Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV / Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500

Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500 46in LCD TV - Sony Bravia KDL-46W4500

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

User Score:

As if all this wasn't depressing enough, it also seemed to me as if the 46W4500's pictures weren't as sharp as those of the 52W4500, thanks to the way motion seems more prone to smearing.

Perhaps because of this, the MotionFlow system doesn't seem quite as sure-footed as it was on the 52W4500 either, seemingly producing more glitches as it goes about its motion-smoothing business.

The motion and black level issues inevitably don't do Freeview standard definition services many favours. But the Bravia Engine 2 processing system does at least mean that bright, high quality standard definition sources are upscaled to the screen's Full HD resolution with less noise and more colour integrity than is common with many Full HD TVs.

Other good points about the 46W4500, as I strive to hit an upbeat note, include its extreme brightness; its impressively detailed HD reproduction so long as there's not much motion going on; the fact that its black levels are actually ironically very good in the bits of the picture not affected by the light spillage flaw; and some pretty potent audio.

But in the end it's the aggressive nature of the 46W4500's bizarre light spillage problems that not only sticks in the memory once you've turned the TV off, but also sticks in the craw whenever you're actually watching it.

Verdict

After the ‘warning shot' of the 52W4500, the smaller 46W4500 seems to suffer even more distractingly with the picture-ruining light pooling problem that troubled us on the large model. Seriously, the problem is so aggravating this time out that it's hard to believe these TVs are getting through Sony's quality control systems. In fact, if I hadn't now seen the problem on two separate W4500 TVs I might have suspected the 46W4500 was faulty.

Basically, someone at Sony needs to get to the bottom of what's gone wrong with the W4500 range fast, or the brand's already dwindling profits this year could be in for even more of a hammering.

ilovethemonkeyhead

October 28, 2008, 11:12 am

light might bleed seems to be a real problem with some of the w4500 series panels. however, i've seen the 40 inch version of the screen and i personally haven't seen any light bleed. do you think you could show a picture demonstrating how bad the bleed can get?

Eric67

October 28, 2008, 1:28 pm

Other professional reviewers such as what hifi and lesnumeriques consider this an excellent TV. Now who's right?


I think you had a faulty set, I cannot imagine this model is that bad.

Anders Åkesson

October 28, 2008, 1:29 pm

The problem you describe as picture-ruining light pooling problem what usually is referred to as clouding? And doesn't this phenomena go away after a couple of hundred hours of viewing?

basicasic

October 28, 2008, 4:03 pm

This is the sort of review I want to read. I'm hoping to buy a large screen TV soon and if its bad news I want to know about it. Too many review sites are scared witless to criticise an item they're testing for fear of upsetting manufacturers and getting crossed off the review sample list.





And even if it is a faulty set thats inexcusable too. If its a Sony supplied review sample then you would expect it to be one of the best samples they could find. If its randomly purchased for testing then their quality control is questionable. It could be any member of the public paying top money for a 'Sony' and getting poor quality for it.

darkcamel

October 28, 2008, 7:08 pm

Another Sony tv with apparent picture issues. Also that silver bit at the front is a design faux pas. They had the cloudy screen issue with the X2000. Personally I wouldnt touch a Sony with the QE2s barge pole, having seen Panasonic and Pioneer plasmas. Nice to see a balanced review rather than those magazine reviewers trying to keep their advertisers happy.

Luan Bach

October 29, 2008, 4:45 pm

People in other forums are reporting the same issue. I'm kind of glad I bought the W4000 now.

Lew

October 29, 2008, 6:47 pm

John,...HELLO, anyone looking to buy a sony tv would have noticed alot of confusing moves on sony's part regarding HDTVs in the 4 months, eg;





1. canellation of the 40x4500- with only the bra pro 2 as an anvantage over the z and w 4500.


2. which is the better pick x3500 or w4500 (40 inches)- sure the x3500 is better at sd, dvd, free view, screen uniformed, build, looks, softer hd image and at the most darkest of scences it's black is deeper or on par....but the w4500 is better at brightness, contrast, features, viewing angle (poor uniformed screen), sharper at HD (weak on sd/freeview), cheaper build, uptodate menu system.?????? which does one pick,???? hellthe cost the same now





3. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PRO ENGINE?...anyone. they seem not to care for it, they jumped to pro 2 and Bravia Engine 2, the z model should have got the pro engine so there would be reason enough to get it over the w4500. maybe it seem the usefulness of the pros is pointless when you consider free hd freeview?????????





4. the price of the 46x4500??? compared to the better, not as bright 50 pioneer 8 an 9th





...............well i have to say till two months ago i was set to buy a 40x3000, but now i am sooo so lost , i think will just buy a pioneer 50 and cover all the bases (future, value, image qaulity and build).





I would love to see you review the 40w4500, to round off everything, coz i respect your take and reviews?





kind regards,


Lewis

Lew

October 29, 2008, 6:59 pm

David ,...HELLO, anyone looking to buy a sony tv now, would have noticed alot of confusing moves on sony's part regarding HDTVs in the 4 months, eg;





1. canellation of the 40x4500- with only the bra pro 2 as an anvantage over the z and w 4500.





2. which is the better pick x3500 or w4500 (40 inches)- sure the x3500 is better at sd, dvd, free view, screen uniformed, build, looks, softer hd image and at the most darkest of pictures, it's black is deeper or on par....but the w4500 is better at brightness, contrast, features, viewing angle (poor uniformed screen), sharper at HD (weak on sd/freeview), cheaper build, uptodate menu system.?????? which does one pick,???? hellthe cost the same now





...REALLY HOW IMPORTANT IS THE BLACK OVER THE PRO ENGINE ?





3. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PRO ENGINE?...anyone?.... they seem not to care for it, COZ WELL they jumped to pro 2 and Bravia Engine 2, the z model should have got the pro engine so there would be reason enough to get it over the w4500. maybe it seem the usefulness of the pros is pointless when you consider free hd freeview????????? IF AND WHEN IT HAPPENS AND WORKS????





4. the price of the 46x4500??? compared to the better, not as bright 50 pioneer 8 an 9th





...............well i have to say till two months ago i was set to buy a 40x3000, but now i am sooo so lost , i think will just buy a pioneer 50 and cover all the bases (future, value, image qaulity and build).





I would love to see you review the 40w4500, to round off everything, coz i respect your take and reviews?





kind regards,


jack

jose 1

November 27, 2008, 6:31 am

See the pictures of the cloudind on my tv http://whathifi.com/forums/1/1...


is really very annoying....

adamuchan

December 16, 2008, 3:25 pm

This is a very interesting article indeed, our house was burgled 2 weeks ago, they stole our plasma from our room but left the Sony Bravia 46 in V series tv in the lounge. With my insurance claim I bought a 46 in W series with 100 hz motion flow today. I then replaced the sony in the lounge (Which is only 3 months old) with this new W series.... I thought that the w series had to have had a flaw with it!! I thought u have to be kidding, the V series (Cheaper version) runs rings around it in every respect, We have Sky HD and a sony PS3 runnning at 1080P. I am staggered at the lack of crispness of the picture compared to using the V series LCD in the same way. I may take this TV back, it is horribly disappointing. The cheaper V without fancy motion flow rains all over it for HD moving images, the 46 in W series makes HD look like a good SD with its blurry patches. What have you done sony???

comments powered by Disqus