Home » Computing » Peripheral » Synology DiskStation DS410j » Synology DiskStation DS410j

Synology DiskStation DS410j - Synology DiskStation DS410j

By Hugo Jobling


  • Recommended by TR
Synology DiskStation DS410j


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Synology offers a couple of plug-ins on its site which could prove useful, too. One of these is the Mail Station add-on, which enables the DS410j to work as a mail server. Combined with the built-in DDNS server this makes it possible to host your personal email from the DS410j, which is pretty nifty.

Similarly, the built-in iTunes server can be supplemented by its SqueezeBox equivalent if the former isn't of much use to you. Better still, these are just the official apps; because the DS410j runs a Linux kernel, if you're feeling savvy enough you could build your own application to run on the device - an action encouraged by Synology.

In that all important area of transfer speeds the DS410j proves itself admirably. Using a 1GB-odd file ('source materials.gcf' from my Steam folder if you must know) I recorded a 28.7MB/s write speed and 48.3MB/s read speed. Obviously that doesn't make this the fastest NAS device in the world, but it's in line with its competitors, which is as much as can be expected realistically.

There are no complaints elsewhere. The media server functioned as expected, picking up new files and streaming them to my PlayStation 3 with no issues whatsoever and iTunes on my PC had no problems playing files from the DS410h's server. That this NAS device works just as well as (if not better than) my ReadyNAS NV at a third of the price just goes to show how far we've progressed in the last few years.


The Synology DiskStation DS410j isn't just feature packed, nor does it just offer great performance. Rather, it does both of these things at an affordable price point and that's certainly worthy of accolade.

Scores In Detail


Our Score

Previous page


January 19, 2010, 9:26 pm

What kind of noise level does this unit emit? Units such as this are fine if they are tucked away in a cupboard but if not the background levels can be dreadful!

I recently tried a NAS from a different manufacturer only to find that it sounded like a hairdryer.


January 19, 2010, 10:08 pm

I fount it inaudible over my desktop PC, but YMMV.


January 20, 2010, 1:50 am

"Where the DS410j really excels is its web interface. Put simply, this is the slickest looking yet also most functional I have seen on any NAS device."

Hugo is this better than QNAP web interface too? Transfer speeds seem fast given the CPU being used, fairly impressed!


January 20, 2010, 4:25 am

I'm just guessing, but from the looks of it, you can swap out the existing rear fans for quiet versions from Noctua for example. That's if they are a standard fan size.


January 20, 2010, 4:25 am

Usb 3.0?


January 20, 2010, 4:01 pm

Inaudible over a desktop PC doesn't really cut it, unless you never shut down/standby your PC. Does the device ever shut down the HDDs? Ideally, after a configurable idle timeout? I think that should be a mandatory information in a review, unless that feature is available in all NAS devices these days. With the HDDs shut down or in standby, the whole thing shouldn't draw more than a couple of watts and should be virtually silent.

sam 7

January 20, 2010, 4:58 pm

Perfect, been looking at getting one of these for a while. Great review


January 20, 2010, 5:09 pm

Ive had a DS410j for a few weeks now, i well recommend it. Great product that has proved incredibly useful.


January 21, 2010, 8:45 pm

For anyone other than very novice users, these things are still horrendously overpriced. You can get an Intel SS4200 for £135 - add freenas and you have a fully featured NAS for half the price of this. Add Windows Home Server for another £70 and you have a fully featured file server / remote access gateway / PC backup solution. Am I missing something?


February 4, 2010, 2:56 pm

@gagagaga: Yes, the fact that what you describe takes effort and a degree of know how. If you want it to, this will just work straight out the box. Admittedly setting up freenas is very easy but, for instance, when you come across the bittorrent client by default locking down write/delete access to downloaded files, getting things fixed can all of a sudden get rather complicated.

Jerry Dunhill

February 4, 2010, 2:57 pm

The Intel box is cheaper, but it runs on a 250W power supply. One of the huge benefits is the power saving from a unit like this which runs on a very low powered processor but delivers all the performance you need (or get a + model if you need more). Think of the energy saving ;)


March 15, 2010, 4:42 am

Can anyone tell me how the speeds are over 802.11g?

I'm looking at this after I purchased an Edimax NS-2502 and could only achieve transfer speeds of about 100k/s over wireless but want to make sure it works ok.

comments powered by Disqus