates rig (an active monitor + USB DAC). Do you think the price difference would be justifiable then? (Say, for a random example, a Musical Fidelity V-DAC mated to a pair of Audio Engine A2 via RCA) Also, it would be great if you could highlight the depth and sample capabilities (e.g. 24-bit/192 kHz) of the CB 200 CS Control Station.

Ivan 2

January 19, 2010, 10:35 pm

@ Hugo: should I buy the Teufel concept b 200 usb or the Creative t40 series II??? I really don't know...

The creative is cheaper and has might have a slightly lower end (50Hz), but it hasn't an usb amplyfier like the teufel one :(

If you have some time, please give me some advice, it would be very highly appreciated :-)

Thanks in advance,



January 20, 2010, 10:42 pm

On the strength of this review I bought this system. It arrived five days after ordering (not bad) but unfortunately one of the speaker feet was snapped clean off. I emailed Teufel and they were sympathetic and asked me to send them photos of the damage. I duly did so and received an email from them saying they'd send out a replacement as soon as they received the damaged goods. I asked them if they wanted just the damaged speaker or the whole system to which they replied that they'd need the full system. This was a disappointment as I could have used the amplifier to drive my headphones whilst I awaiteda replacement speaker. This all means I'd have to wait a further two weeks to get sounds up and running (always supposing the replacement arrived undamaged). This is unacceptable. A great shame because I believe this is a great sounding system. One more thing - nowhere in the supplied documentation is there any mention of an 8 week return window. 2 weeks is all that's mentioned.

I guess I'm going to have to buy the Nuforce Icon system instead - at least it's available from a UK supplier.


May 8, 2010, 3:30 pm

I bought this set two days ago by amazon.co.uk. Very good sound quality and looks good. But: 1) One of speakers is crooked! The speaker is badly fixed to the base. 2) After removing the headphone from the front socket SPEAKERS DON'T PLAY! It is necessary to exclude cable from the rear. 3) The seller does not respond to e-mails 4) Packaging was very primitive. I will give it back and ordering a new one. I'll write another comment later.

comments powered by Disqus