Quick Glance
Size 46
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Size 46
Display Type LCD w/ LED

Michael McG

June 22, 2010, 12:51 pm

hi john, which of this or the pansonic v20 plasma would you buy?


June 22, 2010, 6:07 pm

Did you notice any issues with "cones" when reviewing this set? Many people on forums are complaining of vignetting issues with Sony's edge lit LED sets. I've seen the problem for myself on the EX703 in a local shop.

I hate to keep asking this, but is there any news on introducing input lag tests into reviews? This is the first review I've seen of this particular TV, which is on my list of potential buys, but I'd love to know if it's any good for games.


June 22, 2010, 7:36 pm

The forums are full of people complaining about the 46nx703 and the 46nx803 suffering from the three cone issues. For a TV that's so expensive its really unacceptable


June 22, 2010, 8:04 pm

@ Metalex @ dantesimone

In the hope that TR allow this post, could you please point me at these forums? I'm researching the purchase of a new TV so all information is of help. Especially as my partner is keen on the new Sonys (me not quite so).

Geoff Richards

June 22, 2010, 8:19 pm

@Ripsnorter - I believe they're referencing our friends over at AVForums. I'm sure you'll be able to find the threads without any problems.


June 22, 2010, 9:09 pm

@ Geoff - thanks.


June 22, 2010, 11:29 pm

They had several of these and the HX model at different locations in John Lewis when I last went. I was thinking of getting one but it was showing football and the picture quality looked truly awful to me.

They were also showing the G20 plasma and in the end to my eyes I couldn't justify the price difference of these sets to the p50x20 that I eventually bought for £650 inc 5 year warranty. SD and HD look great, no image retention, realistic colours and blacks are very good. This is true given any feed my Freesat box throws at it - even ITV4+1 football!

Motto is always go along and use your eyes in store as picture quality is a very subjective thing.


June 23, 2010, 12:16 am

You mention in the last page USB with multimedia playback - what exactly can this play - mkv, avi etv?


June 23, 2010, 2:12 am

@Ripsnorter-Here is a quick link


comments powered by Disqus